1
Helpful
Votes

Conagra Informative - Advertising Fraud - Banquet Pot Pies

Review by WINTERWOLF on 2008-07-24
HANFORD, CALIFORNIA -- The box that the .58 Cent 7 oz. pot pie comes in is deceptive advertising.

The box shows the pot pie split open and white chicken chunks boiling out of the pie.

In truth, there is no white chicken meat in Conagra's banquet pot pies. They are using cheaper dark chicken meat and passing off the box ad as using white chicken meat.

I am going to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission for advertising fraud.

Winterwolf
Comments:40 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-07-24
Posted by bargod on 2008-07-24:
Someone's finally going to blow the lid off the whole chicken pot pie scandel. Let's bring these fat cats to their knees.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2008-07-24:
I wonder if those dark meat chickens are border jumpers that are willing to be eaten for less money than the white chickens?
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
I'm running out right now to put in a supply of these pot pies. Don't like white meat in them--it's too dry to me. With my luck, all the two dozen or so boxes I'll pick up will be loaded with white meat. Bummer!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
what do expect for .58 cents?I'd be suprised if it was actually "meat" in them things.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Steve, now you've killed my desire for a chicken(?) pot pie. That's OK, though. Look at all the money I've saved--probably in excess of $12! I really question anything contained in Banquet products. Tried them a couple of times. My opinion? Yuck!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
Ponie,glad I could help.LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
Wolf, the FTC? Why not call the FBI as well regarding all this flap about a pot pie that you bought for half a buck? I guess you expect to see filet mignon in you beef pie right? (NH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
All of this for a .58 cent product? This guy is obviously trying to yank a few chains. This is not a real complaint and should be removed.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
Wow, what do you expect for .58 cents? If you want a good pot pie, frozen one at least, try either Marie Callednar's (sp) or Peppridge Farm (sp). They are pretty expensive, but for a frozen pot pie they are pretty good. Especially Marie Callendar's. You get what you pay for, you can't expect to pay peanuts and get fillet mignon.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Princi, stop spoiling all our fun! :)
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Princi, stop spoiling all our fun! :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
Marie Callednar's, #1 in my book. Sure hope the never screw with it. You can get them at our local Costco now. Love them over steamed rice.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Princi, stop spoiling all our fun! :)
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
LOL super! They are good, and it is honestly one of the few frozen prepared foods I will eat. I bought a bag of Tyson frozen chicken breast tenderloins from Costco last month and made those for the kids for lunch today, I have to say for frozen breaded chicken they were really good. It was actually chicken not that pressed chicken tasting sytro foam.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Princi, stop spoiling all our fun! :)
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
LOL Ponie! I'm waiting for the complaint about ramen noodles being too salty and unhealthy for you!
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Princi, stop spoiling all our fun! :)
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
Fine I get the hint! :)
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
What the heck? Why did that post so many times? Princi, those ramen noodles sure come in handy at times. I've heard the college kids load up on them for $$ reasons. A few months ago I went into my friendly Dollar Tree and they were actually selling a case of TWELVE for $1. I wanted two cases--but they limited me to only one--darn. They've sure come in handly when I need something really quick. I just don't put in the whole envelope of 'seasonings.'
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
LOL! When we were dirt poor, we would make two meals out of ramens! Use the noodles and half a pack of seasoning, and then the other half the packet with rice and some veggies. There was a point where we were feeding 3 people for 80.00 a month! Those really did come in handy sometimes. My little brother just started living on his own and he buys them by the case as well.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
In college I use to eat ramen noodles mixed with a can sweet peas. The total cost was about forty cents.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Ramen noodles and sweet peas? Hey, that sounds good. Did you put in the whole pack of seasonings? The sweetness of the peas would probably cut through the salt. Will have to try that some time. Never knew My3C could be a good source for recipes. Hope this posts just once. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
LOL, you're kidding, right? A rant about a .58 pot pie? Gimme a break... I agree with Principissa. You can't pay peanuts and get a filet mignon. Next time, try Marie Callendar's or Pepperidge Farm. Don't buy Conagra or Banquet. They may be cheap, but you get what you pay for.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
Ponie I have a really simple recipe for macaroni and peas. No ramens in it though. I can give the recipe if you like!
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Princi, sure would love it, especially if it's quick. Can you IM me? Thanx muchly!
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
Sure will! :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
Princi, could you please hook me up with that one too? Thanks.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
LOL, I'll post it in the community forum for whoever wants it! I should just put my whole recipe box in there for everyone, I got some good meals that could feed a family of five for a buck or less per person!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
That would certainly be a blessing.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-07-24:
Lois that is probably the nicest thing you've ever said to me!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
I can beat that! .58 x 5 = $2.90
That leaves $2.10 for a bag of macaroni. The peas are already in the pies.
Ta da! Mac and peas, carrots, an unknown meat product, and a flaky crust for under a buck a head.

Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Contrary, good one! I have only one objection: I don't like the crust. I guess it's the gravy thing. Don't care for hot beef/turkey, etc., sandwiches either--unless they're served sans gravy. Go to the Community Board side to see Principissa's recipe. Great! I've already come up with my twists on it.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Contrary, good one! I have only one objection: I don't like the crust. I guess it's the gravy thing. Don't care for hot beef/turkey, etc., sandwiches either--unless they're served sans gravy. Go to the Community Board side to see Principissa's recipe. Great! I've already come up with my twists on it.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-07-24:
Contrary, good one! I have only one objection: I don't like the crust. I guess it's the gravy thing. Don't care for hot beef/turkey, etc., sandwiches either--unless they're served sans gravy. Go to the Community Board side to see Principissa's recipe. Great! I've already come up with my twists on it.
Posted by cherpep on 2008-07-24:
Wow, Ponie really likes go get her points across today! :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
Thanks Ponie! I did hear you the first time though. :)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-07-24:
Poni...if Prinic is ruining all of your fun...you should tell her to stop.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-07-24:
I love Ramen Noodles...but I don't make it as a noodle soup. I boil the noodles, drain them then add a spoon of butter and the flavor packet...stir it up to get the flavor throughout and eat it like that...it's really the best way to eat it!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-24:
DB,rick left
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-07-24:
isn't it amazing how the simplest things can go on and on?
shows where the really important things are.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.