15
Helpful
Votes

Bad Cops Informative - Using *77 On Your Cellphone To Verify Unmarked Police Cars

Review by 23169 on 2007-10-22
It appears that parts of this are true, according to
http://www.snopes.com/horrors/mayhem/fakecop.asp

The truth of the story about Lauren is undetermined, but it is true that
unsafe people attempt to pass themselves off as police officers. Using *77
on your cell phone will work in some states, but not all. Using 911 is your
best option.

I was not able to find out if there is a quick dial of Illinois State
Police, but I did find an email address for sending an inquiry:
askisp at isp.state.il.us.

Watch out for bad cops, call the good ones!


On 8/18/07, Jan Petee wrote:
>
> A friend sent this to me and I thought it should be passed on. Do any of
> you know the validity of the *77? If you know anyone who is a police
> officer, state trooper, etc, would you please ask them and let me know. If
> this is valid, it is important to pass it on.
>
>
> From State police-please read-use *77
>
>
>
>
>
> YOU MUST KNOW *77
>
> I knew about the red light on cars, but not the *77. It was about 1:00
>
> p.m. in the afternoon, and Lauren was driving to visit a friend. An
>
> UNMARKED police car pulled up behind her and put his lights on. Lauren's
>
> parents have always told her never to pull over for an unmarked car on
>
> the side of the road, but rather to wait until they get to a gas
>
> station, etc.
>
> Lauren had actually listened to her parents advice, and promptly
>
> called *77 on her cell phone to tell the police dispatcher that she
>
> would not pull over right away. She proceeded to tell the dispatcher
>
> that there was an unmarked police car with a flashing red light on his
>
> rooftop behind her. The dispatcher checked to see if there were police
>
> cars where she was and there weren't, and he told her to keep driving,
>
> remain calm and that he had back up already on the way.
>
> Ten minutes later 4 cop cars surrounded her and the unmarked car
>
> behind her. One policeman went to her side and the others surrounded the
>
> car behind. They pulled the guy from the car and tackled him to the
>
> ground. The man was a convicted rapist and wanted for other crimes.
>
> I never knew about the *77 Cell Phone Feature, but especially for a
>
> woman alone in a car, you should not pull over for an unmarked car.
>
> Apparently police have to respect your right to keep going to a safe &
>
> quiet place. You obviously need to make some signals that you
>
> acknowledge them (i.e. put on your hazard lights) or call *77 like
>
> Lauren did.
>
> Too bad the cell phone companies don't generally give you this little
>
> bit of wonderful information.
>
> *Speaking to a service representative at **Bell** Mobility confirmed
>
> that *77 was a direct link to state trooper info. So, now it's your turn
>
> to let your friends know about *77.
>
> Send this to every woman (and person) you know; it may save a life.
>
> This applies to ALL 50 states.
Comments:43 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-09-16
Posted by MRM on 2007-10-22:
I have heard this story that was posted on this site before. Thanks for posting this again to remind people on how to react to fake cops.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-10-22:
Thanks Lid for passing this on, especially to remind parents of the importance of alerting their teenagers the procedures they should take should this ever happen to them. I've never been too keen on teenagers having cell phones 24/7 but this is a prime example of when one comes in handy. Does anyone have any idea how long 911 has been in existence? I'm just curious about that.
Posted by Sparticus on 2007-10-22:
Interesting info... Thanks Lidman!
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-22:
I thought this story was going to end with the police breaking her stones for not pulling over. I guess not. I've never heard of *77 either and perhaps it should be made more known. VH
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
I like those bumper stickers "bad cop,no donut"
Posted by Principissa on 2007-10-22:
Nohandle, 911 was established 35 years ago in 1968 when AT&T designated it as the universal emergency number. It went on to say that the number was computer generated and that the first place to test it was Hayleyville Alabama. After that it went national as the universal emergency number.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
Thank's everybody,I didn't know about this *77 number and I though it was going to end like Slim said too. But is is good to know and Nohandle I to was not keen on teenagers having one either but it just goes to show a person can always be wrong, right?
Posted by CrystalSword on 2007-10-22:
I had something like that happen, car pulled up next to me when I was a few cars back at a light and an unmarked car with a blue kojak light tried pulling me over, this was in 1993 in San Diego....he wasn't wearing a uniform, or even a suit, he signaled that I should pull over and I nodded okay, when I got to the corner I didn't signal, I turned and punched it and disappeared into a parking lot. Soon as I didn't see him anymore, I went straight home and told my husband and he called the police, turns out they were looking for this guy. Don't know if he was ever caught, but I stayed out of that area unless hubby was with me so we could spot the car and get a plate number. Never did see him again...thank goodness. Unfortunately at that time I did not have a cell phone.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
"Lauren's parents have always told her never to pull over for an unmarked car on the side of the road, but rather to wait until they get to a gas station, etc. " Or, another very public place.

I've known this since I was a teenager, many moons ago. It's unfortunate that unscrupulous criminals will go this far.

Agreed that 911 is the best bet.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-10-22:
Crystal...good for you...alot of people would pull over without a second thought. Good Post Liddy...As I said before, I feel that uniforms should not be sold in places like Goodwills or thrift stores...I've seen US Postal uniforms and it bothered me that someone could easily buy them for a few bucks, knock on someone's door and they would open it thinking there was a package or something for them. Also, I've seen uniforms and smocks for Home Depot, Wendy's, BestBuy...anyone can put on one and maybe get into a place after hours while a clean up crew is inside or something.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-10-22:
Thanks Principissa, I didn't realize it went that far back. I know it took a lot of years to catch on everywhere or for the area to be prepared. I remember in this area when certain streets were renamed simply because the name sounded the same but was spelled differently. At the time some people complained because of the fact they had to change their street address on their personalized checks, subscriptions etc. People have also complained there is a fee on their landline telephone bill to help compensate for these services and don't on cell telephones. That's probably an argument for another day, but if you've ever had to call 911 you'll appreciate the fact they are there.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-10-22:
Nohandle, you are welcome. Oddly enough I had to call 911 last night because my neighbor got drunk and decided that trying to shoot invisible rats at 2 in the morning was a good idea. I don't care that I have to pay for that service, what I care about is only having to dial 3 numbers instead of seven.
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
Principissa... you oughtta live in Saginaw.the drunks in this town shoot at each other and keep the rats as pets...
Posted by Principissa on 2007-10-22:
Old Fart, I'm from New Jersey, I moved outta there to get away from stuff like that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
Hey Principissa, I was bron in NJ and I don't want to go back either.
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
Principissa... I worked and lived in Jersey for eight years and loved every minute of it.. Toms River was where I lived and I worked out of Red Bank. My son lives in Bordentown.
If I could shoot my way out of Saginaw, I'd move back in a heartbeat...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
I lived in Fair Lawn
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
I didn't get there because that wasn't my sales territory but I desperately miss the opportunity to jump on the Jersey coast line and head into NYC for entertainment..
Posted by MRM on 2007-10-22:
Old Fart, get outta town... I was born in Toms River, NJ on 1978, then moved to VA.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
Is this a consumer complaint ?
<;O)
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
You were 4 when I got there.. I lived on 7th. avenue..
Posted by MRM on 2007-10-22:
I dont remember anything else other than the fact that I was born in Toms River. We moved to Norfolk,VA when my dad was stationed there and I have lived there ever since.
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
Where was he stationed, JAX NAS..? Oh shoot! I got my naval air stations confused.. that is when I lived in St. augustine FL. Maybe I was thinking of naval weapons station Earle..
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
Toms River was the center of the known universe.. 50 miles from New York, 50 miles from Philly and 50 miles from Atlantic city...
Posted by MRM on 2007-10-22:
Dad was stationed in Norfolk naval base, and retired in 1995.
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-22:
They say you never miss what you never had.. I'm sure Virginia was a lovely place..
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-10-22:
Good review Lidman! Was it Pirate in the unmarked car?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
well shawnp80, ppman is a pervert!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
I voted you not helpful
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-22:
Lid is an old tool.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-10-22:
Old Fart, I'm alumni from High School South. My hubby is from Tinton Falls. My oldest son was born in Community Medical Center, and that's where I got my first job. And of course my grandparents lived in Holiday City. I would love to go back, sadly I can't afford it.
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2007-10-23:
Interesting. What about those of us without a cell phone?? I still voted VH.
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-10-23:
I voted you helpful Lid. You are cool not a tool!
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-23:
Lid, does this mean I have to go out and buy a uniform from a thrift store now?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-23:
Here in Massachusetts there are signs all along every highway saying to dial *SP (77) for State Police help. It's not a secret here, I am surprised it is elsewhere.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-23:
Very good post! (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-23:
DC, you should buy one before they stop selling them.
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2007-10-23:
I have been all around here, Nashville, Bowling Green, Paducah (sp?), and other places in TN and KY and there is not one sign mentioning the *77 thing. I never even knew it existed. I'm glad I found out.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-23:
You're are welcome Crazy. Glad I could pass this on.
Posted by Starlord on 2007-10-23:
I don't klnow if this *77 is legit, but I do know that in Arizona, at least, and in california, if the police want a car stopped, they will not use a detective with a kojak light. If a detective wants a car stopped, he has a marked unit make the stop for him. When we came through Texas, there are signs that Texas uses unmarked cars to patrol the highways. This is wrong!.. Texas should have the law like we do in Arizona. Fleeing a marked police car is a felony. We lost charging a guy with Felony Flight because the new Traffic Unit car did not have the stars on the doors yet, so it wasn't marked. When a car comes up behiind you at night with wig-wag headlights, red and blue light bar and a siren, You can be sure it is not a garbage truck. When a car is behind you, can you see the doors? No. The deputy driving the car was in complete uniform. I set up ahead of the guy and he tried ducking down a farm road just before he got to me and hit an irrigation culvert and ripped his transmissison out. His attempt to sue the department failed, so we called it even.
Posted by BILLONEE on 2007-10-24:
Go to:
http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/hoaxes/hoaxDetails.asp?HName=Dial+%2377+Hoax
Posted by mrs1140 on 2007-10-31:
*77 isn't useful in all states. Please read urban legends take on this story:
http://www.snopes.com/horrors/mayhem/fakecop.asp
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-09-16:
Good review!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.