[X]

Winco Foods - Portland, OR. Complaint - Poor customer service

Review by ShivaG on 2007-11-05
PORTLAND, OREGON -- What is the deal with Winco Foods. We shop there every other week. Would it really kill the cashier to greet us and say HI. We were there yesterday and [name removed] couldn't even say hi. I have worked retail and if I ever would have ignored customers like that I would have been fired. I just get so angry that a cashier cant even greet paying customers. I hope someone from Winco sees this. I'm going to make a complaint to a manager next time I'm in there.

This is the worst customer service I have seen in a very long time.
Comments:58 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-02-19
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
You really think this is a big deal?I wouldn't let it ruin my day.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Did you ever stop to think the cashier might have been having a bad day? Maybe he/she just lost a loved one or they just got there house burned down, who knows but I think you are being a little over reactive, don't you?
Posted by Sparticus on 2007-11-05:
Agreed. Don't let someone else dictate your day like this. Some folks are just not happy for whatever reason and they won't greet each person with a hello...
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-05:
I know this may be a shock, but employees are human beings just like you and I. As Lid said it may be possible that this person is experiencing some type of situation in their personal life that is affecting their attitude. Or it could be possible that this particular person is very shy or was ill. I know I'm never happy when I feel like crap.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Next time... look the cashier straight in the eye and say "I love you". I find that always gets a response.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Agreed and if it a weightiest look her in eyes and say, "you are a good cook!" that works too.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
I love you Lidman.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
You are a good cook, Stew!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
ShivaG, can this Winco treat people like this because they have no real competition in the area?
Posted by ShivaG on 2007-11-05:
This isnt the first time. I dont care if shes having a bad day, or feeling like crap, i still greeted my customers when i was having the worst day of my life, part of the job to be courteous to customers. Maybe she shouldnt be a cashier? And Steve, it didnt ruin my day, i was just making a legimate complaint, im not out to argue with anyone.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Well said ShivaG.
Have a good day!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-05:
You know ShivaG if you greeted the cashier with the same attitude you greeted us with, I wouldn't say hello to your overly entitled self either! Now you have a nice day!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
ShivaG, that's not nice!
Posted by Starlord on 2007-11-05:
War in Iraq, people hanging nooses all over, people recovering from tornadoes and wildfires, college students being murdered in their dorm rooms, and you think this is a legitimate complaint? My, my, you surely have led a sheltered life. I wish my life had this as it's worse problem.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
starlord, I am glad someone thinks like me. When I post this kind of point I usually get beat up.

Now why do you people beat me up when I say stuff like this?
Carry on dude! Good job...
Posted by killerklown on 2007-11-05:
Couldn't have said it any better then starlord.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
starlord, I am glad someone thinks like me. When I post this kind of point I usually get beat up.

Carry on dude! Good job...
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-05:
Bravo starlord Bravo!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Starlord, very well said but you forgot to add time needed for a stiff cocktail now.

Lid's, when you make sense I always support you 100%. LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Come on man, I make a lot of sense, well most of the time anyway, OK some of the time.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-05:
Lid darling it's ok. Nothing I say makes any sense until I've had my morning coffee.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Thank you, Principissa.. At least someone cares.... * Big Tears *
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-05:
Aww it's ok, I'll give you a cookie and read you a story and you will feel all better.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
O, TAE!
Posted by heaven17 on 2007-11-05:
Having been on both sides of the counter, I'm telling you that there's no way to win at the check out. I've greeted customers with a hearty "Good morning!" and received an icecold stare as a response.
So, for every customer who 'needs' that greeting, you have just as many who don't care if you live or die as long as you ring them up quickly and without incident.
Posted by bargod on 2007-11-05:
100 years from now,who's gonna care. Nuff said.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
heaven17 - Well said.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
what they all said..!
Posted by Skye on 2007-11-05:
Well OP, you cannot control her or how she isn't greeting customers, but you can control how you react.

Is she the only cashier?? Find another one, and give it a rest. Maybe this girl has some really horrifying stuff going on in her life, and greeting you isn't number one on her list.

Now leave her alone, and go find a cashier who wants to be all happy and chirpy to see you.
Posted by ShivaG on 2007-11-05:
My sincere apologies, i had no idea this is a site for people to beat you down with a complaint. I just thought i was making a complaint to a company. Sorry people, but you arent going to get a fight out of me, i have better things to do with my life.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Well said...again.ShivaG
some of the membership get too carried away.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
ShivaG,
No apologies are necessary, you stated your opinion. If you look at the other posts on this site, you will see that most of the posters here have opinions that may not agree with your's. This is a great site with a lot of good information.
Intelligent discussion is a great thing and fun! All of us have been "beat down" at one time or another. So don't take it personal.
Join in and add Your 3 Cents.


Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
steve, we are stepping on each other
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
just funning...we posted at the same time.
gotta get another drink
Ya hear liddy??
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
just funning...we posted at the same time.
gotta get another drink
Ya hear liddy??
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
ShivaG, We are not trying to fight with you just trying to get you to see the other side. By your own words you solved your own problem if we could just get you to see that. I will try one last time. You whole argument comes down to what you said you feel, “I dont care if shes having a bad day, or feeling like crap” and to some that up in three words “I don’t CARE” is what you are saying. That is the way you come across to me and most likely how you come across to the cashier. Sorry but I hope this helps.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
stupid connection...gotta get that fixed!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
PS. They try to beat me up all the time, mostly Steve and jktshff1.

See he just called me stupid.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
LMAO!!! got my drink
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
But you called me stupid? What kind of drink?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
I was calling the connection stupid.
OK secret recipe:
Jim Beam & Coke (beam is cheap and it doesn't matter to mix it, can't mix good liquor with anything)
2oz Jim Beam, no ice
6oz Coke, still no ice
stir until foams....now add ice
no top no bottom mixes great BEFORE you add the ice.
Repeat as necessary.
Bartenders don't do it because it takes too long.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
I am a RUM & Coke type guy myself.

First drink = 1/2 Rum and 1/2 coke, no ice.
Drink # 2,3,4 = 1/3 rum and 2/3 coke

after that repeat #1 as offten as you like.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
do rum in the summer sometimes.
My favorite is Wild Turkey Barrel Proof neat! Just too expensive to do on a daily basis.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
I do the Rum mostly when I have to fly over sea, get on and slam about 6 or 7 down then eat dinner and sleep like a baby. Makes the flight much easer to take.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-05:
LOL! Been there, done that, got the t-shirt..thanks dave ramsey.
Posted by Starlord on 2007-11-05:
ShivaG, I am sorry if you felt that I was beating you down. I have gotten my lumps as well as my kudos here at M3C, but I have many what I consider to be friends here as well. I know that Wal*Mart has a policy that if an associate comes within ten feet of a customer, they are supposed to smile and say hello. We have access to two Wall*Marts, and seldom do any associates smile or greet us in either store. Big freakin' deal!!! I have other things to worry about. The reason I know about this policy is my wife worked at the Wal*Mart in Coolidge when they first opened. I am the type of person who smiles at people and often say hello, and it is amazing how often I get a fish-eyed stare in return, or they look at me like I had three heads.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
It's five o'clock someplace, time for a rum and Coke. No Pepsi.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Rum and SODA!!LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
starlord, you should live around in the mountains of NC everybody says HI and SMILES, it's great!

OUCH! on the Rum and soda..
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-11-05:
What's with all the drinks around here guys? BTY, ZZ was just awarded an additional star and is hosting an open bar, so belly up. And JKT, you can have all the Wild Turkey you want my dear. Price is no object to ZZ.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-11-05:
Rum and POP!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-05:
Rum and soda pop. No, that sounds sick, rum and Coke. No Pepsi.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-11-05:
You were right with the Rum and Coke.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-11-05:
I can understand someone adding (Name Removed) IF they were doing a cut and paste and the name was in the original writing...but please, when you are typing it out, there is no name there to BE removed...just don't mention a name at all. If this was a copy of a letter that was sent to a manager or someone WITH the name..fine, but come on...
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-11-06:
I gotta clock that has nothing but 5's on it.
Posted by heaven17 on 2007-11-07:
I love how the discussion explodes whenever talk of alcohol is introduced...
Posted by The Concertlady on 2008-02-19:
I purchase the 8 pack, 12 ounce bottles of Sprite regularly at Winco, however, they have refused to accept the bottles for deposit. They must be hand counted, as the machines kick them out, and they don't want to do that. I have been yelled at, sworn at, and insulted! I personally count the bottles myself, and bring them back clean too. If they're not going to accept the empties, then they shouldn't be selling the product!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.