[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Arbys' - Gaffney, SC Complaint - Sick of the rudeness!

Review by Her on 2007-11-29
GAFFNEY, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Among several trips to Arbys this is one that is awful my friends and I went to order food there were about 4 people total in there my friends were talking to each other and a girl came out to the register loudly telling them to shut the he!! Up the friends said excuse me knowing they were not loud the girl began to scream and holler and my friend was disgusted at her and told her to stop acting like an idiot the girl threatened her and kept cussing my friends ignored her. And I am not trying to sound racist about this but there are no white or others working there everyone I knew that was of a different race was fired and complained that the African American manager was racist the workers treat the white customers so bad and this is not the first time this has happened I went in there another time and got my food wasn't greeted and then ask for a spoon the girl said rude like and is that all I replied yeah an attitude change would be nice and walked off.

I love Arbys but I am so tired of the workers getting away with treating everyone like crap there more concerned on whats going on in there text messages rather then serving us and by that I mean white black purple and green we are all equal and should be treated that way something needs to be done with our Arbys!!!!!!

I will not even take my kids there now due to the fact I don't want them to learn certain bad words that should be kept in your bedroom and not in a place that we eat! And I hope someone reads this and understands what I am saying its insane to run a biz (in which I do)!! And treat people like they do here in Gaffney. If I recommend a place to eat it won't be here!

Thank you!
Comments:28 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-07-06
Posted by heaven17 on 2007-11-29:
You know purple and green people...?
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
I am intrigued at heaven's observation, please go on about these purple and green people? Are they tattooed or painted purple?

Posted by killerklown on 2007-11-29:
Enough with the joke reviews already.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
I know some gray people.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
I swear, if I mentioned in every review about how I was treated because of my hair color I'd be laughed at. "I hate to sound racist, but I was the only person there with purple hair." Or, "I was the only person there with Ronald McDonald Red hair..."

A rule to live by: Periods, they aren't just for the end of paragraphs anymore.

I couldn't get past the first sentence/paragraph in this review.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
I know exactly what you mean Gothic. I could pull that card daily anytime I go someplace. I was discriminated against because of my eyebrow ring and maroon hair or my tattoos.

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
Gothic, your lucky, you still have your hair regardless of it's color. LOL
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
Are you discriminating against me because I have hair?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
Never, just jealous you do. Wish I still had mine, I would not even care what color.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
We should all chip in and get our super some hair for the holidays!
Posted by KCRovert on 2007-11-29:
Those first 3 "paragraphs" are the longest 3 sentences I have seen in a long time.

And you might want to suggest to your purple and green friends that they run out and see a Doctor...that coloration of the skin could be indicative of a serious medical problem.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
LOL! I have three brothers and they hate me because I have all my hair and they don't!

Gothic, I like your hair I think it's cool and it really doesn't look that purple unless that picture is messed up, it looks like highlights and looks good to me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
Old Fart has less than me so let's start with him first. A nice blue shade would look good on him. Myself I really like that purple shade Gothic has. But any color will do. I see a DB Photoshop coming out of this thread...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
".....certain bad words that should be kept in your bedroom...." *tears*

Her, enjoy your trip back to Appalachia and good luck with your MOONSHINING BIZNESS.
Signed, All White, Black, Green and Purple people that aren't your neighbors or kinfolk.
*banjo music playing*

Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-11-29:
ZZ - you must have been to Gaffney before! Their claim to fame is a big water tower that's shaped like a peach, complete with the crease in the skin. So there you are, northbound on I-85 late at night and you top the last hill before Gaffney and what do you see? It looks like a giant a$$ on a stick pointed right at you - but no, it's just the water tower. Welcome to Gaffney! Eat at our Arby's!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
Hugh, that must be one heck of a sight and one "swingin' town!
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
Lidman- No, in my new picture, I'm back to red hair again, with black underneath. I usually keep the bottom black and change the top color. I'll put a picture up in my blog with my purple hair for future reference.

Principissa- Great idea. I'll cut off a few inches again and donate it. Our hair colors should work great together! Red, maroon and black! :)
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
That would look hot! I had pink and black up until two weeks ago. We should try that with the purple!
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
I use the Ultra Violet with a HINT of Vampire Red (My current color) in it to give it that extra UMPF. I'm actually tempted to go a Midnight Blue now. I've only been this red for about a week, I had Wildfire Red for a few weeks, but it kept fading out too fast...
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
Right now I have cherry cola mixed with mahogany and it came out to this really nice maroon color.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
I had the same issue with a candy apple red. It faded on me in 2 weeks. It got dull and looked orange. I bought some shine spray from Matrix and that seemed to help make it look better but I won't use that color again.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
That's cool. For a while I was mixing Cherry Cola and Black Cherry for a really deep mahogany reddish color. I used to call it Black Cherry Cola. :)
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
LOL! I want to try that one. I'll credit you. My hubby is like one of these days you're gonna mix up one of your creations and go bald.

Midnight blue and hunter green made this awesome dark sapphire looking color. It was neat.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
Wow! All these different colors available nowadays.Back in the 80's we used food coloring.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
steve I used to use kool aid when I was a teenager and couldn't afford the hair dye. Man was that a huge mess!
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
I'm going to have to try that combo! I'll credit you as well. Shoot, too bad you don't live close, we could dye each other's hair once every few weeks! And our kids could play together.

I tried Kool-aid once and it didn't work on my hair.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-11-29:
That would be awesome! The only problem I have is highlights. I can't do it for my life. Hubby is getting good at them though!

If he likes transformers and spiderman he'd be a hit with my boys.
Posted by Thadeus on 2008-07-06:
Dear Her,

First, if things transpired as you have said at Arby’s I will tell you that this is not right. I realize that getting bad service pisses me off too. I love Arby’s food too, especially the curly fries and the market fresh sandwiches. Like you, I often see unfairness in hiring and employment opportunities too.

A lot of people would respond with the adage "tit-for-tat". In fact, they would say that this is simply an understanding of the environment. With the Ledger plastering alleged crimes by minorities on the front page in big bold fonts while crimes allegedly committed by the majority are just the opposite.

I know you were not trying to sound racist; but the fact remains that your posting came across like that. You seemed to emphasize the color more so than the service. But no one complains about the fact that blacks don’t work up front at Norma’s. I walked into Regional Finance and although they like taking my money, I don’t ever recall seeing a black behind that counter. I could go on but my point is whether you want to believe it or not, the unfairness you saw is nothing like that which most blacks see in Gaffney on a routine basis.

Language around kids you say. Well, I am a honest law abiding citizen that works hard and just so happen to drive a nice car (I own my home too just in case you are wondering). Still, while driving down the highway I rolled through one of those southern road blocks and when they couldn’t figure out something else to get me on, the cop that was talking to me commenced trying to provoke me by calling me “boy” in front of my family.

Still with the confederate flag flying at the home of some, imprinted on trucks, and woven into caps, I am intelligent enough and think that you are too to realize that not all people are like that. I have a few good friends that are white but there is an imbalance in the way people are treated in Gaffney that will only grow if people continue to emphasize the color factor. I am choosing to say that despite the bad officer, unjust practices for hiring and employment, the confederate flag, and the language I want to continue to say that I like Gaffney enough to call it home. I know that for every idiot that is out there, there are some decent people their and they prefer to follow the law in a color blind fashion. They don’t find it necessary to hoist confederate flags; they post the American flag.

If it makes you feel better, I will apologize for those people but you need to realize that if you are true to yourself and not a racist, instead of emphasizing the issue do something that I do. Whenever an event like this happens, I make it part of my purpose in life to do five things for people of the opposing race. For example, even though the cop called me “boy”, I’ve done a few things. I’ve opened doors for others at the post office and at stored, stopped someone to tell them they left their cap off the gas tank, been gracious when tipping, and even celebrated the fourth with some of my friends that are Caucasian. But I feel that makes a better world. Gaffney needs to mature like the rest of the country on the race issues and I don’t see that happening if we don’t start looking beyond the ignorance.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.