1
Helpful
Votes

Luggage Security Warning Informative - Luggage Locks DOES NOT Prevent Theft ! ! !

Review by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05
When I attended Business College for Travel/Tourism/Airlines...one of my professors showed us all the different ways of getting access to the contents of locked luggage. He told us there is NO LOCK that will prevent anyone from getting into a person's luggage. He demonstrated several techniques and it did not surprise me. The easiest are those nylon type baggage with plastic zippers. I found one of the "tricks" he showed us, demonstrated on YouTube and wanted to share it with you so you would be aware of it on your next trip. It's very informative, yet at the same time TOO informative for thieves who will see this.

You can also find other "tips" and "Tricks" on luggage security on YouTube by doing a "Luggage Security" search on that site.

[See video below]

Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-04-05
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
I thought I was able to post the YouTube video on the review...but it didn't attach...here is the link to the video...Please be sure to watch it if you travel!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujVyXyLgLcw
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2008-04-05:
Well, I figured if they see something "odd" they (security) will have to open up the baggage to check, either that or blow it up, or are you talking anyone, in which case, no lock will keep a person bent on getting in out.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
Some people leave their luggage in their hotel rooms locked, thinking as long as it's locked then it's safe...this shows anyone can get into them...at airports, hotels, anywhere.
Posted by Nohandle on 2008-04-05:
I don't even bother with a lock for checked baggage. I might be making it easier for the thieves and asking for trouble but feel if they want to get into my bag a lock isn't going to stop them. We've had too many complaints from members having valuables stolen from locked checked baggage.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
NH...if they see luggage without a lock, they will figure there's nothing of value in it and not even bother to look...LOL.

When I lived in a small town in PA, no one locked their homes when they left and no one locked their cars. Being from the city, we always did and my uncle told my Mother that only the cars that are locked are the ones that get broken into. I heard a friend of mine talking to his wife on the CB one day in that town and he told his wife he was going to stop and get his hair cut. She asked if he had gotten the $3,000.00 from the bank yet. He said, "Yes, I just came out of the bank, I'm just going to hide the money under the seat until I come out of the barber's"...LOL, I sat there and laughed, I think that sometimes they used that CB so much they would forget everyone in town can hear them. No one took his money...and he never locked his car.
Posted by Nohandle on 2008-04-05:
Don't you just love those small towns? I remember my mother telling of the days of just leaving the keys to the car in the car. Locking the door to your home? Nobody had a key!! LOL
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
The thing is...it's STILL like that in that small town. They only have one traffic light and if you REALLY want to hear a good small town story here it is...

They have a curfew whistle that blows at 10pm everynight and all kids are to be off the streets at that time.
And they will NOT put up with litter in that town...it was in their local town newspaper, just a few years ago that someone had thrown up on the curb (and DIDN'T clean it up)...they wanted to find out who did this ... it was right outside of the town bar. And the owner of the bar was actually able to identify to the police who it was by identifing the "chunks" and knew who had ordered that at his bar. The police went to the guy's house and they guy confessed to up chucking on the street and he was fined for littering and got his name in the newspaper and ever since then the townspeople call him "Chuckie"...LOL...I still get a kick out of that story.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
AHHHHHHHHH...My Video has posted!
Posted by Ponie on 2008-04-05:
DB, I tried getting to the video and when I pasted it into my address bar, it required me to sign up for YouTube, which I certainly don't want to do. Hope I can get to see it somehow.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
It just got attached to my review above...just click on it and it should be ok.
Posted by Nohandle on 2008-04-05:
DB, I meant to tell you earlier up your video had posted when I first saw the review. Ponie, could there be something on your security settings? I've never signed up for YouTube or been asked that question in order to see one.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-04-05:
Rats! The only thing I have where a video would be seen is a big white square with a little red 'X' in the upper left corner. I've been browsing M3C for a while, hitting Refresh when in this posting--nothing helps. Yeah, Nohandle, it certainly could be something in the security settings on my computer. Got a new one just a few months ago and I guess I should consider myself fortunate I can get into M3C. :) Really don't want to mess with it because my computer knowledge could almost fill a thimble. Thank God all my business programs don't give me fits. I'd really be up the creek in that case.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
Ok Ponie...let's try this...check your IM.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-04-05:
Thanks, DB. It's GOT to be something with my computer. Same thing there--only in light blue instead of white. Oh well.... Stuff(?) happens. :) Thanks a lot.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-05:
Sorry :(

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.