[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

MHS Home Warranty Complaint - HMS: Giving you the finger over the phone

Review by social worker on 2008-12-31
NEWARK, DELAWARE -- On 12/14/08 the fan in our furnace would not work if it was on auto, only if it was on. The heat would still start and stop but the fan wouldn't. On 12/15/08 my husband called HMS to get someone to look at it. They left a message with the person and we did to. They didn't call back until 12/18/08 and told us it was the "board". He would order it tomorrow (Friday 12/19/08 but it wouldn't be in until 12/26 and they couldn't install it until 12/29. On 12/22 (3 days before Christmas), we woke up to a house that was 52 degrees. The heater was not working at all. We called the contractor and of course he never called back. We called HMS and they kept telling us the part was ordered. We kept telling them it was a different problem: we had no heat, it was 35 degrees out and I had a 7 year old at home. We asked if we could call someone and they said "no" because they weren't on the "list". (Apparently they only work with morons). After yelling at HMS, she comes on the phone and says that she checked the temperature in our area and because it was less than 40 degrees, we could have an emergency call. She left a message with the same contractor who refused to call us back.

When telling HMS that they said well the part is not in yet. I explained that I had a different problem. The problem was that I had NO HEAT. "I'm sorry there is nothing I can do. We have approved overtime". Overtime for what???? As I write this, we have been without heat for 10 days and now I have a sick child at home. They will not reimburse me for the ceramic heaters I had to buy at $50 a pop. They will not pay my electric bill, which I'm afraid to open when it comes. The contractor called 2 days ago to tell me the part wasn't in and "he doesn't know what to tell me". I can't write what I said to him because it wouldn't be appropriate but suffice it to say, his ears were probably ringing when I got done. This morning it was 45 degrees in my house. There is one small ceramic heating in my bedroom keeping my daughter and husband warm. We have another heater on low so our dogs have some warm downstairs.

We didn't pay for the home warranty, we got it at settlement. However, what good is it doing me. My brother's girlfriend who has the same furnace and had the same problem had it fixed in 2 days buy a local company that I can't use because it's "not on the list"

This company sucks and I am taking my complaints further up the line. I will make sure more people hear about how well I've been treated.
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-01-29
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-31:
All these home warranty companies are ripoffs. I wish the feds would step in and bind them to their obligations. They have a way to weasel out of honoring every needed repair. Right now they are hoping you will give up and hire someone to repair it yourself. If anyone ever does show back up, somehow, someway, they will get you to cough up extra money. Been there, done that.
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2008-12-31:
I have a home warranty through Old Republic. We had a problem with our dishwasher not turning on. I went to the website filled out the claim form and 20 minutes later I received a call from a appliance company asking if they could come out tommorrow and look at it. By 11am the next day it was fixed and working like new. Not all home warranty companies are a ripoff you just have to do your research and find a reputable one
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-31:
I'm glad to hear a positive experience Guy. In the case of the OP and myself, and like many others, the warranty came with the home purchase and there is no research to be done.
I believe that is what causes the biggest problem, because they no longer have to deal with the person they took the money from. They just have to blow off the guy with the issues.
Posted by trysharu on 2009-01-12:
We had a similar situation when our AC failed last summer. File a complaint with your State Atty General consumer complaints division...they were able to mediate for us (at no cost) and HMS is finally paying on their claim.
Posted by social worker on 2009-01-29:
Unfortunately, we didn't have the option. when we bought the house, this is the company the seller chose. I wrote the BBB to complain and they said that the insurance co. has yet to respond.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.