10
Helpful
Votes

U. A. Durr Complaint - Can You Trust Your Home Warranty?

Review by AUgirl on 2007-11-12
When buying a new home, sellers often offer the buyer a home warranty to put the deal over the top. But what do buyers really know about the home warranty that will be covering their new dream home.

Home owners across the nation depend on U. A. Durr Home Warranties to provide quality and dependable services. But what do homeowners really get, when they depend on services provided by U. A. Durr?

Quick response time, friendly customer service, and a willingness to help the customer. These are a few things that you will not find with U. A. Durr.

On Labor Day 2007, our hot water heater broke down and flooded our basement. Less than a week later, our dishwasher broke down as well. We thought we were covered by our home warranty, U. A. Durr, but we were wrong. We tried all day on Labor Day to get in touch with U. A. Durr to discuss our hot water heater. With no luck of reaching anyone, or having anyone return our calls, we made an executive decision that would later come back to haunt us.

We felt as if the hot water heater was a necessity for a house hold, so we decided to go ahead and replace it ourselves on Labor Day. As for the dishwasher, we did not feel as if it was a necessity for a house hold, so to this day we are still washing all dishes by hand.

Since our hot water heat broke, my husband, my realtor, and I have been calling U. A. Durr several times, and leaving several messages. All voice mails that we get state to leave you name and message and the person will call you back that day. This was only accomplished one time. I still have not heard back from at least two people that I left multiple messages with. Are these people on a two month vacation?

The people that we did speak with, showed no customer service skills whatsoever. They continued to place the blame on someone else, primarily us, the customer. One employee even told us that we would be reimbursed for our expenses to the hot water heater. This employee then instructed us to fax the receipts over and they would start the process for our reimbursement. Once we faxed the receipts, we then received a phone call from different employee at U. A. Durr stating that they have never heard of our case and we were not getting any money back. This employee then continued to explain to us why this was all our fault because we did not contact them and receive approval before our purchase.

Shocked and amazed at what the U. A. Durr employee was telling us, my husband and I could not understand why we could not get any money back even though we tried to contact them several times before deciding to fix the hot water heater ourselves. The employee continued to tell us that all the information was stated clearly in our policy.

We informed this employee that we never received a policy and only got the customer service number from the internet. Well, then the terms and conditions are stated on the internet, the employee informed us. So, after having yet another brain stimulating conversation with a U. A. Durr employee, I began my search on the internet for the terms and conditions.

Sure enough, I found the terms and conditions. They were listed under the “apply for a new policy” link. I must admit, this was not the first place I would have looked for an existing customer’s terms and conditions. But there it was stated in black text, in a tucked away page on the internet, that we are required to have approval before any repairs and replacements. But then I kept on readying and noticed another statement. “We are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.” This was shocking to me, since we called on a holiday and no one answered and no one returned our calls.

So, this makes me wonder, does U. A. Durr just get to pick and choose which parts of the terms and conditions they which to uphold and honor? It only seems far that if U. A. Durr requires approval prior to repair and replacement, as stated in the terms and conditions, then someone should be available 24 hours a day 365 days a year, also as stated in the terms and conditions.

Another statement was noted on the U. A. Durr website, “Best of all, from the home owner’s standpoint, if something goes wrong, he has U.A. Durr to make it right.” Yes, U. A. Durr will always make it right according to them, but the customer will never be right.

As my husband and I are still playing a not-so-friendly game of phone tag with U. A. Durr, we have noted that the final decision on our hot water heater is that we will receive no money. And as for the dishwasher, we are scheduled to receive a “U. A. Durr fair market value”, but we are not holding our breath.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-04-18
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2007-11-12:
If you can document your attempts to reach them and their failure to respond then use their own terms and conditions against them in a small claims case.

If you claim reasonable costs for the replacement water heater you have a good chance of recovery.

Granted, it's a hassle. But it might work.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-11-12:
Welcome back Chuck - unfortunately, the requirement for pre-approval is the biggest "gotcha" in the extended warranty business - all of them require it and all of them will deny your claim if you fail to get it. Like Chuck said, if you can clearly document that you made several attempts to contact them before you acted on your own, you might have a chance in small claims court. Good luck.
Posted by bugg on 2007-12-19:
AS A X EMPLOYEE OF UA DURR. I KNOW HOW STRESFUL IT IS TO GET AN ANSWER THERE. THE OWNER WILL NOT ANSWER CALLS NOR RETURN CALLS. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, ONE EMPLOYEE IN PARTICULAR, WILL LET THE PHONE RING AND RING AND WILL NOT RETURN CALLS. HE WAITS UNTIL THE CUSTOMER CALLS OR COMES IN PERSON. I SUGGEST CALLING THE EMPLOYEES AT HOME. OR YOU CAN DO LIKE URIEL'S TRUSTED RIGHT HAND EMPLOYEE AND SWITCH TO AHS. I DON'T FORESEE U A DURR TO BE IN BUSINESS IN 2008. THIS COMPANY IS RUN BY THE DEACON OF A CHURCH. AFTER SEEING HOW HE PRACTICES BUSINESS I QUIT AND DO NOT BELIEVE IN THE SAME RELIGION AS HE.
Posted by Tulsagrammer on 2008-02-25:
As of 25-Feb-2008, Durr seems to have ceased operations. At least the 888 number for customers has been disconnected, and the website (www.uadurr.com) states "This web site is temporarily unavailable."

I bought a home in March 2007, along with one of Durr's buyers warranties. In January 2008, the furnace (which was original with the home, built in 1981) started having problems. I contacted Durr, who dispatched an HVAC contractor.

The contractor found a number of problems, including a cracked heat exchanger. Initially, Durr refused to cover the repair. Their first explanation: the furnace was too old. But nothing in their literature documented such a limitation. Next, Durr made some claim that because I had purchased the warranty in March, they never had a chance to see how the furnace would work during a winter???!!! Finally, Durr agreed to pay for the bulk of the furnace replacement (about $1,700), and I would pay about $800 to cover some work that Durr considered not directly related to the furnace replacement. (For example, the hot water heater had to be temporarily removed in order to get the old furnace pulled out.)

The contractor tells me he has about $55,000 in work that Durr hasn't paid for, and for a few weeks now the Durr's phone number for contractors has a recording stating that more information would be available on 25-Feb. (The contractor called today, the 25th and got the same recording.) The contractor's lawyer is working on developing a class-action lawsuit against Durr; we'll see what happens!
Posted by jweb on 2008-03-09:
We have been waiting since Oct 29, 2007 for U A Durr to remiburse us for the replacement of our hot water heater. When their contractor didn't show up they "allowed" us to use our own and were instructed to fax them the receipt. We immediately faxed in our receipt and we received a letter stating that our reimbursement would be mailed to us in 30 days. When we didn't receive anything, we began calling and leaving messages. It took more than two weeks to get a return call and the woman in accounts payable said that our check would be mailed on Jan 7, 2008. That never happened so again we called and never received a return call. So we sent in a complaint to the BBB. U A Durr responded to the BBB stating that the reimbursement was being processed and the check would be mailed to us. That was Feb. 8th. They then suspended operation with a message on their phone systems to check back after Feb 25th. It's March 9th and their phones are no longer in service. Guess that money is gone for good.
Posted by AUgirl on 2008-03-12:
Just an update for anyone interested. We were to receive money for our dishwasher, but the check never came. Now it seems that UA Durr is out of business and leaving many customers without payment. Including us!
Posted by CapnCarl on 2008-03-13:
We have a current U. A. Durr warranty and have not been able to contact them for the past few weeks. We have registered a complaint with the New Orleans BBB and if you would like to do so yourself their website is at http://www.neworleans.bbb.org/

C. Capdeville, Metairie, LA
Posted by thensider on 2008-03-13:
CAPN, be sure the company is headquartered in LA. each state has their own BBB and if you send it to the wrong one, you may not get a response.
Posted by CapnCarl on 2008-04-18:
To thensider: We got the complaint to the right location and they were not much help. Apparently the Greater New Orleans BBB is useless lately. What a shame.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.