2
Helpful
Votes

Universal Nissan Complaint - Free Gas Incentive Seems To Be A Scam!

Review by jenimela on 2008-07-26
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I received an invitation from Universal Nissan to test drive a vehicle along with a lottery-style ticket entitling me to a $100 gas card. I drove an hour to visit Nissan and test drove two vehicles. I was not able to agree on a price, so I did not buy. I received a voucher for the so-called free gas card, and upon trying to follow the instructions, was directed to something called Free Bee Gas. The directions to redeem this card are ridiculous! I have to pay $5 either by Paypal (unconfirmed website through the Free Bee Gas) or send a money order, choose one specific gas station, then spend $100 each month at that station to qualify. Then, each month, I have to send my $100 in receipts to the Free Bee address in order to get a $25 gas card each month. Supposedly, on the fourth month, the inital $5 will be refunded in a $30 card instead of $25. This is way too much trouble for what appeared to be a nice idea of free gas.

Moreover, I have called the dealership for two days and have left my name and number for sales manager(s), with no return call, although the associates always claim the managers were with customers and would get right back with me. Unless proven otherwise, I believe this is a scam, and a shameless one in light of the hardships with gas these days. Shame on you, Universal!

Should I ever go to buy a car, it will be far away from your dealership!
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-09-28
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-26:
Pohanka Chrysler in Leesburg, VA is doing the same thing. We received an email stating a $300 gas card just for test driving any new vehicle. They insisted over the phone that "Yes, it's a real $300 card good at any gas station". After test driving we were handed a certificate with the exact same instructions as the OP complains about. When we said the certificate is not for a $300 gas card they just laughed. A complaint for fraud will soon be filed with the State of Virginia.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-26:
These gas scams are going to be coming out of the woodwork now. Read the fine print anytime someone says something is free.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-26:
I'd like to give you some free advice here,

But I can't!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-07-26:
Call the dealership and leave a message that you have found a car there that you're interested in and need more info on it...I bet you'll get a callback within ten mintues...once you've got them on the phone...tell them what's on your mind...an eye for an eye...
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2008-07-26:
What I have not heard is the fact that the poster was actually going there to purchase a car, or are they like the majority who show up with no intention of buying a car and just want the free gas instead. Are there still people who believe ANYTHING that a car dealer advertises?.
Posted by Jimmyr on 2008-08-13:
So let's see. You have to buy $100 worth of gas each month (which you probably do) and if you send in the receipts you get a $25 gas card each month.

Yeah...I see your point. I'd rather just pay the $4 a gallon for gas and whine about it instead of getting a 25% discount on my first $100 worth of gas each month.

Get real. Ever hear of mail in rebates? That's what this is.
Posted by THE final word on 2008-08-28:
Right on Jimmyr! I buy plenty of items which are advertised as "free" from Office Depot.... my net cost is free when I pay for the item and then mail in the rebate along with MY RECEIPT. It is no big deal! It is 42 cents well spent on a stamp.

I don't know about others , but I pay at the pump and receive a receipt right there, right on the spot. I don't even have to go into the store. There is zero inconveniece in obtaining a receipt.

Spending $100 a month on gas? I spend that a week! That is exactly two fill ups a month at today's gas prices. Personally, I don't know anyone who goes to a job who doesn't fill up at least once a week. I think that if you check your offer you will find that the $100 a month in receipts is per household to boot.

THE final word - The businesses who are offering these completely legit offers should be applauded for attempting to provide consumers with something they can really use, FREE GAS, instead of a toaster or a flashlight like I just saw a local bank offering. In today's economy, businesses who don't reach out to consumers with new, exciting, out of the box, ways to gain your business, may very well find themselves having to lock up shop. Think about the impact that would have on the families of every every employee who works there, the loss of taxes paid by the business, and the economic impact of the lost wages no longer being spent in the local economy. Wow! $100.00 of free gas in four months. Can I get that for life!
Posted by RDH on 2008-09-28:
The fact that this is a rebate is NOT the problem. The way the dealership is handling the concerns of the OP is. And the fact that the dealership is using Free Bee Gas certificates is a huge problem. But, maybe the dealership didn't do too much research into that company.

They (whatever name the redemption company is going by) are NOT providing the gas cards after sending in your receipts. They have not been for months now. And I personally don't think they ever will.

Here is another discussion (2 pages worth) about the whole thing.

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/secure-gas-redemption-c73565.html

And they are under investigation by the FL State Attorney General too:

http://myfloridalegal.com/lit_ec.nsf/investigations/413FC15DB9CFC85385257488004EDACB

If the right company is offering the rebate it works. I know from experience. But stay away from offers from Tidewater Marketing Global Consultants, Inc., FreeGasRedemption.com, Freebiegas.com, FreeBeeGas.com and any other site that looks like that. You will never see your rebates.
Posted by RDH on 2008-09-28:
And they are under investigation by the FL State Attorney General too:

http://myfloridalegal.com/lit_ec.nsf/investigations/413FC15DB9CFC85385257488004EDACB

I agree with THE final word... If the right company is offering the rebate it works. I know from experience. I got a new Mitsubishi and the company offering that rebate sends me my $25 gas card every month. But stay away from offers from Tidewater Marketing Global Consultants, Inc., FreeGasRedemption.com, Freebiegas.com, FreeBeeGas.com and any other site that looks like that. You will never see your gas cards.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.