[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Kellog Complaint - Offer of DVD to children

Review by retired2 on 2008-01-16
HUDSON, FLORIDA -- I sent for Kellog's offer of free DVD of our choice of 4 for eating 4 boxes of cereal. We received the DVD in mail. A baseball story entitled The Scout. It was rated PG 13 for mild language. I was shocked when I heard the " F" word come from our TV set. We don't approve of your offering children, without approval of parents DVD's films and language to watch in their homes. I will tell our friends and their friends about Kellog's offer to offend us in our homes for free.

I am not going to purchase Kellog products until the situation has improved for parents and children to keep our homes free of offensive entertainment. Is this company policy to offend America and families all over the world?
Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-01-16
Posted by Principissa on 2008-01-16:
Umm, why on earth would you order a PG-13 movie for young children? I won't allow my kids to watch anything unless we watch it first to see if it's appropriate. Sorry to say but most PG-13 movies are filled with bad language and make out scenes which are not appropriate for young children. And it even said as much on the box the DVD was packaged in. I would have taken the hint from the Mild Language label it had on it that it was probably not appropriate for kids. This could have been prevented by paying more attention to the rating of the movie, that is why they have them on the box. Kellog's is not at fault here. They gave you the DVD you requested. This will not sway me from purchasing their products.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-16:
My daughter told my wife last night that there were F***ing ants on one of her toys.I caught hell for it,and had a long talk with my going on 4 year old princess.
I explained that Daddy uses foul language at times,and would try my hardest to clean it up around her.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-16:
Retired, do you know what PG-13 and the letter (L) means? Sorry about the experience.
Steve, I gotta laugh, I remember those days. Had to get on my 24 year old Son about using the (F) word around the GF yesterday.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-16:
Adults eat cereal, too!
Posted by jenjenn on 2008-01-16:
Steve...I'm just WAITING for my daughter to say that! I try to clean it up around the kids, but sometimes it just SLIPS OUT.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-01-16:
My son was playing a video game with his friend and dropped the F-enheimer bomb. He pulled the OH FUDGE Christmas Story bit. I didn't buy it. So I sent his friend home, sent him to bed, and took over Guitar Hero. And I kept it just loud enough so that the could hear it. Yes, I'm an evil mom, it drove him nuts when he kept asking, "Mom did you just beat that song?" And the only reply he got was, "Goodnight. I love you." or silence.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-01-16:
jen I am so with you on that one. The other night I burned my finger pretty bad on a hot pot and I yelled out a bad word, this morning my little guy was walking around the house singing Da**it. My oldest one said the mother of all bad words in front of my mother when he was 3 because he heard his dad say it. Kids are like little parrots, they repeat everything they hear and don't care who hears it! When it does happen, we tell them it's a bad word, and now that they know it's bad, if we hear them say it they get toys taken away.
Posted by JustLady on 2008-01-16:
Just for future reference, I belive (someone correct me if I'm wrong) the "F" word can be used once in a PG-13 movie (depending on the other content also),any more than that and it is moved to an "R" rating. Here is a link that might help in the future.
http://www.mpaa.org/FlmRat_Ratings.asp
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2008-01-16:
How old are your children? We try our best to curb the language in our home and monitor what our 15 year old watches on TV, but once he's in school, the language he hears there would burn your ears. I couldn't believe the words coming out of those teens mouths. Times have changed...
Posted by MRM on 2008-01-16:
Its not just what you can control in your house, but outside of the house as well.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-16:
My daughter is at the "mimic" stage,she copies what we say.My wife is good about the language thing(she's pretty straight edge when it comes to bad words),but im another story.
Posted by jenjenn on 2008-01-16:
Yes, they are little parrots!!! Goth - your story was awesome! Thanks for the laugh.
Posted by runaway on 2008-01-16:
"I will tell our friends and their friends about Kellog's offer to offend us in our homes for free"....actually, Kellog's only offers to offend those parents who don't pay attention to the ratings of the movies they are getting for their children. This one's on you.
Posted by heaven17 on 2008-01-16:
"We don't approve of your offering children, without approval of parents DVD's films and language to watch in their homes."

I beg to differ. You sent for a movie advertised on a cereal box which certainly translates into approval in my book.
It was your responsibility to do some research on this film before you sat down and caught a faceful of shrapnel from that F-bomb.
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-01-16:
Execs at Kellogg's aren't going to watch these movies before making the offer specifically to review content. That's what the rating system is for. The entity that rated this movie PG-13 is at fault. Obviously they have changed their policy of anything that drops the F or S bomb goes straight to a restricted "R" rating. Frankly I agree and would never expect to hear that word form any PG-13 movie. I believe your focus is off base though targeting Kellogg's. Research what group rates the industry exactly and voice your concerns that way.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.