10
Helpful
Votes

Dishes, Decor & More Complaint - Do not make any purchases from Dishes, Decor & more

Review by cnidaria on 2007-11-29
I ordered a place setting and a vegetable bowl of Noritake China china on Oct. 10, 2007. Dishes, Decor & More immediately took the money for the items I ordered and assured me they would be there for a special event on Thanksgiving. I sent an email again on Oct. 17 to make sure my order would arrive and was assured it would be here. However, on Oct. 30 I received an email claiming that my order could not be guaranteed to arrive by Thanksgiving. When I asked about canceling my order I was told my order would be here between 20 to 30 days but that it would still take 7-10 days to get my money back if I did cancel it. So thinking they were on the up and up I held off cancelling my order. Well, of course my order did not and has not arrived yet. Today I received an email from the company stating that they were going out of business and to go to their website and "pick out a substitute from what they have left".

I, of course was not interested in anything else and read that they are not giving out refunds or credits and are not taking any calls and are only giving you 72 hours to have everything resolved "Their way". I strongly suggest that you do not buy anything from this company. They take your money immediately but there is no guarantee that you will get your merchandise or your money.
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-02-01
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2007-11-29:
Going to point out the obvious- but if they are going out of business, how would I order from them?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-29:
Do a credit card charge back immediately. I would not trust them to send anything else since they are going out of business.
Posted by cnidaria on 2007-11-30:
To gothicsmart aleck. Because the still have their website up and are still selling merchandise off it.

Thank you Passing By. I will.
Posted by newlywed on 2007-12-02:
The same thing happened to me! I'm so upset. I placed a very large order for some fine china so that I could complete the set I picked out when we got married. The style was discontinued recently so I wanted to get all the pieces I was missing before they became hard to find.
I ordered in early October... was charged right away with a verbal promise from customer service that the items would be shipped in a maximum of 2 weeks. Then I got an e-mail a few weeks later saying that there was a further delay ... a 10-14 day delay. After a month, I tried calling and nobody was answering the phones and the voicemail was full (just before Thanksgiving). I tried e-mailing. I got an e-mail from customer service saying my order would be delayed another 20-30 days! Worried that I wouldn't receive the items in time for my formal Christmas dinner, I tried calling but again.. no space on voice mail and no answer on the phones! Two days later I get the e-mail saying that they are going out of business, they won't fill my order, AND they will NOT REFUND MY MONEY! I was furious! Yes, they offered "substitutions" but why would I buy china in a different pattern if it doesn't match my set?! Makes no sense. In the end, I had to dispute the purchase through VISA.

What a headache! BEWARE OF ON-LINE SHOPPING!

Now I'm on the search to find my items from local suppliers...I'll pay more if I have to!
Posted by emarie on 2007-12-04:
About Dishes, Decor and More...DON'T order from them. They take your money and won't send the merchandise. I have reported them to Maryland Attorney General's Office who didn't seem much interested that their website is still up and they are still taking people's money!!!!!!!
Beware! I lost $75!!! emarie
Posted by cnidaria on 2007-12-10:
They sent out an email stating that they had ceased being in business on Nov. 29th. Later the same day they sent another saying my order was on backorder and that I needed to call them. When I called the voicemail was full and no longer taking messages. I talked to one of the other similar companies whom Dishes, Decore & More "recommended" and they were hearing all kinds of ripoff stories and were afraid they were going to get some kind of backlash from all this. The company I called is reputable and I have ordered from them before. I turned everything over to my credit card company with a detailed paper trail. They plan to take legal action against the owner. I noticed that they still have their website up and are "selling" merchandise off it. I hope this gets out so na one else will fall prey.
Posted by weezy1969 on 2007-12-15:
You are always taking a chance when shopping online - even with a reputable company that has been in business for several years. In today's economy, it is all too common for a business to be forced to file bankrutpcy. You cannot be safe unless you are walking out of the store with the merchandise and you have already inspected the merchandise to ensure it is exactly the quality and quantity you expected.
Posted by mrlrtr on 2007-12-26:
This also happened to me. I unfortunatly used my debit card and Bank of America will not help me due to the over 60 day order. I placed mine in late September and spoke with them a number of times and was told it would be coming. Then I received the same emails two of you have spoken of. It's just too bad I will never deal with an online company again. I too was referred and believed it was a reputable company.
Posted by cnidaria on 2008-01-02:
mrlrtr: Did you keep a record of the emails they sent you? My 60 days was up also but because I kept a copy of every email I was able to get my money back from my debit card company. I provided them with the information they needed and they will be filing a lawsuit against this company.
Posted by cnidaria on 2008-01-10:
You might also want to be careful because there is a link to another website by the same exact name. It says they will be coming soon and are working on the website. I would be very wary of using them as the name is the same. I do not know if it is the same company but I am taking no chances. OH MY! I just clicked on the link from an old email from them and the above mentioned link comes up so it is the SAME company! Buyers beware!
Posted by amos girl on 2008-01-28:
I also made an order in October, was told in November that is was backordered, and by the time I realized it wasn't coming, it was too late to have my credit card company reverse the charge. I have filed a complaint with the Attorney General's office in Maryland and encourage others to do the same. Has anyone pursued small claims court? Is it even an option from out of state?
Posted by amos girl on 2008-01-28:
this information will be helpful if you decide to file a complaint with the Attorney General's office:
Dishes Decor and More
(The 223 Group, Inc.)
11203 Superfos Drive, SE
Cumberland, MD 21501
phone: 301-724-7500 (that doesn't take any more messages!)
owner: Kim Butler
Posted by cnidaria on 2008-02-01:
They are "out of business" so I don't know that a complaint would really result in any action for you but I would go ahead and file a complaint. You never know. It is very strange that the number is still connected. I was able to get my money back from my credit card company but I kept every email I exchanged with this company. One would hope that this company's president would be prosecuted for fraud.
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-02-01:
Baloney! This company owes you what you ordered or a refund. Slam dunk if this is a credit card purchase. Like PassingBy said, contact your issuer and do a charge back. If you mailed payment, then you may have to just take what you can. Their refusal to fill your order or refund your money is a bad sign they don't care, which makes sense since they are folding up. Once they are gone, you won't get anything, including a credit card refund, since they would have closed their merchant account and it can't be charged back. Dispute your charge(s) right now.. NOW!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.