Dominoes Pizza Complaint - He Should Lose His Job!!

Review by fancygrl37 on 2008-01-05
YONKERS, NEW YORK -- On the 4th of January, a friend and I went into the Dominoes on Mcclaen Ave in Yonkers to order pizza. My friend had a cigarette lit and after a minutes the owner comes out from the counter and rudely says " YO get out of here with that cigarette" My friend apologized and threw the cigarette out. We thought it was over until the owner by which his name is Leman continued to argue wit us. I told him there was NO reason to get nasty and he told me to basically shut up and thats putting it mildly. Thats when my friend and I argued back, I told him that we weren't disputing over the cigarette but he said he didn't care and just continued with such language, we were in awe of how his ( the owner ) language was. He called us idiots, and on top of that he came right up to me face and my friend thought he was going to hit me because the guy did have his hands clinched, so I stepped in the middle and the owner refused to place our order and we got our money back.

And with that, he STILL was antagonizing us as if he was looking for a fight because he kept coming closer and closer cursing at us. Grant it I wanted to slap him but I am a lady so I figure I write a complaint to anyone that would read this because that was totally UNPROFESSIONAL of him.He said he was the owner, which I doubt, I would love for someone to help me and get a number that I can call to make a direct complaint against him.
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-02-08
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-01-05:
Since when is smoking allowed anywhere in doors in NYC, especially at a Pizza place? You shouldn't have allowed your friend to walk in with a lit cigarette, and after the manager started getting nasty, I would not have ordered at all.
Posted by killerklown on 2008-01-05:
This "complaint" has to be fake. If not, I hope and pray that the "writer" doesn't reproduce. If you talked anything like you typed, I don't blame ANYONE for wanting to punch you in the face.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-05:
Amen, Killerklown
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-05:
UNPROFESSIONAL = This post.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-05:
You should have hit the owner!
Posted by fancygrl37 on 2008-01-05:
Let me state that we had placed the order before the incident happened. He apoligized for it, but that doesnt mean he should stand there and have to take being cursed out. We just waited to get our money back to leave.
The complaint is NOT fake, thats your opinion fine, but I was there! I will damned if I am going to allow anyone man or women to get right in my face and curse me out and not defend myself.
It comes down to the person was unprofessional on hw he handled the matter.
Posted by killerklown on 2008-01-05:
Fifth grade was too hard for you, huh? Stop typing on public forums, you're only embarrassing yourself. Stick to the grade school drop out chat rooms.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-05:
fancygrl37 - I'd suggest chantix for your smoking friend and xanax for the dominoes manager with anger issues. My goodness what's this world coming too when picking up a pizza puts you at risk of fisticuffs. You did the right thing sharing your story on my3cents.

Lidman -- Man it's nice to have you back. You always have the perfect answer for every situation.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-05:
Who's smarter than a fifth grader?
Posted by DumdHead on 2008-01-05:
You understand that he could have been fined heavily for this misshap? One smoke to you could be a grand to him. At least thats the way it works down here.
Posted by fazie on 2008-01-05:
ok everyone enough! the poster probably wrote this right after this happened and was still upset. you know how you get really mad and want to write it all down, you are really forceful in writing your not paying attention to the spelling or language! give her a break!
Posted by Principissa on 2008-01-05:
Umm, since when are you allowed to smoke in public buildings in NYC? Last I checked smoking was prohibited in buildings and your friend broke the law. Be lucky your friend didn't get fined. The way it was handled was inappropriate, but your friend should have never gone into that building with a lit cigarette. Sorry it happened but be careful next time.
Posted by Nohandle on 2008-01-05:
I've found now most smokers are a bit more respectful of nonsmokers and usually think twice before lighting up in a public place. Your friend walked in with a lighted cigarette, which to my way of thinking he shouldn't have. That having been stated, once the cigarette was tossed out that should have been the end of it.
Posted by runaway on 2008-01-05:
So you want the owner to fire himself?
Posted by Starlord on 2008-01-05:
I seriously doubt it was the actual owner of the franchise, as most franchisees do not work in their stores on a daily basis. Shucks, they're big shots and are off somewhere wheeling and dealing. The only franchise I am aware of that almost demands owners work in the stores is Papa Murphy's, they don't want any absentee owners/operators. Plus, their pizzas beat Domino's all hollow. If you feel I or the others are wrong, and you are right, contact Domino's Franchise Department. People have lost their franchises for not living up to the desired image of a corporate entity.
Posted by jenjenn on 2008-01-05:
I'm sure there's another side to this story.
Posted by fancygrl37 on 2008-01-05:
Listen guys, I only wrote what happened, and again as soon as this person told him about the cigerette , my freind threw it out and apologized, and yes that should have been the end of it as NoHandle said, but this person seemed to have it in for us and continued with the vulgarity which was not necessary. It's not what he said, it's how he said it and how he handled the whole matter. We only defended ourselves when he started cursing us out which surprised both of us. Im not going to apologize for defending myself against some man that comes in my face and disrespects me. Yes we understand that he could have gotten fined, but bottom line is that theres ways of handling this and he handled it wrong, considering he said he owned the store, which I doubt. But yes I did contact the Domino's Franchise Department. Like I said before, he was wrong yes, but the owner, or whoever he was took it to the extreme by how he handled it and thats all. In all, my freind was wrong, yes but so was the owner also.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-01-05:
maybe he had a close friend or relative that died from smoking or 2nd hand smoke.
Posted by puppymommy on 2008-01-06:
1. I am sure there was another side to this story, 2. You never go into a public place with a cigarette, period. 3. You should learn to spell before you post 4. You sound like you wanted this to escalate, you should have simply walked out if the owner was so bad from the start. and 5. Again, you should not have walked in with the cigarette, sounds like you were hoping to get something going by walking in with the attitude that the rules do not apply to you, you and your friend are old enough to know what the laws and rules are regarding smoking in public places, you were pushing the limit the minute you walked in and I have a hard time believing that you did not get an attitude because you had to throw out your smoke. Not a very believable post.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-06:
What in the world was your friend thinking in the first place, by walking into Dominos with a lit cigarette? This could not possibly have been an accident.
Posted by fancygrl37 on 2008-01-07:
I already explained what happened. And AGAIN, he knew he was wrong and apologized for it, but it doesn't give anyone that right to try to make something escalate. The one that was making the situation escalate was the the person that was cursing us out, we had to wait in the store until we got our money back, then we left. Ana once again I say both my freind and the person was wrong. And thats that on this matter.
Posted by DPW123 on 2008-02-08:
I would have to agree with most everyone here. It sounds like there's more to this story than you told us. People don't just randomly go off for no reason, it was obviously provoked. I can see him going up and yelling for you to leave (because he can get fined), but unless you guys tried arguing back, I don't see him cussing you guys out. And if you did argue, that's your own fault. It's not your business nor right to continue to do something in the owner's store, especially after he told you to leave.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Dominoes Pizza: