3
Helpful
Votes

Luepke Florist Compliment - Beautiful Flowers For Mother's Day

Review by 47836 on 2008-05-10
VANCOUVER, WASHINGTON -- I know we will hear many bad reviews about floral deliveries over the Mother's Day weekend and beyond, so I wanted to tell you about my positive experience with an FTD florist.

Today, Saturday, May 10, I received a gorgeous FTD flower arrangement from my son. It was delivered in the morning and left by my door because I was away at the time. They took care to cover the flowers so they would stay fresh and out of the weather. The vase was also filled to the brim with water.

The flowers, roses, tulips and others, were all fresh and beautiful. Some were not open all the way so I know the arrangement will last the promised 7 days. My son said I received exactly what he ordered--including the vase.

In the future, if I have local deliveries of flowers to be made, I will definitely use this florist. They have proven that, even on a busy weekend, they can come through with flying colors.

Additionally, last week I sent flowers to my daughter in Boston, through the FTD web site, and she said they were perfect and beautiful. I had only ordered them the night before (Pacific time), so I was impressed that she received them before 10 a.m.

Just remember that if you do receive an FTD arrangement that is sub-par, call the delivering florist. They will give you a replacement at the earliest available time. They guarantee their flowers to last 7 days. I have called them in the past from different locations, and they came through every time. Sometimes things don't go as planned, but at least they stand by their promise.
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-05-12
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2008-05-10:
Diane, it's nice to see you got good service. I dont know if it's true, but I read somewhere (I think it was Hells Angels magazine) that if you use 7up instead of water, they last a lot longer!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-05-11:
That's great...it's usually a hit or miss when dealing with flower deliveries. I've had some good, some bad. But anytime it was bad, the florist or 800-Flowers always replaced the order.

DC...that's true and it was also mentioned on my "Tips" thread on the community board:


41. To keep FRESH FLOWERS longer Add a little Clorox, or 2 Bayer aspirin, or just use 7-up instead of water.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
I was delighted to see that dianec listed her review and compliment under the florist's name and not FTD. Remember folks, the order gatherers only supply communication. The florist does the work. I hope my friend, dianec, takes time to call the florist who filled the order to pass on a personal compliment. After all, it was the florist who filled the order who deserves thanks. Nice review dianec.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
DB-here are some things to think about with regard to replacement by 1800FLOWERS: It costs 1800FLOWERS absolutely nothing to guarantee the flowers. They have no product involved. When a customer complains, the florist does not get paid. Zippo! Obviously this is a system ripe for abuse...and it is often abused. Let's look at 1-800's "Sentimental Surprise" from their Website. The large arrangement retails for $54.99, plus $13.99 S&H (Does anyone wonder what 1-800 is 'shipping'?) The filling florist gets $36.84 (1-800 keeps 1/3) to fill the order and deliver it. The florist may take up to $7.99 from the order amount (1-800 does NOT send any of the $13.99 they collected for 'S&H' to the florist!). At the end of the day, the money left to cover the flowers in the "Sentimental Surprise" is a whopping $28.83...this is 42% of the $68.98 the customer paid for their "Sentimental Surprise"...So, yes, it is a SURPRISE!!!
Ever wonder why the delivered arrangement seldom looks like the picture on the Website? According to the photographer who produced many of their pictures, all of the flowers are pushed toward the camera. Remember, it is a two dimensional photo...why have flowers hidden in the back? So, the picture ALWAYS looks like it has more flowers than the piece received by the customer.
When the professional, independent florists give up and close their doors and only the Internet order gatherers are left...along with "Basement Bettys" and grocery store florists...where will you buy your flowers? At that time, they will all be universally 'cheap' and universally poor quality. Thanks for reading!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-05-11:
Ghost...I usually buy mine locally...but I have had 800-Flowers sent to me as gifts. That's why I said the Florist OR 800-flowers replaced them...If an order is through 800-flowers or a similar company, they need to know of any complaints, so they will know which florists are of the higher quality and which ones are not.

But I agree, Local florist, Mom And Pop places are much better.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
I know, DB, I used your comment as a launching platform to demonstrate why 1-800 and such are bad consumer choices. Thanks for supporting the independents!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-05-11:
I feel sooo used! LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
DC--lol (Hell's Angels Magazine, indeed). The florist provided something to keep the flowers fresher longer--but thanks for the tip (and, you too DB).

Doc J--I plan on calling the florist tomorrow--after this busy weekend--and thank them personally.

I didn't mention this, but my home is at least a 40 minute drive from this florist's business. At the price of gas, I think my son definitely got his money's worth! I also noted that this business has been a florist since 1909! There is a reason why some businesses remain for so long.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
Outstanding, dianec. Glad you will pass along the compliment. An interesting site regarding all of the comments about flower shops and order gatherers is www.flowerdetectives.com Incidentally, one of the things they warn about is that the 'in business since' is not reliable. There are many flower shops that sell their names along with the business. If they are bought by a shady chain of flower shops, they may still advertise under the original, well-known name, even though they are no longer affiliated with the original owner.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
Oooops! I provided a bad link in the above post. The web address is www.floristdetective.com
It is an outstanting site!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-05-11:
You provided us a bad link? How could you! I just added you to my trust list, and this is what you do???????? LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-11:
"You provided us a bad link? How could you! I just added you to my trust list, and this is what you do????????"
Yes. I have been very, very naughty. I must be punished. I must be soundly spanked on my bare...
Oooops! Wrong Website...ignore that.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-05-11:
Yeah..that was the website we were on lastnight...shhhh!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-12:
My, you are both very naughty! Thanks for the web site doc j. I guess I will not count on the "in business since" anymore, sob.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-05-12:
(Doc Started it!)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-12:
Not to many Florist complaints this year. Think it was last Valentine's Day the front page was loaded with them.

Good review Diane.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-12:
Thank you, super. I was wondering if sending flowers was down due to the economy? It would actually make sense. The money could be used by many for gas at this point--and I mean for the gift recipient!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.