[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

RMS Queen Mary Hotel and Landmark Complaint - Queen Mary Visit - Disasterous!

Review by Nonnymoose1 on 2008-02-28
LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- I recently had the chance to stay on the Queen Mary for the weekend. Accommodations ran about 240 a night for a 2 queen size bed room.

Upon arriving, I was informed I was given two twin bed room instead of the 2 queen size beds I had confirmed and paid for. I refused the twin beds and told them to figure something out. This room was going to sleep four people.

The carpet of the room we got was spotted, stained and filthy. The room overall was dingy. The furniture was cheap particle board and looks like it's been there since 1960 as were the light fixtures. I don't mind this for a 2 star 50 buck a night room but for 250?!?!?!?!?

The restaurant service at the Cafe was awful. It didn't matter if we were there for breakfast, lunch or dinner. They kept forgetting our drinks, we had to ask for condiments several times over, our meals were brought before our beverages arrived. I was not amused.

The overall shape of the ship has incredibly declined since my last visit four years ago. They are having weddings and events in this place left and right - dragging money out of it in any direction it can - yet none of this money is going into any upkeep beyond slathering on an additional layer of paint.

Overall my experience was quite sub standard. It is sad to see the beautiful ship decaying from what it once was. I don't think I've ever seen it in THIS bad of shape. I wish someone would get in there and beat the lease holders.
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-03-16
Posted by Principissa on 2008-02-29:
Umm it's the Queen Mary. And if you do the research you will see that they still use the original fixtures, carpeting, and beds that were on the ship. Did you see anything paranormal though?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-29:
We do a Sunday Brunch once a year on the Queen Mary for a group were in and they do an outstanding job. No one other than tourists stay in the hotel part of the ship because right accross the harbor are nice four / five star hotels.

The complaint above is typical of what we hear. Folks want a five star Hyatt room and service on a 80 year old ship. It's not going to happen. If you want to stay on the 80 year old Queen Mary expect what you get. As for it being dirty, report that to management and housekeeping.

We are proud of our old Queen Mary out here and tell the tourists "well what did you expect", ghosts?
Posted by Nonnymoose1 on 2008-02-29:
I live in the Inland Empire so I'm not a tourist.
I also have owned a 40 foot boat built in the 70's and know that old boats have old stuff and completely get on ship accomodations. I've been going to the QM for a VERY long time. This wasnt my first, second or 10th visit. I do this every couple of years because someone is having some event of some type ... conference, wedding, bachelor party etc etc.

Dirty and nasty is dirty and nasty.
I dont expect 4 star because the ship is old.
I do not expect worn bed linens and disgusting carpets in a room costing 200 something a night.
I do not expect to see carpeting in hallways repaired with silver duct tape.

There is no excuse for having those rooms look like they do for the amount they charge. That furniture holds no nostalgia. It is not original furniture to the ship. It is standard hotel furniture in need of replacement.

Again I am very sad about these new lease holders dragging money this way and that from this ship and not putting anything back into it.
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-02-29:
It does look like Nonny has seen a timetable of the ship's maintenance and upkeep suffering. I find this disturbing as I always felt is was great this piece of history has been able to be used in a way to preserve her when all other ships of that era are long gone (except the SS United States, which continues to rust away in Philadelphia). In my opinion, this boat should be maintained to the highest standards without fail at all times.
Posted by sandlizzard on 2008-03-01:
Is this hotel/ship in Kansas or Oklahoma? I ferget. :>)
Posted by PleasedAsPunch on 2008-03-01:
LOL sandlizzard.

All kidding aside, that was one of the things I had recently included in my "Bucket List" and now...?? Not so sure I want to waste my money on something that is going to disappoint me or make me feel as though I wasted my money. :(
Posted by Miss Misery on 2008-03-16:
I agree with Slimjim, Nonny had very right to expect appropriate accommodations for the price paid. No one should expect substandard accommodations unless they're paying below average costs. Write a letter to the local newspapers so the public becomes aware how their 'tourist attraction' appears to others. (And I keep searching for a principissa or superbowl response that actually encourages the posted complaint rather than supply a standard 'what did ya expect' post.)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.