[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

My Obama Store Complaint - Poor Quality, Will Not Respond

Review by Roddy on 2008-06-23
Resolution Update on 07/07/2008:
They refunded my money and let me keep the shirts. In the end, they turned out to be not so bad. They even updated their website to say "Printed in the USA" instead of "Made in the USA".
You should be leery of any posts that link to MyObamaStore.com.

I realized I was duped last week when I received my order and found that despite what their website says, their shirts are not made in the USA and not of high quality.

The shirts were made in Haiti and Nicaragua and very thin (I'd say they'd last through 1, maybe 2 washings before being destroyed).

Thus far, my four attempts to contact them and request a refund have gone unanswered.

Also of note, is their thinly veiled attempt to link themselves as linked to the Barack Obama Presidential Campaign. Please note that myobamastore.com IS NOT in anyway associated with BarackObama.com or Barack Obama's presidential campaign.

Update 3:04 p.m. 6/23/2008- Shortly after putting in this review, I received an email from myobamastore. They argued that since they purchased the shirts in the USA and then printed the Obama logo in the USA, it qualifies as "Made in the USA".

Also, they alerted me of an error I had made in my assertation that their products were not 100% cotton, which I admittedly made a mistake. The shirts, though thin and made in Central America, are, according to their label 100% cotton.

They also said they refunded my money and told me to keep the shirts (or give them away), but I have yet to see it come through on my bank statement. I will update the review again if/when that happens.

Finally, they deleted my review on http://www.merchantcircle.com/bulletins/Mobleyinc.Design.Agency.205-419-5609

Update: 10:08 a.m. 6/25/2008 - Two days after they sent an email claiming that I had been refunded, my bank has still not reflected the refund. I sent an email yesterday informing them of this, but have as yet not received a response.

Update: 1:13 p.m. 6/26/2008 - My money was refunded overnight last night. So all's well that ends well.
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-06-23
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-23:
That doesn't seem very presidential. Ah, the audacity of hope.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-23:
The web store is not connected to the campaign. I noticed that many pages such as About Us and Security have nothing in them. They are hiding behind a GoDaddy registration.
Posted by laklisa on 2008-06-23:
That is why you need to stick with McCain!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-23:
John McCain is about to turn 72. That's bothersome.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-23:
i have confidence that the american public will make the WRONG decision this November.....Mcstain
Posted by laklisa on 2008-06-23:
Lois-did you know that Ronald Regan was 70 when he took office? Just 2 years younger than McCain. Personally I don't like either, but he is the lesser evil (by a long shot in fact!)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-23:
laklisa - Well actually he was 69 when he took office but yeah he turned 70 within a couple of weeks of ascension. Also, there's every indication he had Alzheimer's while president. I think it's big gamble putting the 'button' in the hands of the geriatric. If you watch closely McCain already gets confused all the time even surrounded by handlers while getting tossed softball questions. Time will tell but I think McCain is too big of a risk.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.