11
Helpful
Votes

Furr's Fresh Buffet Complaint - Where's the garbage pail

Review by 14600 on 2007-10-25
MOORE, OKLAHOMA -- Took my boy to supper last night. He conned me into taking him to the new Furr’s Fresh Buffet in Moore Oklahoma. I’m no fan of buffets or Moore Oklahoma. Moore is a sleepy little bedroom town – the result of affordable housing white flight meets backwoods Oklahoma redneck. Toby Keith is the most famous Moron if that tells ya anything.

The service at Furr’s Fresh Buffet was superior. The people manning the place were very nice and courteous with big smiles. I like nice people so that was indeed nice. Its set up kind of like a movie theater in that you pay first in order to enter. A little sticker shock – 18 bucks for an adult & child’s buffet plus two drinks. That seemed a little high but the boy’s worth it. So far so good and that’s because at this juncture we hadn’t eaten anything yet. I’ve never understood the fascination with buffets – All you can eat of bad food. I don’t like bad food and the food at this Furr’s was extremely bad. The first thing I tried to eat was something they called “Chicken Fried Chicken”.

I take that as meaning chicken fried the way you would fry chicken. Hmmm.. Okay that’s perfectly redundant. I’m sure it was “chicken fried” but not so sure I’d call it chicken. Then I proceeded to take a few bights of the following; chicken fried steak, fried catfish, hamburger steak, fried potatoes, green beans, turnip greens, meat loaf, succotash and other food like items that weren’t easily identifiable. It was all garbage that tasted like garbage that for the most part ended up in the garbage (I hope). The only thing that I sampled that was any good was the Texas toast which was very delicious. My son on the other hand thought it was the best place he’s ever eaten.

I recommend the membership avoid Furr’s Fresh Buffet if at all possible.
Comments:37 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-05-08
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
We have a place called "Fresh Choice" its a buffet with different salads,pasta,breads,and such.Very good food.

(VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
The only buffet we have around here is Golden Trough (ooops, I meant Golden Corral). The staff is extremely friendly, but, the food is ....let's just say Trough is a good description.

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
I like casino buffets. Prime rib.mmmmmmm
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Stew--I agree that buffets usually are no good--and this one sounds like no exception. Don't think they have any where I live. I'm with you. I like to eat good food when I go out or what's the point?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
My ten year old son God bless his heart loves buffets. He doesn't even eat that much but me thinks he likes the control (just like his mother). He drags me to CiCi's pizza all the time which I don't mind because it's only 10 bucks for the two of us and although I wouldn't call it pizza ( I'd call it Italian flavored flatbread) it's not too bad.
Posted by spiderman2 on 2007-10-25:
You know you are allowed to say NO to your child. I would to that before being subjected to the horror that was the buffet.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
I only ate at one buffet that I liked and that was so long ago all I can remember is the fried checken, it was good. But now I stay away from them just because of reviews like this one. Thank's for the heads up Stewart.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
spiderman2, where have you been? It's against the law to say no to kids now a day! Are you trying to get Stew busted?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Steve, I think the Fresh Choice your are thinking about burned down. I ate at Fresh Choice in SJ and it was BAD!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-10-25:
I've been to a buffet twice. Once was a Chinese buffet in Waretown, NJ and when I saw some guy grab an eggroll with his fingers and then lick them and grab another eggroll we left. The second time we went to Golden Corral in Virginia Beach, VA and we saw some little kid picking his nose and then touching the fried chicken, we left. Buffets are just gross.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Lidman,we have across the street from my place of work.In Citrus Heights.It is great!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Stew, we used to have a CiCi's Pizza then they all seemed to disappear over the last few years. We really liked the place and were sad to see them leave. (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
(VH) Haven't been to Furr's in years Stewart, it wasn't that good to me as a kid. My Mom used to love the chicken but that is all that she will eat when dining out anyway.
You were pretty brave eating the Meat Loaf and the Greens. Succotash? Haven't heard of that in years!!! It is a squash dish right?
Nice review and hopefully you didn't "bight" into any raw chicken or drip any gravy onto your Toby Keith t-shirt!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Zzrokk, I love succotash. Beans and corn. Yum.

Posted by spiderman2 on 2007-10-25:
Lidman --They need to put me away then! No build character right?!?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
spiderman2 - My son is a formidable opponent who doesn't much care for it when I tell him no.

SPARE THE ROD!!!! AND *big smiles* spoil the child!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
EMT, that is what it is made of? Beans and corn?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
The buffet at Caesars in las vegas was the bomb as I recall.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Zzrokk, YAH...lima beans & corn.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
When in Tahoe,we go to the buffet on the top floor of Harrahs.Its very good,and the view is amazing
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Pirate: What did you have? Wings? The fish?
EMT, do you have a quick recipe for that?
Posted by jenjenn on 2007-10-25:
Something seems sketchy about a restaurant called "FURR'S." :)
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-10-25:
white beans & cornbread, little hot sauce!! can't beat it on a cold day!
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-10-25:
Do they have Furr burgers?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Zork, the time I was there, ages ago, we actually arrived for a late breakfast, and actually stayed for the lunch changeover.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Pirate: And?
JKT, I gotta agree. We had some last weekend. "Jiffy" cornbread mix is the best!
Posted by sarahnkrystal on 2007-10-25:
You can't say no to your kids, Youth and Family services take them away for that now.
We have a Hometown Buffet near us, it's ok.
I've always wanted to go to CiCi's, but there aren't any near me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
i see the commercials for this Cici's,but have never seen them in my area..I guess i can "google" them
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Are they any good? We have some out here.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-10-25:
Good review Stew. You know, when you're taking a kid out and the evening is all his, most would select where the child wanted to go. Your son was pleased with the choice so that's all that matters and that's what he will remember.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
Like to see this one get about 60 helpful votes too!
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-25:
Furrs has always been bad the three times I went there. It seems more like a prison chow line. And if your real hungry, your going to need to take out a second mortgage to pay for it. Vegas has the buffet market totally beaten, even Reno can't compete with Vegas.
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-25:
Buffets...Yuck. Dried out fried chicken, Watery fish, meatloaf from hell and last week's vegetables add up to ptomaine poisoning ala carte..Oh, and let's not forget the sliced roast beef from a 30 year steer that died of alzheimer's. I have inspected all of the types of buffet you folks describe and after you've looked under the equipment and seem the roach nests, fruit flies and maggots feeding on the long dead remains of what they serve at the buffet line you would all choose anorexia over the alternative..
Yummy!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-25:
LOL my 10 y/o son is a CiCi and buffet fan too..funny thing is though no matter what buffet he wants to go to he tends to eat the same things. He is such a picky eater when we go out though it is fun to see him enjoy eating out so we do it too every so often. Bet your son had a great time.
Posted by moneybags on 2007-10-25:
Hey Stew, I used to live in OKC and loved to take my girls to Moore for the concerts at U of O. Those were the good old days. Hate buffets
Posted by bobmc on 2009-05-08:
Moved From Other Review: I don't think this STEW could be pleased with anything, sounds like a habitual complainer trying to impress his son.. bad influence on a young boy.. and to call Toby Keith a Moron? why not go to his house and call him that? he would of shown you what a real redneck is made of.. I have eaten there for the last two years at least once every week or so.. 3 to 5 times a month.. and have never run into any bad food.. hot spicy food, yes but that was taken by me, by mistake, service was excellent. How long do they leave phony posts like this up here?? forever? Time this should be taken down, its run its course and I am sure have cost them several thousand dollars unfairly.. Bob
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-08:
bobmc, You got that right. Ole Stew just wasn't right in the head.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.