[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Option 1 Realty Complaint - Failed To Return Security Deposit

Review by GMM on 2008-08-31
ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT do business with Option 1 Realty, Anton Anthony or his wife. They took our $950 security deposit, charges us $17.95 for a credit report through their website, then made us provide our own when the website was down and said we WOULDN'T be charged. Did not show up for the lease signing and had called our real estate agent 60 minutes prior to tell her we wouldn't get the house.

Then REFUSED TO REFUND SECURITY DEPOSIT saying it would take 30 days. We signed no documents indicating that and Georgia law states it is due immediately if the lease isn't executed. He refuses to return phone calls and has stopped all communication and we still don't have our money.

They are frauds. RUN in the opposite direction! Renter/purchasers beware!!
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-09-01
Posted by moneybags on 2008-08-31:
Contact the Georgia Real Estate Commission. File a complaint. Also, contatct the DA re: a theft by fraud charge and/or criminal theft charges. The RE Comm.can revoke the RE license which can conceivably shut down the business.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-31:
A fast way to get your money back might be small claims court. You can get them for all the fee's and maybe more if you craft a really good small claims suit.
Posted by GMM on 2008-08-31:
Thanks. We are contacting the GA REC first thing on Tuesday when they open. Have filed an FCC complaint as well. These scammers have to be stopped before anyone else loses their money.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-31:
I hope you get your money back and fast. It's a shame that you have to go through all of this trouble and don't have use of the money while they have it. Just out of curiosity, what will the FCC do to help? I thought they were strictly for communication type of complaints.
Posted by GMM on 2008-09-01:
That should read FTC! :o) Federal Trade Commission. Note to self: check spelling next time.

Thanks for the advice everyone.
Posted by madconsumer on 2008-09-01:
contact the local housing authority.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-01:
Ahhh, got it GMM. I usually don't spell check but all of the acronyms out there... :)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.