[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

ATWEST Rent A Car Corp Complaint - Incorrect Charge - Car Rental

Review by jmartinezclark on 2008-01-14
SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- The purpose of this review is to formally complaint against ATWEST Rent A Car Corp. a company that incorrectly charged me $ 375.52 for their services. This charge is incorrect. The correct charge should have been $256.36 ($24.99/daily car rental + $9 for CDW Insurance/day for 7 days from December 22nd, 2007 to December 28th, 2007 + sales tax of 7.75%).

Reason for Dispute:
I rented a car from the car rental company ATWEST on December 22nd, 2007. I had initially done an online reservation with ATWEST Rent A Car Corp (Reference Number: ATWE-SAND-420866) from which I received an email reservation confirmation; in this reservation I reserved the car until December 29th,
2007. On December 22nd, 2007, I went to ATWEST Rent A Car Corp’s office in San Diego (2901 Nimitz Blvd) and at the time of rental I orally told ATWEST Rent A Car Corp's representative about the possibility of extending my car rental until January 3rd, 2008 since depending on my personal circumstances, there
was a high possibility of a change in my schedule and that I probably will be returning the car sometime before January 3rd, 2008. The representative said that I could return the car at any time and will only be charged for the days used; the representative then proceeded to take my information and print out the
rental agreement.

This was consistent to my experience renting cars from other companies and seems to be standard practice in most if not all companies. I signed the rental agreement number SD22599 from December 22nd, 2007 to January 3rd, 2008 with an estimated rental charge of $375.62, I provided my Citibank banking card, I was provided with a 2005 Ford Focus and left the facilities.

On December 28th, 2007, I returned the vehicle to the original pick-up location in San Diego (2901 Nimitz Blvd) and followed the posted instructions to return the car. The instructions conspicuously posted in a framed document hanged to a wall said that the customer should leave the keys in the key-drop, leave a voice mail at an specified telephone number, and park the car in the parking lot. I followed the instructions and left the facilities.

A few days later I noticed a charge in my Citibank account for $375.52 on January 11, 2008. This charge was inconsistent with the charge that I was expecting of $256.36 ($24.99/daily rental + $9 for CDW Insurance/day for 7 days from December 22nd, 2007 to December 28th, 2007 + sales tax of 7.75%). On
Saturday January 12th, I called and left a voice mail at the San Diego location to obtain an explanation on the incorrect charge. I didn’t obtain a return call and on Monday January 14th, 2008, I called again and spoke with the original company’s representative which processed my initial car rental transaction on
December 22nd, 2007. The representative first said that their “holiday” rates would have made it impossible for them to charge me less than $375.52 for the time I used the vehicle; after I questioned his statement, the employee said that I should pay for whatever was on my rental agreement and that if my
rental agreement said that I should pay from December 22nd, 2007 to January 3rd, 2008, then that is what it is.

When confronted with my allegation that I had specifically told him at the time of rental on December 22nd, 2007 that I will very likely return the car before January 3rd, 2008, the said that none of the employees of ATWEST Rent A Car Corp makes oral agreements with their customers. The employee also said that “we don’t know when you returned the car,” which is absolutely false since on December 28th, 2007, I left the car parked at ATWEST’s parking lot, left the keys in their key drop, and left a voice mail per their posted instructions. I then asked him to transfer me to his manager and he said...”I’m the
manager.” When asked to provide me with a name and contact information for someone else in ATWEST Rent A Car Corp with whom I could speak with on this matter, he said...”there’s nobody else to speak
with.”

As described above, I unsuccessfully attempted to resolve the matter with ATWEST Rent A Car Corp. I have not contacted another agency for assistance. I have not contacted an attorney either. There is currently no legal court action pending, and I have not lost a lawsuit in this matter.

Based on my experience with ATWEST Rent A Car Corp, the company acts is engaged in a deceitful practice with its customers.

Cordially,

Julio Martinez-Clark
Comments:

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.