Mercantila / Bunkbed Superstore Complaint - Bunkbed Superstore Scam

Review by momsanurse on 2008-10-14
SANFRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I recently made a "purchase" with BunkBed Superstore, a subsidiary of mercantila, on 9/24 for $699. The website says that it takes 1-2 weeks to ship; the latest my beds should ship would be 10/8. After 10/8 passed I started to worry because I hadn't received any tracking information. I sent several emails to the company and never got a response. I called the number on their website only to have an automated message tell me that they do not speak about processed orders on the phone and to contact them though email! I started investigating online and found that this company's accreditation from the BBB was revoked in August; many similar complaints have been listed online from customers that have not received their items. I finally got though to a 'customer service' rep yesterday from Mercantila after calling the number on their website and acting as if I was placing an order...got connected directly to a representative!

'Art' told me that they were having a backlog of orders and did not know when my bunkbeds would ship. He would call me today once he found out...never did he call me or email me. I have launched an investigation through Visa and PayPal...

Thank goodness I made my purchase through paypal or the damage could have been worse!
Company Response on 11/24/2009:

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

I'm truly sorry that you've had a bad experience with Mercantila, but I'd love a chance to hear about what went wrong with your order so that I can prevent it from happening to other customers. If you would, please reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com with any information you wish to provide, and I'll do whatever I can to help resolve or address your concerns.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,


Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.