4
Helpful
Votes

Ganz Complaint - Poorly Run Website - Webkinz.com

Review by auntiebethie on 2008-11-24
WOODBRIDGE, ONTARIO, -- My daughter has received several Webkinz toys. Included in the price of the stuffed animal is ta code which allows children to participate in the Webkinz.com Webkinz World.

Unfortunately the website is almost impossible to enter. I have (without exaggeration) often tried twenty times in succession only to be confronted with either a Please Wait.... message or the message that "Our servers are not functioning, please try later".

The access to utilize the website is part of the cost of each animal and the company should be able to provide this service to each purchaser! I have begun to encourage my daughter to collect stuffed animals other than Webkinz pets as the company has failed to give what has been expected.

To anyone considering purchasing a Webkinz for your child, I advise looking at other animals as an alternative. Money spent on Webkinz pets is wasted!
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2013-06-05
Posted by TGT101 on 2008-11-24:
I don't think this post will scare anyone away from buying webkinz. Kids want webkinz.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-11-24:
Not only that, but how do you know you don't have an internet connection problem?
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-11-24:
That message wouldn't come up C. if it wasn't the website's issue. I have to agree here. It's not rocket science today to keep a website up and running. Here's a company that includes features accessible only from it in the purchase price of their toys. For goodness sake, go buy a a decent server and pay a web geek or two to keep it up and running.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2008-11-25:
From what I've read, the company was unprepared for the volume of traffic the site received and are working to correct it. Funny, how you read something that means nothing to you and it get's filed away till someone mentions it.
Posted by spiderman2 on 2008-11-25:
The Webkinz site goes down rather frequently for upgrade, which seem to cause more problems. Wait until Christmas and the week after. If it is like in past years, the kids get webkinz as presents and then you can't access the site for a week because no one at Ganz seems to get that they will be really busy on the biggest gift giving day of the year and their servers can't handle it. My kids used to love Webkinz, but the computer issues have really turned them off of it.
Posted by Sparticus on 2008-11-25:
From what I read this site is pretty big time... they get millions of kids on this place monthly...
Posted by auntiebethie on 2009-01-29:
Actually, itis not an internet problem. It is the website being unable to accomodate due to enormous volume.
I contacted the Better Business Bureau in Canada (Ganz is a Canadian company) about this issue and was contacted several times directly by a representative from Ganz. She told me they were trying to fix the problem and expected to have it fixed by Christmas 2008.
It is now February and we experience the same problems during peak time. I can get onto Webkinz World easily when the kids are in school.
Here is the response I received from the BBB:
Complaint ID#: 1185367
Business Name: Ganz

We have received your most recent correspondence in the above-mentioned complaint case.

You have indicated that you are NOT satisfied with the business' response in the matter.

The business has not made any further concessions to their original response.

Unfortunately, your BBB can not pursue the matter further. This complaint case is now considered closed as UNRESOLVED.

Your BBB develops and maintains Reliability Reports on companies in our service area. This information is available to the public and is frequently used by potential customers. The company's level of cooperation in resolving to this complaint becomes a part of their file with your BBB.

May we suggest contacting The Ministry of Government Services at 1-800-889-9768 or www.mgs.gov.on.ca if you wish to pursue this matter further.


Sincerely,
Fiona Dunbar
Complaint Administrator
BBB
Complaint Department
fiona@bbbmwo.ca

I suggest that anyone experiencing problems with the website file a complaint.
Posted by werewolfgail on 2013-05-31:
I have like 100 things wrong!!!! help okay 1st is... well i got on webkinz one day because i have deluxe and i should have 3,000 ganz e store points each month and i didnt get any points in Feb. march april then i got some points in may so i should have 12,000
Posted by werewolfgail on 2013-05-31:
secondly is you know i like it the old way where nothing was deluxe you could chat your own words in the kinzville park and i want you to change it now!!!!!!!!!!! back to the old way my friend thinks so to!!!
Posted by werewolfgail on 2013-05-31:
thirdly is deluxe is taking over every thing even if i am! okay its adding more pets every body wants. and like all of the arcade games are for deluxe. and you have to pay tooooooo much for it. and i owe my mom 15.00$! and i got my deluxe pacage late. and i dont have enough ganz e store points to get what i want and yall are just trying to get the money! and rubbing it in peoples faces who dont have deluxe and some people dont have enough money for it and it makes those people feel left out and sad some even cry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted by werewolfgail on 2013-05-31:
fourthly You keep changing every thing me and my best friend dont like it alot of people have dropped off of webkinz! my friend recently dropped off too! i just get on to see if i have mail to feed my pet or get him ready if there is a special occasion to go to! we like it the old way(repeat several even 1,000 times) so if you dont get it the old way i am going to stop webkinz and never get on it again! so lose everybody and be mean about it or go about it the old way when people payed and wanted to pay and kids where more happy and had better service and more people didnt drop off or would you like it this way(the hard way)
Posted by werewolfgail on 2013-06-05:
Please call or text the Ministry of Government!!!!! Why arnt yall messaging back! do so now!
Posted by rainbowgail on 2013-06-05:
I don't want to be mean but here is what I have to say:





Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.