[X]
Feedburner count

7
Helpful
Votes

Little India Restaurant Informative - Not Impressed... - Service and The Taste

Review by 15910 on 2007-11-02
DENVER, COLORADO -- Let me preface this INFORMATIVE by not insinuating that this place doesn't serve good authentic "Indian Food." Maybe it is an acquired taste or it just doesn't appeal to my palate. I stopped by there for lunch this week and was seated quickly, served my ice water then left alone for what seemed to be my whole lunch hour! No menu and at the time the place wasn't that crowded. Finally the waitress asks me if I want the "lunch buffet?" Sure, that would be quicker and I can try a variety of some good Indian cuisine. They have gotten good reviews out here.

I make it over to the buffet and try the Tandori Chicken and some other dishes that presentation wise left a lot to be desired. Maybe they should translate into English what you are serving yourself at the buffet? The deep fried vegetable concoction was pretty good, kind of a Tempura batter but eveything else was curry based and not to my liking spice wise. Yes, I realize that this was a buffet but can my Tandori Chicken have white meat as well instead of just drumsticks and dried out thighs?

The salad bar basically had "fresh greens" no tomatoes, just cucumber slices and a runny yogurt based dressing which for some of us is enough to bring on flashbacks from prior dining mishaps if you chose to bypass the RANCH DRESSING! Never was I offered a refill on my water and my first plate sat there for a while after reloading to get my nine dollars worth of this stuff.

As stated earlier, this isn't a knock on Indian cuisine but rather my humble opinion on what I had.

There won't be a return visit to this place...
Comments:23 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-11-05
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Im so picky i would never even try a place like this.

(VH)not Van Halen
Posted by Skye on 2007-11-02:
Z, you should start a food critic column in the Rocky Mountain news.

Good review, thanks for the heads up.
Posted by Skye on 2007-11-02:
I like Van Halen Steve. Saw them in 94, at Jones Beach Theatre, but it was with Sammy Van Hager.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Wow, sounds not so inviting. For 9 whole dollars a guy should expect a bit more.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Ya know what they say about Indian cuisine - half hour after eating you feel like calling a help center.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
That would be Van Hagar Skye.

Skye,did you dress up for Halloween?
Posted by Skye on 2007-11-02:
Yes, I was a pregnant Hooters server. Just kidding, no dressing up this year.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
I was a Minotaur.Pic on blog.
Posted by Skye on 2007-11-02:
Cool costume. But , I really think the surfboard photo rocks!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
i have another pic with that surfboard,maybe ill post it when i get home.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Good info and post there Zz! (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
I protested the minotaur costume,but my wife won(as usual)LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Thanks for the comments present and future and ditto on the votes.
Pirate, you should talk, that runny yogurt dressing would have ruined your day for sure.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Dunno about that, I'm a rather experienced diner and haven't the need for a bib since I was a tot. I also tend to shy away from buffets, particularly the inexpensive ones you like to frequent.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Oh really? I'm not the one that drags his family to HOOTERS for the "wings" am I? As far as the menu there, I wasn't excited about that either.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Uh, I haven't been to a hooters for years, certainly not with my family. I'm afraid your inkling of my dining tastes are blatanly off base. Enjoy your "chow." :o
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Good review zz. (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Yeah Zz, you know PW is not aloud back in Hooters after the last drunken show he put on there.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-11-02:
Many people decide on a lunch buffet because there's a time element involved. They want to go in, serve their plate and still have time to enjoy the meal before heading back to the office. I don't think I've ever tried Indian food, and I'm certain there are some nice places, but I won't try this one if I'm in your area. Thanks ZZ, very helpful.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Zz, you wrote a good post, don't let sour grapes ruin your day.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
or bad food.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-11-02:
Good Review....However, since when were Tomatoes considerd a "green"? AND you'd be surprised what a little body lotion can do for dry thighs!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Darn good review, Zzrokk! I don't much care for Indian cuisine myself unless it's an Indian Taco but that's sitting bull and not Gandhi. It's so confusing...Gee thanks Columbus. Anyway of course I voted your contribution 'Very Helpful'.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.