[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

Classic Closeout.com Complaint - Unauthorized Charges Made

Review by Rocky J on 2008-07-21
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I placed an order with ClassicCloseout in August 2005. However, today (07/21/2008)my account was charged $69.99. I called the toll free number, but of course no one answered the line. The bank verified that my card was charged, but they can't reverse the payment until after it has posted to my account.

An officer with NYPD informed me that I would have to contact New York's Attorney General to file charges against the business. That's just great because I live in Texas.
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-08-14
Posted by madconsumer on 2008-07-21:
once it has cleared, your bank can handle it. once they contact the store, they will have to prove you did make a recent purchase, and the item has shipped.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-21:
This is at least the 5th exact complaint Ihave read about this compnay on various consumer sites in the last few days.

Clearly, they are up to something shady.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-22:
According to another consumer forum there have been thousands of complaints against Classic Closeout. No one seems to know why or has been forthcoming as to the reason their systems suddenly placed charges on almost all the customers they had. Supposedly Visa and Mastercard are reversing the charges once customers notify them.
Posted by Kims on 2008-08-05:
Hi, I also faced this $69.99 fraud, twice!!! Unfortunately, last time I skipped $69.99 credit charge on my card. Today, when scanning thru the transactions made on my card I noticed this. Tried so many times calling this store, but no use. No body pics ur call. I contacted my bank and they have filed a dispute case. I have also registered a complaint againt this stire at http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx.

Do you think I will get my 69.99+69.99 dollars back??
Posted by sodeep on 2008-08-14:
Keep disputing the charges folks. I did the same . After disputing it do not be surprised if they rebill a higher amount. Here's my experience

I bought something from classic closeouts in 2007 and in June (06/26/08) I saw a transaction for $69.99 which I have no clue about. So I went ahead and disputed the charge and got my money refunded by chase but lo and behold the next month I see a new charge on my credit card for $79.99. I called up the chase customer service for some advice and they told me that if they rebilled you without contesting the earlier dispute then chances are that they do not want to contest the dispute. I was advised to keep disputing the charges until they finally give in. I tried their(classiccloseout) number 516-5381616 but after leaving 2 voicemails , on my third attempt I got a message saying that their number is not in service (within an hours time of leaving the earlier voicemails). So now I just wait for the end of the month to hit the dispute button :)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.