12
Helpful
Votes

Monster Cable Complaint - Pretty but wayyyy overpriced

Review by squeekyHinge on 2008-01-30
Given the fact that television has moved from a simple analog signal to High Definition and speaker systems are "surrounding" us with 5.1 to THX sound all via a digital connection I'm surprised this company's products have not gotten reviewed yet.

The ONLY way to enjoy a high def signal is to connect either component cable (picture) or an HDMI cable (picture and sound) from your HD converter box, BluRay or HD DVD players etc to the ports on the back of these devices.

Enter Monster Cable. A company that excels in the way they market the "build quality" of their cables to consumers in order to justify their obscene prices for their products.

Sure they're pretty and the prettier they get from one "series" of HDMI cable to another the more expensive they get. Note to Monster Cable..... it's in the digital signal, you're either going to receive it or you are not. It does not matter that they are pretty while tethered together behind the console collecting dust.

Anybody shopping for cables should realize what took me personally several months of research while building a home theater. There is no correlation in the quality of a digital signal and the price you paid for the cable. And there is certainly no correlation between what they look like either. Check your local electronics store or sites such as bluejeanscable.com to compare and don't buy into Monster Cables marketing scam for overpriced connections.

For more information and for answers on more intricate cable hook ups you should visit this website....
http://bluejeanscable.com/articles/hdmi-cable-information.htm

Hope this helps
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-09-14
Posted by MRM on 2008-01-30:
Go to www.monoprice.com for your digital cables.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2008-01-30:
It's good to hear some else recognizes there is no such thing as a "poor" or "weak" digital signal. It either is or it isn't. ANY cable that gets the signal from point "A" to point "B" is good. It could be a barbed wire fence, if you get the signal at all it's just as good as the $30 cable. (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
The best HD comes over satellite.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
Good stuff squeekyHinge. Picked up used Monster Cable for about 50% off, it works great and your right, very pretty, LOL.
Posted by squeekyHinge on 2008-01-30:
"The best HD comes over satellite. "

True dat!!!!

Not only PQ (100% digital video and audio ) but fees, programming and equipment make satellite a clear cut winner over cable. Shame though that I can't get a bundled service (phone, tv and internet) with satellite.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
Very Helpful. I am glad to see someone call them out. I also like PCCables.com.
Posted by Justusryan on 2008-01-30:
Monster is sweet.
Posted by squeekyHinge on 2008-01-30:
"If its WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY overpriced.. why buy from them???? "

That's the point. Thanx fer "gettin' it!
Posted by squeekyHinge on 2008-01-30:
"Monster is sweet. "

Really? Why?????
Posted by squeekyHinge on 2008-01-30:
Justusryan, ""Monster is sweet. "

I suppose you think Bose makes a top of the line audio system too eh?????

Posted by Slimjim on 2008-01-30:
Good review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
Nice review (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-30:
Awesome review!!! Could not have done any better a job myself. "Very Helpful"!!!
Posted by Starlord on 2008-01-31:
Thank you, Squeeky. I have a friend that took me to task for buying my cables at our local Wally World. I felt pretty much the barbed wire fence way, plus the fact that SSDI is not overly generous in doling out my money. I took a look at Monster and told the saleperson to take a hike.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-01-31:
Good Review.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2008-01-31:
I give this review two big BRRRRRRRRRRRRTTT's and a side PFSSSSSSTTTT! Very good!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-01-31:
'sup ejack?
Posted by Principissa on 2008-01-31:
Hi ejack sweetie, how have you been?
Posted by ejack053824 on 2008-01-31:
Nothing much there jkts. How are you doing bud?
Posted by ejack053824 on 2008-01-31:
Been doing fine there Principissa...and yourself dear?
Posted by Principissa on 2008-01-31:
Hangin in there. We are all moved into the new house. Trying not to freeze it's so dang cold here.
Posted by getoverit on 2010-09-14:
www.mycablemart.com is a good place to buy cables

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.