1
Helpful
Votes

Cal-Alta Auto Glass Complaint - Damage To Vehicle While In For Service

Review by kmcauley on 2008-08-06
CALGARY -- Upon arriving to pick up my car that Cal-Alta was replacing the windshield on I noticed that there was damage to the rear bumper that was not there when I left it with them a few hours earlier. They refused to acknowledge any responsibility for the damage even though they stated that many other vehicles had been damaged in that very "Public Lot" over the years where they park all vehicles after servicing.

They neglected to tell me this when they happily accepted my business earlier in the day. It is my opinion that any vehicle left with them is in their care until it is picked up by the owner and therefore they should have either held it in a more secure area or at least advised that they have a no fault policy and they parking lot is not safe. Their only response beyond refusal of responsibility was to tell me they'd see me in court if that was what I wanted to do...not what you would expect from a company that flaunts their "Consumer Choice Award from the Better Business Bureau?

It is now my belief that the BBB award was strictly based on the fact that they simply undercut the competitions prices. Not always the best way to decide on a vendor. BEWARE!!!
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-07-19
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-07:
A reputable business would have disclosed all of that information to you ahead of time, including whether or not they would be responsible if your vehicle was damaged while in the public lot. Does this public lot have security cameras? Maybe you should take them up on their threat and see them in court.
Posted by kmcauley on 2008-08-09:
Cal-Alta Auto Glass has now contacted me to advise that because I have complained about them that they are going to come to my house and repossess the windshield I paid for!!! How bizarre?
Posted by KarenCal on 2008-08-09:
Hello. I am the General Manager of Cal-Alta Auto Glass. I have left a few messages with this man and he did not return any of my calls. This man is unreasonable. I have worked with Cal-Alta for almost 20 years and in any case where we are at fault or not we always help our customer. In this particular case we are 100% not at fault. I was more than willing to help this man out but his ignoral of my calls and the fact that he decided to defame our good name has made me have a change of heart. He is definatly one of those people that wants something for nothing. Would you sue your local supermarket for someone on hitting your car? I think not. We are not responsible for public parking lots. I thought I had heard it all and now this. On a side note there is actually a notice at our North location stating we are not responsible for fire, theft or damage to vehicles when not in our care, and a public parking lot is not in our care. Although a nice idea we would have been unable to babysit your car for the almost two hours after the job was completed and left by you in the parking lot.

Sincerely,

Karen
Posted by KarenCal on 2008-08-26:
As a note on this matter the BBB has reviewed and dismissed Mr. McAuley's case and ruled in favour of Cal Alta.
Posted by MRM on 2008-08-26:
Hip Hip Hooray! This case is now closed!
Posted by LisaMcPherson on 2010-07-19:
Oh my...

With all due respects to KarenCal, I'll take my business elsewhere.

It seems this business is turning up in many online complaints and I cannot for the life of me ignore that. No wonder anyone can get in without waiting... as a waiting list is usually a sign of a good reputation!

Ciao :-)
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-07-19:
Problem is with the BB is they get their money from companies, not the complainants. Who do ya think they are going to support?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.