5
Helpful
Votes

Hormel Compleats Compliment - Not Bad! - Roast Beef with Gravy and Mashed Potatoes

Review by 15910 on 2008-09-23
USA, COLORADO -- Hormel Compleats - Roast Beef with Gravy and Mashed PotatoesAs we all know TV Dinners from the grocer's frozen food section can be dicey and you can be easily fooled by the picture on the box especially quantity wise with "3 bean medleys" and such so just imagine what I was thinking when I tried this meal that is in the same aisle that you would find say, boxes of "Hamburger Helper" meals. It doesn't even need to be refrigerated!

Anyway, I 'nuke' it for about two minutes then said a long prayer before trying this mummified beef but I was pleasantly surprised by the taste.

The texture of the beef was kind of gritty like liver, but it was beef. The gravy was a tad too salty for me but for about $2.50 for a 10 ounce serving, I was satisfied considering what it was.

In my opinion, Hormel makes pretty good food. From their vast varieties of SPAM to their Sausages like Pepperoni.

I wouldn't expect anyone to run out and purchase this for dinner but for a quick meal you can't beat it.
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-09-23
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-09-23:
Torpedoes away and gimmie a C for crowded Alex, zz hits another home run with a great food review. Just remember, the bean medley isn't getting smaller, you're just getting..well, you know the rest.
Posted by bargod on 2008-09-23:
Sounds great for those nights when you come home drunk from the bar and are too hammered to make anything complex or can't wait for pizza delivery(I tend to fall asleep before it arrives anyway)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
I got to agree with both of you and thanks!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
Excellent as always Zz. May the flock run to this review and vote it it's just reward! After reading about the perils of frozen TV dinner pictures like yourself I now stay clear of them. You sending out those IM's yet?

Hormel Compleats Compliment, Ejack will rate this Hormel as high as a five star general.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
*LOL*^^^^^
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-09-23:
Actually I wasn't going to vote here because I just made that speech yesterday about the most helpful reviews never getting the votes because non-regs post them, but why shouldn't this get a helpful nod. I've seen far less help and far more poor clich├ęs grab green via the same sympathetic clique vote. Viva la VH!!
Posted by Nohandle on 2008-09-23:
Splendid review ZZ. Most Splendid. I might just trot out and get one for myself.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
I just googled these things,they look nasty.There is a few pics of opened containers showing the contents,NASTY!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-09-23:
I agree with Slim's comment yesterday...we shouldn't vote a review helpful based only on the member who wrote it. So, I think I will start following that bit of advice, uh...starting NOW!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-09-23:
ZZ I am Sooo disappointed in you! Shame on you! Shame! Shame! Lips that touch Hormel will never touch mine!

Alright guys...you don't have to all go running for the Hormel products now!

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-09-23:
I'm just thankful he didn't post the picture!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
Gracias to all!!
DB, when I see HORMEL products, I think of you!
TW, I tried to post a pic on here.
Addy?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
DB,google the pic of the chili.It looks like what I deposited into my toilet this morning...but worse!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-09-23:
ADDY!!!!!!!! Tell him it won't post!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-09-23:
No Thanks Steve...Pirate gave me a link to the Hormel Compleats the other day....once was enough for me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
why did Pirate give you the link,are you a secret Hormel fan
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-09-23:
Not exactly!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
What is Pirate giving you a link for "compleats?" You can't cook that stuff on his Ducane!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
Concise, informative and distinctively zzrokk. That's enough for me to give a 'VH'. Good job!

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
Thanks, TAFKAS.
Posted by Nohandle on 2008-09-23:
Let's face it, if the product is on the grocery shelf right by the Hamburger Helper, I'm for just eating it right out of the box. Forget the microwave. Grab a portion and eat it there in the car. I think you are really onto something here. Thanks again for a splendid review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-23:
I guess you could do that, NH.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.