[X]
Feedburner count

4
Helpful
Votes

Perry's Ice Cream Complaint - Perry's New Ice Cream

Review by threadbane on 2008-05-20
ROME, NEW YORK -- I recently bought a half gallon of Perry's ice cream. Since they do not accept complaints at their site (an embedded complaint), I decided to post mine here.

I have been a happy consumer of Perry's ice cream for many years. No complaints. I don't eat a lot of ice cream over the Central New York winters, so I had not encountered the new version until a couple of weeks ago. The packaging was new -- instead of the square cardboard brick, it now came in a lidded container. I did not realize the contents were equally different.

Perry's has always had a creamy texture, you know, like real ice cream. This "new and improved" concoction has a grainy texture to it. I do not believe it is a matter of having been thawed and refrozen (I got into it immediately after purchase). Just doesn't look like that it's been refrozen, and I think it's just how it is now. I suspect they have eliminated the expensive cane sugar, ie REAL sugar, and substituted some cheap fructose syrup of some sort.

I thought to myself, "At least I'll be able to make milkshakes with it." Wrong. It makes horrible milkshakes. The way it mixes up is strange now, like cellulose packaging material or something, but what's worse, it doesn't even taste good in a milkshake.

It was really good ice cream, once. Now it is lousy ice cream. I'm sure their profits will soar.
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-06-04
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
Never heard of Perry's,Is it an East Coast thing?

If I see it I will stay away,thanks for the post
Posted by Ponie on 2008-05-20:
I've never heard of Perry's. Perhaps it's a regional product. Maybe they're connected with Breyer's in some way because that's the way I feel about that ice cream. But it's always had a poor taste/texture--to me, anyway.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-05-20:
Enough, Steve. Stop posting over me. Had trouble getting in and thought it was my compputer. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
the website was acting funny a little bit ago.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
Absolutely true, Steve...first I lost power for over an hour, then when I tried to login, it just wasn't happening...

Everything seems to be alright right now, though..
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
yeah,it seems to be working fine now.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
What flavor of ice cream did you purchase?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
My sweet lil bro' Stewie, why does that matter?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
It makes all the difference in the world Sis.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
Why don't you tell me about it, pumpkin'?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
Because some of Perry's flavors are made with high fructose corn syrup while others aren't. As always being a man of the people I'm merely trying to get to the bottom of things.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20:
I gotta say truthfully, LMD, I'm certainly not a fan of high fructose corn syrup...I was not aware of this problem.
Posted by threadbane on 2008-06-04:

It was chocolate ice cream. Quite different from the ice cream it was last summer, most definitely.


Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.