[X]

2
Helpful
Votes

New Horizons Group Complaint - Immigration Services Not What They Seem

Review by Hayes on 2008-11-03
SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- NEW HORIZONS GROUP runs an immigration service obtaining visas for people entering the US. They are based in Sarasota, Florida. Over the last several years they have taken hundreds of thousands of dollars from couples and individuals with the promise that this money will be invested in one of his companies and that he will pay monthly interest payments and then the capital will be repaid in an agreed period of time. The money 'lent' to them is secured against a Promissory Note. Initially the interest payments are made but then they stop and you are told that they can neither make the interest payments nor return the capital. Sarasota County Court records show that one person is owed $250,000, another $175,000, and I am currently owed in excess of $100,000. A previous employee has vouched for the fact that there are many others who 'invested' and cannot afford to go through the courts to get their money back.

So if you are thinking about trying to obtain a Visa through this company be very aware that this is going to cost you a great deal more money than the costs they quote up front.

You need to be aware that it could cost you well over $100,000 and you will not be told this at the outset.
Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-11-04
Posted by madconsumer on 2008-11-03:
immigration or investment?
i am confused here ....

if this is an investment scam, we locally had one of these and people who "wanted" huge returns on their investment fell for the scam. these greedy poeple ar eoffered huge returns on their dollars, only to find out later they were scammed.

is the from a man called luis rivas?
Posted by Hayes on 2008-11-03:
No its nothing like that. Interest on the money was less than 6.5% with the original capital to be repaid in my case 2 years later - so no huge gains. Little did I know this guy has been doing this for years and never repays the capital to anyone it appears as currently there are several people owed several hundred thousand dollars. Don't worry though as you can imagine he is living the life! I don't believe I am allowed to post his name but a Google search of the company will reveal it but it is not the name you give.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-11-03:
Hayes, Your post is not making sense, you are talking about immigration visas and switch over to and investment scheme.
You need to explain what you are talking about.
An investment to get a visa?
Posted by Hayes on 2008-11-03:
I am not sure what doesn't make sense. Forget the immigration visas - that is just what this company is trading as - they are not making their money doing visas but instead taking money from the clients. As a sidenote you can make an investment in one of his companies. The point is they are taking hundreds of thousands of dollars from people and supposedly investing it and then not paying interest nor returning the capital as per the terms of the Promissory Note. Its just a straight up scam - nothing complicated.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-11-03:
face it, you got scammed on immigration or investment...contact your state's AG to see what is going on, but you better be able to explain it better to them than you have done here.
Posted by Hayes on 2008-11-03:
If you just want me to admit I was scammed then yes you have it I was. However, I had hoped this site had more use than that and that one could put this information out there so that others don't make the same mistake I did. Anyone who wants further proof/details then it is all in the Public Records on the Sarasota County Court web site. Hopefully others can benefit from this posting.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-11-03:
Welcome to M3C, but you have to understand:
We all here sympathize with you hayes, but here is how it works, you provide the details. We are not going to google it, not going to search records...that is up to you to provide.
You have still not explained how the immigration and investment thing go hand in hand and exactly what the problem is.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-11-03:
I agree with jktshff1. If you are going to take the time to make a post, take the time to give all of the facts in a way that makes sense. This post is in no way helpful to anyone if you are suggesting that we google or research records. You provide the info that you feel is pertinent and if we choose to research on our own, fine. But we are not the ones that should do the intial research to figure out what your complaint is about.
Posted by Hayes on 2008-11-03:
Apologies if this makes no sense to you. I have now explained it several times and I have no idea what you do not understand. The company scams people out of hundreds of thousands of dollars. If you want proof then you can get it via the court records. I cannot post that information on here. Unfortunately one cannot possibly post all the details on this site which is why I have to suggest that you do in fact search the court records if this post is relevant to you. If its not then don't bother. This complaint is no different to many others on this site - ie you only have the opinion of the poster - you have to do more research yourself and clearly cannot just go with one person's opinion. I have tried to warn and that is all I can do.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-11-03:
1. No, we don't have to do more research ourselves, it is up to the poster to provide the information.
2. Yes, you can post links, and more information, there is not a "limit" as to the content of your post.
3. This complaint is different in the sense that you have still not explained immigration or investment and what one has to do with the other.
4. You have not explained or posted information relevant to your complaint.
5. If you do not understand the above or the responses to the complaint, I can understand how this all came about and your inability to comprehend what is being laid out in plain English to you and how you came to get in the predicament you are in now.
6. Good Luck
Posted by Hayes on 2008-11-03:
Jktsff1 - in response

1. If you do not want to do more research that is up to you. I do not have to provide you with any further information. If the report is not conclusive enough then you will no doubt choose to ignore it.
2. It is quite straightforward for someone to link in with the Sarasota County Court records should they so wish.
3. Your question is irrelevant to the complaint about money being taken with no intention of being returned.
4. What more is there to say than the company took money which it has not repaid? There are only so many ways you can say the same thing.
5. It is you who choose not to understand the above. I know how this occurred and I am trying to warn people against this company. You seem to be trying to stop me. This is not some make believe story - as I have now stated several times there are Court records which prove what I am saying.
6. There is no need to insult me - Yes I was scammed so yes as you say obviously I am stupid but sadly not the first and no doubt won't be the last. I had hoped reporting my experience would serve as a warning to others but you seem intent on discrediting me. So I give up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-11-03:
Jkt, Hayes invested money in some alleged scam company that provides VISA services (New Horizons Group). Hayes never did say that this company was or was not providing the VISA services only that it was not returning the investment promised to those that chose to invest in it.

Yes, Hayes posted a very convoluted post mixing up a VISA service company and an alleged investment scheme. But I think we got it now, Hayes is upset that he was possibly ripped off investing into New Horizons Group. Hayes, I guess the million dollar question is did you do any background research on this guy before you gave him the money? Also, does New Horizons Group do what they are paid to do by their clients?
Posted by Hayes on 2008-11-03:
Superbowl - THANK YOU! You summed it up right and I am sorry for my original post being confusing but yes you have it right.
Yes, the guy was known to me and speaking to others who have had the same experience he was known to them too.
As far as your other question goes - like any other immigration company I think they have their share of successes and failures which is understandable as everyone's circumstances are different. But again my complaint is not about the services they offer but the fact they entered into an agreement and have not repaid the money and speaking to others it appears who have been down this road they have no intention of repaying the money.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-11-04:
thanks for clearing that up super.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-11-04:
Super, best answer! :)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.