[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Roseville Nissan Complaint - Do Not Purchase From The Roseville Auto Mall

Review by dutchess on 2007-10-06
ROSEVILLE, CALIFORNIA -- My Mother purchased a used truck from the Roseville Nissan Auto dealership and discovered after she drove off the lot that she was overcharged about $7,000.00. She wanted them to deduct the extra or take the truck back.

She went back one hour later and they informed her that they do not honor a return policy (for any reason).

It is reprehensible to think that the dealers that make the most money from customers are not honorable.

They stated that none of the dealers in the Roseville Automall honor a return policy.

I purchased a car last year from Hertz and they have a 5 day return policy. ALL REPUTABLE CAR SALE PLACES DO!!

The only way to get them to honor the policy is to stop purchasing from them. When it hits them in the wallet, they WILL honor the policy.

DO NOT PURCHASE A CAR FROM ANY COMPANY THAT DOES NOT HONOR AT LEAST THE 72 HOUR RETURN POLICY.

WHY REWARD THEM FOR BAD BEHAVIOR!!
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-10-09
Posted by MRM on 2007-10-07:
Car dealerships are known for their sneaky and deception businesses. The mother should have researched the used truck by going online at www.kbb.com and see how much the truck is worth. Hard lesson learned indeed.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
Your mother needs to look at the sales contract. Under California law they must offer a Contract Cancellation Option Agreement. See the info at http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/brochures/fast_facts/ffvr35.htm
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
This fits here!

"A primary object.should be the education of our youth in the science of government. In a republic, what species of knowledge can be equally important? And what duty more pressing.than.communicating it to those who are to be the future guardians of the liberties of the country?"
-George Washington
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
dutchess, unfortunately most car dealerships are not known for their honesty and unless a person does their homework ahead of time it is very easy to be taken advantage of. She may not be able to get a refund or be able to return the truck, but she should do everything in her power to report this dealership for dishonest sales practices, including contacting the BBB. Here's a website with some good information on fraudulent practices and what to do: http://www.fraudguides.com/
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
I don't know why my comment posted twice - that was not intentional.
Posted by runaway on 2007-10-07:
When your mother bought the truck, they told her the price they wanted for the vehicle, and your mother AGREED to that price. While dealers many times do dishonest and occasionally illegal things, I don't see either occuring here. Your mother made the decision to make a major purchase without doing any research- that's her fault, not the dealerships.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
runaway, it is completely dishonest to jack the price up $7000 and to take advantage of a customer like that. Not everyone knows what research should be done prior to purchasing a vehicle so it's easy to judge.
Posted by runaway on 2007-10-07:
justcuz; The consumer has a responsibility to check out their purchases and agree to the price. If this was a case of showing an older person a fake bluebook stating the vehicle is worth XX, then I'd fully agree about dishonesty. But if someone asks the price of something, you tell them, and they buy it at that price, that's different. Most dealers leave "haggle room" (no matter how old the buyer, they should have known that), and ALL buyers have the ability to walk away if they don't like the final deal. The final result is that the person got a vehicle for what they agreed was a reasonable price at the time. If they don't feel confident in figuring out value/condition, they should ask for help before they sign on the dotted line.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
runaway, we'll have to agree to disagree on this one. The dealership plainly took advantage of someone and while you and I may have done research beforehand, not everyone has that knowledge and rely on the honesty of others.
Posted by runaway on 2007-10-07:
justcuz, I must be reading this wrong, I don't see where the OP states they jacked the price up. If they raised the price because this was (I'm presuming)a little old lady, then I do fully agree with you. However, I took it as they had listed the vehicle for that amount, in which case I stand by my previous opinion.
I'd also like to know how she found out in less than one hour that the vehicle was worth $7000 less; lowest bluebook value? Neighbor? Co-worker? Used car ads? That would make it much clearer, since vehicle values vary so much.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-07:
Justcuz, I'm with you on that one, I don't think runaway would be so emotionally removed and unthinking if it were HIS grandmother that got taken here. Little old ladies don't have the technical saavy to behave in the same manner you would runaway. If that were my grandmother, that salesman would be provided with a 3 month stay in the hospital (at no charge).
Posted by runaway on 2007-10-07:
Actually, DigitalCommando, 1)runaway is a HER (emphasis yours), 2)Runaway would go WITH her mom to purchase a vehicle,and 3)Runaway is actually what most of the posters would consider a "little old lady" (I, of course, disagree).
Age does not make one senseless and easy to take advantage of; it makes one an adult, and part of that is making responsible purchases, or asking for help if the situation is one you don't feel comfortable with. Crooked, shady car dealers didn't suddenly appear with your generation, nor did the idea of pricing vehicles high to leave haggle room.
It doesn't take technical savvy to understand that you shouldn't buy something unless you fully agree with the price being asked.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-10-07:
I see a number of sides to this issue and understand all. Of course this lady should have checked out everything before she made a major purchase. You know folks, some parents and grandparents don't have the luxury of a family member living nearby, or a friend who assists with a purchase. Many in the older generation were brought up quite trusting, they in turn taught their own children to be trusting. You know, the old fashioned hand shake and I'm going to get a fair deal here.

Times have changed and although there have always been unscrupulous individuals out there, it seems it's gotten worse the past number of years. If you are fortunate enough to have living parents and they are not nearby, please explain to them the rules have changed. They might not appreciate advice from a child but there might be someone else they would listen to in order to avoid this sort of thing.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
Thanks for the info.I live in the area,and will purchase somewhere else,like the Folsom automall.

Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-07:
Sorry about the gender mixup! You can call me DC, a lot less typing. If this grandmother had your wisdom, it would not have been an issue, she doesn't, and it is. The issue here is that a salesman "ripped off" an old lady by charging 7,000 dollars more than the car is worth. That IS the whole issue here. Yes, if we lived in your "perfect world" where senior citizens become hardened and untrusting and experts at everything, then it was her fault. How silly of me to defend a poor old lady.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-07:
Thanks, DC.

runaway, I think you have a bit of a skewed opinion of the matter, but that's just my opinion and not meant to sound harsh. NH is right, not everyone has someone to go with them or has the foresight to do their research first b/c they are too trusting. Getting screwed over like this will undoubtedly change the way the OP's mother does business in the future, which is good. I hate to see anyone taken advantage of.
Posted by runaway on 2007-10-07:
I am only expressing my opinion here, too, and enjoy seeing the issue from different points of view. I have one question, though. If this was a 30-something young man (after all, this mother could be only (gasp!) 40 or so), would everyone be chastising him or comiserating(sp?) with him? There are plenty of other letters on this site where the commenters take a person to task in similar situations for "not knowing better" (and yes, I do too, at times).
Now before everything decides I'm some hard@zz, I fully agree that if they purposely jack up the price because it was an elderly person they thought they could pull one over on , or they misrepresented the vehicle (as in showing fake statemetns as to its value) they should be strung up. But if it was the same price they were asking of anyone, I say the buyer is responsible for their actions.
Posted by Aerocave on 2007-10-09:
Normally I will comment on these type of situations...but I am staying out of this one. I have expressed my "Buying a car is not like buying something at WalMart" opinions in previous postings.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.