3
Helpful
Votes

Garlic Jims Compliment - Excellent new pizza place

Review by LeeSee on 2008-02-06
BURBANK, CALIFORNIA -- OK, 1st off I love pizza! I love everything about pizza. I dream about pizza.I also love Garlic. So imagine my delight when I get a flier in the mail for a place called "Garlic Jim's Famous Gourmet Pizza".

We ordered Jim's Garlic Chicken Pizza.(I know the purists are screaming now about the chicken part)

Wow, I'm in love. It was tasty, and cheesy and full of toppings. YUM!!!!

We also ordered a side of the Garlic Cheese Bread. They don't lie about the cheese part!

They did not have the on-line ordering part up yet (blasted.. foiled again) but they were polite and accurate when we called.

If you are in the mood for something different check them out.
Comments:32 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-02-07
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-06:
I put garlic on everything but my cereal! Or when I have a date coming over!
Posted by Principissa on 2008-02-07:
I love garlic! Like Gothic, I put it in everything but my cereal. Everything tastes better with garlic. Except cereal.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Yeah I got to agree... I wouldn't put garlic on cereal either.

Good review LeeSee. (VH) I wish we had a Garlic Jims instead of all the cookie cutter plastic pizza joints.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Good review will have to check them out. When in Burbank I always hit the Tommy's Burger on San Fernando Road. Heart attack in a bun, but it tastes great. (VH)
Posted by Ponie on 2008-02-07:
I draw the line at putting garlic on ice cream. But I've heard at the garlic festival (don't know where it's held--saw it on the Food TV Network), they have garlic ice cream.

LeeSee, let the purists flame all they want. I personally don't care for chicken on a pizza, but make it the way you like it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Ponie,the Garlic festival is in Northern California in Gilroy.The whole town reeks of garlic.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Steve, we posted at the same time. They have just about anything with garlic. It's great fun and smells great!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
I like roasted garlic
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
At Halloween I roasted pumpkin seeds. I did half batch of regular ones, and half batch of roasted garlic pumpkin seeds. Man those were good!
Posted by LeeSee on 2008-02-07:
We had the Garlic Ice cream when we ate at the stinking rose, and you know... when you have already eaten a ton of garlic you can't even taste it.

We are going to try hitting the Garlic festival this year, YUMMY!!!!!!!

Now I need a big batch of garlic fries! :-)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
LeeSee, we hit the Garlic Rose a few times. The one on La Cienega I think, is there more than one?
Posted by LeeSee on 2008-02-07:
That's the one! There is one in San Francisco as well. The one on La Cienega is close to my work.

I could use a ton of garlic today. Home on the couch sick as a dog. :-(
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
One of my favorite things to make is Mac and Cheese (not the boxed stuff, home made) put in some mixed veggies and sprinkle it with grated cheese and garlic. Yummy. I sometimes add tuna in there as well.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Smurf - I thought you were a vegetarian.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
I am, but not vegan. I do eat some seafood and dairy. No poultry, pork or red meats though. Didn't you read my review on Sushi where I ate eel?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Well technically smurf you're not a vegetarian -- you are a pescetarian. I raised a vegan ... I know terms and stuff no man should know.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
Semantics. ;P Yeah I know that, but having to explain that to every single person I meet isn't my idea of a good time, so I reduce it to it's simplest term that people understand. And it just makes it easier when I go to a friends for dinner... Now what is it that she eats? Pork but no dairy? Or no fruit and only chocolate covered grasshoppers?

Most people can relate vegetarian with no meat, and I don't eat seafood on a regular basis, only when I can feel my protein levels sinking. Which is about 2-3 times a year. And I'm too lazy to get nuts about which products have eggs in them so I just ignore them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
But no matter what we call ourselves we all love garlic except on cereal of course.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
Cheers to that!
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2008-02-07:
I love garlic...I eat so much of it I'd ward off vampires!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
I wonder if garlic would be good in Postum.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
I wonder if that's why I almost never get sick because I have garlic at least once a day.

And sorry to bust the myth. Garlic doesn't ward off Vampires, and I've got the scars and pictures to prove it!
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2008-02-07:
LOL Goth!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-02-07:
I want to see the pics
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
Really? Alright hang on...
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Good review LeeSee (VH) I love garlic because it makes good,,,,, BRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRT! Oh Excuse me.. What was I saying?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-02-07:
she ain't lying!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Garlic breath stinks
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
Hey--I've seen one in our area, but haven't gone. I was spoiled by the pizza in CT--yes, CT. Frank Pepe's to be exact--loved the thin crust. But, I will check this place out. And, Steve is absolutely right on. You can smell Gilroy before you even get there. (I have a nephew who lives nearby.)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
We go through Gilroy on the way to Monterey(when we don't take the coastal route).Roll your windows up,cause the smell gets pretty harsh
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
I could smell Gilroy from 30 miles away but I like garlic so it was a good smell. mmmmmuuuuuu fersh garlic mmmmuuuuu

And Steve is never right unless it's about waves and then who knows the difference?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-07:
hey now!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.