1
Helpful
Votes

Semper Fido Dog Grooming Complaint - Do Not Use This Dog Groomer

Review by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-09
ELIZABETHTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I found this dog groomer by chance and since they had extended hours I decided to give them a try. On my first appointment I had to have my BF and son drop my dog off. They told me the person working there was rude to them, but I shrugged it off. No big problems w/first appointment. When I went to pick my dog up (after a 4 hour appointment) I made a 6 week follow-up appointment and left after leaving a HUGE tip. One week prior to my 6 wk appointment I called because I noticed that the appointment card was incorrect. The woman "did me a favor and squeezed me in". I took my dog to the rescheduled appointment and asked her when I could pick him up. She said "4 hours". I kinda balked at the amount of time (My dog is only about 10 lbs, and was shaven down at prior appointment., only needed face cleaned up). She got kinda snippy w/me so I said "fine, I'll be back in 4 hours".

I didn't even make it to my car and this woman comes running out of her shop w/my dog, throws him in my arms, and says, "You better take him, I don't need your attitude". I replied, "Let's see, your staff messed my appt up, it's gonna take you 4 hours to clean the face of a Shih Tzu up, you have so little class that you would do this in front of a bunch of strangers, and I have an attitude?"

Don't bother using this person or her grooming service. She wasn't that great anyway.
Comments:34 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-29
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-09:
I can almost see your rolled eyes when you barked "fine, I'll be back in 4 hours". If you're going to serve attitude you gotta expect a little in return. Anyway this lady seems too thin skinned to groom dogs. It's better you found out now instead of later.
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-09:
As a matter of fact, I wasn't rude about it in any way whatsoever. Remember, I was leaving my dog with this person, which to me is no different than leaving my child somewhere. I wasn't gonna run the risk of having her po'd at me and taking it out on my dog. I just figured she was having a bad day.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
The messed up appointment, not a big deal, you fixed it by rescheduling. Her attitude on the other hand, uncalled for. However, if she was busy that day and had other dogs before yours (you said she had to squeeze you in) so I can see why it would have taken so long for her to get your dogs face cleaned up and give him a trim. What I don't understand however, is why she wouldn't want you to return? It sounds like you got upset that your dog would have to wait and it would take 4 hours. You say that she squeezed you in, so is it possible that there were other dogs in front of yours and that is why it would take that long. Was it a matter of not wanting to wait four hours for your dog to get his/her face cleaned? If so you could have rescheduled the appointment for another day OR found another groomer that you liked better. I say that because at the end of your post you claim she wasn't that great. Well if you didn't like the grooming job they did the first time, why would you take your dog back a second time? I don't have a dog personally, but all my friends do and those dogs are considered family members to them. Why would you leave a family member with someone you didn't like or apparently trust?
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-09:
Because she 'squeezed' him in the first time, not the second time. I overlooked a little uneveness because of this. The second appt was the one that her staff messed up. Why should I have to suffer because they are inept? It shouldn't take 4 hours to clean a small dog's face up when he was just seen and shaved down to nothing several weeks prior. If she has too many dogs scheduled than that's her problem, not mine. When I go to get my hair trimmed I am not waiting 4 hours because my stylist overbooked. It's just not good business.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
Wow, I can certainly see why she doesn't want you to return. She did you a favor by squeezing your dog in and you got huffy because you had to wait. Sorry sweetie but that's life. She was nice enough to fix the appointment and take him in because of a staff error, in turn you decided to get flippant and throw a fit because your precious pooch wasn't first in line. Did it not occur to you that there were other animals waiting before you showed up and that they took priority over you? If your attitude here is any indication of your behavior that day, then this woman was perfectly in the right for asking your over entitled self not to return.
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-09:
Thanks for the advice SWEETIE. She was NICE enough to fix the appt? LOL that's funny since they are the one's that messed it up in the first place, not me. I didn't expect my dog to 'be first in line' Don't book more than you can handle. If she couldn't handle 'squeezing him in' than she shouldn't of done it. What would of happened if I hadn't by chance called to confirm my appt and just showed up instead? Would she also of been doing me a favor by doing him then? This groomer is about a 1/2 hour out of my way, and with gas prices the way they are, I don't want to drive all the way there and come all the way home and go all the way back and come all the way home again. If she would have said "look, I apologize for messing up your appt, but it's gonna take several HOURS longer than normal because I am squeezing him in" than I would have re-booked at a more convenient time. I wasn't given that option. In this day and age with the economy the way it is, business owners can't run the risk of alienating a customer, because I was IN NO WAY RUDE TO HER. I could have been made happy and told a few friends about how happy I was or she could p**s me off w/her rude attitude (no way for a business owner to act, EVER) and I w/tell everyone that will listen not to use her service, which is exactly what I am gonna do.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
Yea so instead of complaining here to us, FIND A NEW GROOMER. There's the common sense answer to this obviously traumatic and horrible experience your attitude caused. You didn't like the groomer to begin with, you didn't like the cut he got the first time, FIND SOMEONE ELSE. Stop trying to make this a federal case and find someone else.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-04-09:
Buy a pair of scissors and a wash cloth.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
Ponie you are on a roll today LOL!
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-09:
Not trying to make a Federal Case, Principissa is. I thought this was a site to post comments, compliments, concerns about, which is what I did. I didn't ask for Ms Thangs attitude. I went somewhere, tried to get a service, it sucked, I won't go back. I was just trying to let anyone else who was looking for a groomer not to try this place because I am not the only one this person was rude to, hence seeing a pattern w/her. It's like having a battle of wits with an unarmed person. Boy did I have this site all wrong.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-09:
The poster used the service once and was apparently please. So pleased, she left a huge tip. The follow-up appointment was somehow messed up and the groomer offered to 'squeeze' the poster's dog in. Given this, a four-hour wait (It would not take four hours to finish the grooming, but it could be 3 hours and 30 minutes before the groomer could get to the poster's dog.) Perhaps, the poster could have left a cell number? When the groomer was getting close (within an hour) to being availabe she could have called the customer? If this were done, the tip should be 10% over the price of the grooming. It's a "favor" to the customer. Sorry, bugaboo, your me-centered attitude bleeds through the post. I really wanted to take your side and offer an alternative. But, WOW!!! From your responses to other commentators have a shorter trigger than an atomic bomb and an unreal expectation of how life works. All the best!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-09:
I could be wrong but I thought federal cases were filed in federal court. I'm not sure how this review qualifies as a 'federal case'.

The little blurb to entice you to join this site states

"My3cents.com is a leading source of real consumer advice. Visitors come to learn, interact and voice opinions regarding companies, products and services in our open community.

Learn from other consumer experiences, and help others learn from your own personal consumer experiences.

Join the revolution today and start being heard! "

I guess I wrongly assumed as well that this was a place to voice a complaint. Oh well you live and learn.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
PMS if you read my first post I was helpful, I was actually trying to figure out why it would take 4 hours to clean a dogs face. And asked why she would take her dog back to a groomer that she was apparently, and in her own words unsatisfied with in the first place. What I got in return was a nasty attitude. Sorry, but I don't allow people to talk to me like trash, especially when I didn't speak to them like that. Maybe in your eyes it's fine to talk to people like that, but to me it's not. This is a place to voice your opinions and complaints, but it's also not a place to abuse the people who are trying to help you. If you don't want to hear or like other's opinions, don't post on public forums.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-09:
Princi-I read this post and then the comments. I TRUELY TRIED to take the poster's side. I thought you were being uncharacteristically mean-spirited and I was puzzled. Then, I began reading the poster's return comments. NOW...I understand why the dog groomer ran after her to give back the dog. Poor dog...I fear it may have been house-broken at gun-point.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
Ghost, I was honestly trying to help this person and in turn got those comments. I always give everyone benefit of the doubt and assume all of the posts I read are 100% true.
LOL poor dog.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2008-04-09:
Tried private groomers in the past, wasn't at all happy. We started taking the dogs to Petsmart and the dogs seem to like it there and we often times schedule their next appointment when we pick them up, they are scheduled for June already in Washington, gotta keep them clean and well groomed for their "jobs" and because they'll be around the new grandbaby...and I prefer to have the dogs show-stopper pretty anyhow. Saw a service dog, about 45 pounds with a backpack on at the County Fair....it shed so bad you couldn't walk past him/her without getting hair on you. The back pack was covered with dust and hair. The dog's owner/handler was covered with dog hair. I depend on our dogs to alert us to things around us, and we keep them well groomed, for two of them being long haired, they shed very little, that's what the brush and grooming glove are for. Dog #3 is short haired and still too young to shed, but he gets a treatment with the glove every day anyhow.

Anyhow, I suggest the poster try Petsmart, they are open and take the last dog in at 7:00 in the evening and you can drop off as early as 7:00 in the morning. Our chihuahuas are groomed and pampered for under $15 each, I do the little one at home for now...as long as he doesn't fight getting a bath or his nails done.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-09:
Pet smart.. now that's a useful suggestions. Son of a gun I guess there is a difference between advice and heckling. Thank you Jesus for restoring my faith in the online community.
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-09:
Thank you CrystalSword, I w/try Petsmart. I only began defending myself because Principissa put me on the defensive from the get go. I was only posting my experience and trying to warn others of this place so they could avoid. I didn't asked to be attacked. No where in my OP does it say that I was rude to the lady. I was by my own admission taken aback when she told me 4 hours to clean his face up. No bath, no nail clipping. Remember, I made my appointment several weeks before this one. I didn't just call up and get him squeezed in. She was rude to me, not the other way around. Not in this day and age. Way too many ppl trying to make a go of a business to be treated like that. All I was trying to do was share my experience. Period.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-04-09:
I was polite and was trying to figure out why you had to wait for 4 hours. I gave you an attitude in return for what I got from you. If you don't want attitude, don't give one.
Posted by madconsumer on 2008-04-09:
dog gromming does take a long time. had she gotten her dog back in 15 minutes, she would be here complaining about sloppy work.

good and or exellent work takes time.
Posted by MarshPeep on 2008-04-09:
Be kind - not defensive.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-09:
I can understand your frustrations as posted in the review...but then you show your attitude when it comes to the other members. It was no problem for you to go there for the first time, make a followup appointment and go back the second time and you were willing to leave your dog there for the clean up, until she gave him back to you...then all of a sudden, they weren't that good, it's too far to drive and not worth the gas used to get there.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-09:
You can save lots and lots of money if you buy yourself an American Hairless Terrier...that ought to put those rude groomers out of business fast!
Posted by Aerocave on 2008-04-09:
Bugaboo: I wasn't even going to bother posting my thoughts but I simply can't help it...I am not in the "dog grooming business" but I deal with customers every day...and, though I don't know you, I can tell by your "quick to the defensive" remarks and "I did no wrong" attitude that you are the type of customer that no matter what a business does to satisfy you--unless it is under your terms--you are not satisfied. The fact that you even admitted that the work "wasn't that great" but you came back because the first time "she squeezed him in"--tells me that, you will utilize a business or service as long as they "do what you want, under your terms." And even more to prove my case, you even show this mentality in regards to my3cents when a couple people begin to question your complaint...My3cents was a great place for you to voice your complaint (as I would say it is)--yet as soon as princi and a few others slightly questioned your actions--my3cents becomes a site that "...you had all wrong." You are more than welcome to post your complaint here (which you did)--but that doesn't mean that others can only post their "3 cents" if it is "under your terms."
Posted by Starlord on 2008-04-09:
bugaboo, as others have voiced, grooming takes time and one must be very careful. My sister went to school and learned grooming and opened a business in Indianapolis and was building a clientele. If she followed her instincts and forbid owners while grooming, she might still have her business. But a customer with a cockapoo, I think, who woul dhave made a stone statue nervous insisted on being there when her 'baby' was groomed. She had the dog so nervous that it took a chunk out of my sister's hand, causing nerve damage that destroyed her ability to groom. You made a point of saying you had shaved the dog down at the previous appontiment. Don't you know that shaving a dog is cruel? My sister in law shaved her dog down, and he is miserable. Dogs do not have sweat glands, so they cool themselves by panting. Their fur is designed by nature to insulate them from hot or cold conditions. Dogs should never be shaved, unless they are a Chinese Crested or Mexican Hairless who are being groomed for a show, and that is only to remove hair that makes them look raggedy. Please learn about dogs before you claim to love them so much.
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-10:
It wasn't my choice to have him shaved down, it was the groomer that did it. I didn't ask for it. When he was shaved down the appt only took 2 hours. I was only taken aback that it was gonna take 4 hours to clean his face up only. And as for the "poor dog" remark, I got him about 6 mos ago off the internet. Had to wait an hour for the owners to show up. They had been camping for a week (with their other dog in tow) and left this dog on his own. He was dirty, matted, underweight, had such a serious URI that he couldn't breath. His back leg had been broken and nobody tended to it ever. So yes, I am a little protective of the "poor dog". I wasn't rude to the groomer when I took him in there, just a little shocked that it only took 2 hrs the first time and it w/be 4 just to clean his face the 2nd time. Had they not screwed my appt up then I wouldnt be having this conversation. Thanks for everyone's insight.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-04-10:
Bugaboo...you said, "When I went to pick my dog up (after a 4 hour appointment) I made a 6 week follow-up appointment and left after leaving a HUGE tip.
....You picked up your dog AFTER a 4 huor appointment AND you left them a HUGE TIP...So, you're dog was ready in 2 hours but you left them "Dog Sit" for another 2 hours until you were ready to pick him up...That so called Huge tip must have been for dog sitting because if they shaved him without you telling them to and the service was so bad, then I'm sure it wasn't really a tip...since they "weren't that good" anyway. So, what difference does it make if they had to keep him for 4 hours on the followup when you left him there that long in the first place until you were ready to get him?
And why the heck would it be 6 weeks for a clean up on the face...by that time, all his hair would grow back...this review makes less and less sense the more you talk...
Posted by bugaboo1 on 2008-04-10:
the problem was that I was supposed to be somewhere else and had to walk outside and cancel those plans. Only after I did that did she walk out and throw my dog at me. Re-read the post, the first appt only took 2 hours for EVERYTHING (bath, nails, dry, cut, trim, ears). She did squeeze me in that time so I expected it to take several hours. The 2nd appt I shouldn't of been "squeezed" in because I made the appt weeks prior. No bath, no nails, just clean up his face. I didn't let him sit there an extra 2 hours, I was there before she finished him after only 2 hours.
Posted by MarshPeep on 2008-04-11:
bugaboo - slammin name.
Posted by Mopardogmama on 2008-08-25:
I use Semper Fido and they are a GREAT grooming service. They love dogs and take great care with their customers. I have been a customer for over a year. Previously I took my dog to a private groomer. He couldn't WAIT to get out of there when he heard my vehicle pull in. And the lady was a wonderful older lady, a dog judge and her husband was also kind to my dog. It just wasn't a good match for my pupper!

Since he has been going to Semper Fido, he is excited to go and loves it there! He often stays to "visit" and play! I know that everyone has a bad day, for customers and service people but I would give them a very HIGH recommendation as dog groomers and caring people! IN fact, today I was 1 hr. late for my appointment and they just moved him back and did him anyhow! They are GREAT people and real dog lovers. Please don't let one person's attitude and bad experience stop you from using them! The grooming area is spotless and they treat the dogs with great respect and care! They have even adopted ones that people decide they don't want. Those are NOT bad traits for a groomer!

Hope you all have a nice day! Thanks, also, I found this by accident and had to post. It's fair to offer up a bad experience, but there are two sides to every story!!!!!
Posted by Coton_Crazy on 2008-11-12:
I take my pet Cotons and show dogs to SemperFido. I am very very fussy about who touches my dogs. Semper Fido are always handle my dogs with respect and care. The work with me and researched my breed prior to grooming and work with me to find the best shampoos for my dogs' coats. I also recommend SemperFido to my puppy buyers and folks at work. I would like to read SemperFido's side of this complaint.
Posted by Annabella88 on 2008-11-25:
I work next door to Semper Fido and have known the owner for years. She is the sweetest lady and really cares about the dogs she grooms. I happened to be working that day, and witnessed this event. First of all, she brought the dog to you into the store next door. That is how I know you happened to call her a "F***ing A**Hole". I wouldn't want you to return to my shop either. That is so disrespectful, especially in a public place.
Posted by Cee123 on 2008-12-20:
I don't know EITHER of the people. I do know dog grooming though, since I am a groomer. The behavior of the owner was unprofessional and petty. I have turned customers away from my shop, if I can't get a "meeting of the minds" and feel like there will be no pleasing the person, I do that BEFORE they leave the dog at the shop, not by accosting them outside afterwards and making a scene. This woman may have been on her way to work, she had a right to be upset about the way the shop dealt with IT"S MISTAKE, not hers.
Posted by ash85424 on 2010-03-29:
I have been to this dog groomer and I absolutely adore her. I am sorry that you had a bad experience, but I have never had anyone there treat me rudely. I used Petsmart when my pups were little and they would give me my little guy back with a wet head, saying he hated the hair dryer. Have you ever had a hair dryer blown in your face? I would hate it too, lol. Any time I would ask them to tweek something that they had done last time, they looked at me like I was crazy. My pup couldn't wait to get back to me when I would pick him up from Petsmart as if he were scared. When I took him to Sempre Fido, he fell asleep the first time they groomed him WHILE they were grooming his face! He loved it so much he didn't even want to leave! Now I do know that my mother-in-law has a difficult dog to groom and she goes to a different Petsmart than I do. The lead groomer there is the only one who will touch him b/c he bites and she does a wonderful job. I am here to defend Sempre Fido, though. It does take a long time from when you drop the dog off, but they only have 2 people in there at a time and work on prbly close to 30 dogs during the day. This means they bathe and then the dog has to dry. The dogs also get to run around and play with the other dogs while one is being groomed. My female is 12 mos and my male 15 mos so they love being able to play with all the other dogs in there. As I said, I'm sorry you had a bad experience, but I would recommend Sandy and her groomers to anyone and everyone, just be ready to leave your pup there a little while. She is always accommodating and I have a very weird schedule to work around. I love this place.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.