14
Helpful
Votes

Papa Murphy's Pizza Compliment - Very Impressed! - Decent Pizza and Great Service.

Review by 15910 on 2008-01-14
DENVER, COLORADO -- Pizza joint chains are usually "hit or miss" in most cases but I think that Papa Murphy's for what it's worth is a cut above and can definitely "stack up" to the larger, well know pizza joints. The "take and bake" concept is pretty cool and it eliminates waiting all night for the delivery person to bring you a cold pizza only to realize that they didn't bring your SODA or DIPPIN' SAUCE as well.
They make your pizza right in front of you which can be fun for the little ones to see and outside of the slices of pepperoni being so thin that you could see through them, they do pile on the toppings. The service was friendly, prompt and the handwashing sink is right out in the open so that you can see them doing it.

I paid $23.00 for one specialty pizza and one two topping pizza both family size which was the largest one. Not bad.

Don't know how accessable these places are elsewhere but I would suggest that you give them a try the next time you want pizza at your home and if it turns out bad you can only blame yourself since you'll be doing the baking.

Thanks.
Comments:26 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-02-01
Posted by MRM on 2008-01-14:
I wish I could share your euthisiasm but, unfortunately, I dont have Papa Murphy in Norfolk,VA.
Posted by jenjenn on 2008-01-14:
I love the take & bake concept. The only place I've seen this was in Oregon.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-01-14:
POP! I SAY...NOT SODA...POP! JUST POP!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-01-14:
We have a Take and Bake here...different name, but same concept...but I just have a problem getting my pizza from there because the place used to be a Neighborhood Video Rental place. I know, I know...but hey, that's just the way I am.

Other than you spelling Pop S-O-D-A...it's still a good review, you can always go back and correct that spelling error.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
They are in 30 states now and rapidly growing.
MRM, the ones in Va. must be to far to drive to, huh?

Jen: 1981 Papa Aldo's Pizza was founded in Hillsboro, Oregon
1984 Murphy's Pizza was founded in Petaluma, California
1988 Terry Collins purchased controlling interest of Murphy's Pizza (15 stores)
1990 Terry Collins purchased Papa Aldo's Pizza (65 stores)
1995 The chains were merged into a single entity named Papa Murphy's International, Inc., a privately held corporation based in Vancouver, Washington
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
DB, I said SODA just for you, my friend.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
Great review ZZ,I love Papa Murphy's(not just cause my niece works there and gives my a discount).They have some pretty righteous(sp) cookies as well.

(VH)!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-01-14:
Thanks...but there is no need for you to feel that you have to do special favors for me....dear!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-01-14:
I bet the owners of these places aren't "Papas" at all!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
Steve, what is up with the "cookie dough" dessert? I nearly went into a sugar coma looking at that stuff!
Their SODAS are reasonably priced btw.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
I like their SODA's.The chocolate chips in the cookie dough are the best ive ever had.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
Steve: Have you had their Lasagna? Nothing like good authentic Lasagna with a cold soda to wash it down wouldn't you agree?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
haven't tried their lasagna....yet.but i agree nothing like a cold SODA and lasagna
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-01-14:
ZZ...have you visited your blog recently???? I left a message for you the other day.
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-01-14:
The pricing sounds fair. Good review ZZ, I'm going to have to give this the two VH thumbs up.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-01-14:
Wish I had a Papa Murphy's near me. I love pizza and a can of POP--either Vernor's or Pepsi.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
I like the POP sound a can of SODA makes when you open it.
lol
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-14:
Mmmmmmm diet Vernors POP and hot pizza. Ponie - have you tried Buddy's take & bake pizza? That's really good too.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2008-01-14:
We had a chance to try Papa Murphy's in Washington a couple years ago, would dearly love to get one here in Arizona by us....hubby thought son and I were crazy when Kevin said he would pre-heat the oven while I went for the pizza! Good thing I kind of know my way around up there, but we really should go more often...I miss those huge evergreens and real grass in the yards!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-01-14:
Mmmmmmm Vernors Ginger Ale!
Posted by horrible_sanity on 2008-01-14:
i do enjoy papa murphys however i just moved to washington from connecticut and take and bake was new for me in washington every other restraunt is mexican and teryiaki(sp) but in ct its pizza and chinese. i had never herd of take and bake before. at first i was upset that the same price io paid for a hot pizza ready to eat in ct got me a uncooked one here that was also smaller. after a while i just got used to it and even though pizza hut and dominios are hot ive never really liked either and would rather cook my take an bake then order from them
Posted by Starlord on 2008-01-14:
the Food Network show Unwrapped one night menetioned take and bake, and I expected a segment on Papa Murphy's, but it was another chain that does the take and bake. When Unwrapped did a segment on Papa Murphy's that they thought PM was much better than the other chain. I told Crystal when we win the Powerball, I will get a Papa Murphy's in Casa Grande, amybe in the new Promenade at Casa Grande. DB, I love Vernor's Ginger Ale, It is the best soda I know of. :) HS, I can't imagine PM being smaller than anything else, their Family Size beat the large from any other chain I have seen. I do miss Papa Murphy's, Yum-m-m-m-m-m.
Posted by horrible_sanity on 2008-01-14:
the pizza joints im used to arent chains ther independents pm does have the largest out of dominos pizza hut little cesars etc but nothing compares to the independents i grew up on
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
Nice review zzrokk. (VH).
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
We tried Papa Murphy once a couple of years ago, and it was much less than we hoped for. The wife thinks the ingredients were a step above garbage. Perhaps I'll give 'em another try, don't know. We don't eat much pizza from anyone as it ain't the healthiest fare.
Posted by JRent on 2008-02-01:
Yes, I agree

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.