4
Helpful
Votes

Burger Basket Complaint - I Ordered A Chef Salad Not A Meat Feast

Review by preciousjane1984 on 2009-01-22
PHELAN, CALIFORNIA -- Today I went to Burger Basket. I had there chef salad, it was really disgusting!!! It had watered down lettuce, nasty smoked ham, flavorless turkey, cheese, and like a pound of some mysterious meat on top of it that they call roast beef, I really think it was cow tongue yuck!!! It was more of a meat feast then a salad, it didn't even have a boiled egg in it. I know every restaurant makes there salads different but this one was over the top with that mysterious meat, Ill never be eating there watered down salads again.

They also have slow service.
Comments:38 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-01-22
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
1) How do you water down LETTUCE?
2) Why would you go to a burger joint for a salad?
3) How did you like the tongue?
4) Was it "chewy?"
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Yuck. A chef salad from a burger joint ?

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Kind of like ordering Chinese from a Mexican fast food stand. Ordering a burger may have been the better choice. This is the 2nd review from phelan this week, phelan must really be growing from what I remember of it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Supes, the citizens from Phelan are a hard bunch to please, huh?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
LOL, sounds like a bad place to open a fast food joint anyway.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
I love quizzes

1) How do you water down LETTUCE? -- With water.

2) Why would you go to a burger joint for a salad? -- The best chef salad ever can be had at Del Rancho -- A burger joint.

3) How did you like the tongue? -- Everybody likes some tongue ever now and then.

4) Was it 'chewy'? -- No, it was solo.

If ever I find myself in Phelan I'll be sure avoid the Big Salad at Burger Basket. Good review! (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Crabs, solve these riddles:

Q) What delicasy is Oklahoma famous for?
A) ROAD KILL! (credit Doc for that one)

Q) Why do 8th grade girls drop out of school in West Virginia?
A) To move to OKLAHOMA to be teachers.

Q) What is the largest parking lot in Texas called?
A) Again, OKLAHOMA!

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Oklahoma Laws:

# Violators can be fined, arrested or jailed for making ugly faces at a dog.
# Females are forbidden from doing their own hair without being licensed by the state.
# Dogs must have a permit signed by the mayor in order to congregate in groups of three or more on private property.
# Oklahoma will not tolerate anyone taking a bite out of another's hamburger.
# It is against the law to read a comic book while operating a motor vehicle.
# Whaling is illegal.
# It is illegal to have the hind legs of farm animals in your boots.
# Residents are taxed for the furniture in their homes, and any other personal belongings. (Repealed 1998)
# People who make "ugly faces" at dogs may be fined and/or jailed.
# Cars must be tethered outside of public buildings. (Repealed)
# Anyone arrested for soliciting a hooker must have their name and picture shown on television.
# Tattoos are banned.
# No one may spit on a sidewalk.
# It is illegal to wear your boots to bed.
# Fish may not be contained in fishbowls while on a public bus.
# Tissues are not to be found in the back of one's car.

Ada
# If you wear New York Jets clothing, you may be put in jail.

Clinton
# Molesting an automobile is illegal.

Hawthahorne
# It is unlawful to put any hypnotized person in a display window.

Oklahoma City
# No one may walk backwards downtown while eating a hamburger.

Schulter
# Women may not gamble in the nude, in lingerie, or while wearing a towel.

Tulsa
# You may not open a soda bottle without the supervision of a licensed engineer.
# Elephants are not to be taken into the downtown area.

Wynona
# One's mode of transportation must be tied up while not attended.
# Mules may not drink out of bird baths.
# Clothes may not be washed in bird baths.

Yukon
# It is illegal to tie a horse in front of city hall.
# While passing another vehicle, you must honk your horn.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
zzrokk -- Let me repeat the words your father said when he caught you in the hen house -- Son, You ain't right.

ROAD KILL!! -- Nah, you're thinking of Arkansas.

To be a full time teacher in Oklahoma you have to have at least a bachelors degree.

Oklahoma is not in Texas. Don't believe me look it up on google maps. You do know what google is dontcha zz?

zzrokk you give Oklahoma a rough time but let me ask you this mountain boy-- Did Rodgers and Hammerstein ever write a musical about Colorado? Huh? Yeah, I didn't think so. In your face ZZ.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-01-22:
Water down lettuce is when they spray it with water and serve it without spinning or drying the lettuce...the water ends up at the bottom of your salad bowl...YUCK....but at least you know they wash their lettuce.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Superbowl your info is out of date. Oklahoma became the last state to legalize tattoos.

You missed one -- In Oklahoma City it's illegal to shoot pool while intoxicated.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
California Laws

# Sunshine is guaranteed to the masses.
# Animals are banned from mating publicly within 1,500 feet of a tavern, school, or place of worship.
# Bathhouses are against the law.
# It is a misdemeanor to shoot at any kind of game from a moving vehicle, unless the target is a whale.
# Women may not drive in a house coat.
# No vehicle without a driver may exceed 60 miles per hour.
# Many animals are illegal to own as pets, including snails, sloths, and elephants.
# In an animal shelter, lizards and snakes are treated under the same guidelines as cats and dogs.

Arcadia
# Peacocks have the right of way to cross any street, including driveways.

Alhambra
# You cannot leave your car on the street overnight without the proper permit.

Baldwin Park
# Nobody is allowed to ride a bicycle in a swimming pool.

Belvedere
# City Council order reads: "No dog shall be in a public place without its master on a leash."

Blythe
# You are not permitted to wear cowboy boots unless you already own at least two cows.

Burlingame
# It is illegal to spit, except on baseball diamonds.

Carmel
# Ice cream may not be eaten while standing on the sidewalk. (Repealed when Clint Eastwood was mayor)
# Women may not wear high heels while in the city limits.

Chico
# Detonating a nuclear device within the city limits results in a $500 fine.

Downey
# It is illegal to wash your car in the street. (Passed 1995).

Hollywood
# It is illegal to drive more than two thousand sheep down Hollywood Boulevard at one time.

Lafayette
# You are forbidden to spit on the ground within 5 feet of another person.

Lodi
# It is illegal to own or sell "Silly String".

Lompoc
# It is illegal to posses, own or raise roosters. This is considered disturbing the peace.

Long Beach
# Cars are the only item allowed in a garage.
# It is illegal to curse on a mini-golf course.

Los Angeles
# It is illegal for a man to beat his wife with a strap wider than 2 inches without her consent.
# You cannot bathe two babies in the same tub at the same time.
# You may not hunt moths under a street light.
# It is illegal to cry on the witness stand.
# Toads may not be licked.
# It is a crime for dogs to mate within 500 yards of a church. Breaking this law is punishable by a fine of $500 and/or six months in prison.
# Zoot suits are prohibited.

Ontario
# Roosters may not crow in the city limits.

Pacific Grove
# Molesting butterflies can result in a $500 fine.

Palm Springs
# It is illegal to walk a camel down Palm Canyon Drive between the hours of four and six PM.

Pasadena
# It is illegal for a secretary to be alone in a room with her boss.

Prunedale
# Two bathtubs may not be installed in the same house.

Redlands
# Motor vehicles may not drive on city streets unless a man with a lantern is wallking ahead of it.

Riverside
# One may not carry a lunch down the street between 11 and 1 o'clock.

San Diego
# It is illegal to shoot jackrabbits from the back of a streetcar.
# The owners of houses with Christmas lights on them past February second may be fined up to $250.

San Francisco
# Prohibits elephants from strolling down Market Street unless they are on a leash.
# It is illegal to wipe one's car with used underwear.
# Persons classified as "ugly" may not walk down any street.
# It is illegal to pile horse manure more than six feet high on a street corner.

San Jose
# It is illegal to have more than two cats or dogs. -Ord. 7.08.595

Santa Monica
# You may not play percussion instruments on the beach.

Temecula
# Ducks have the right of way to cross Rancho California St. at all times.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Why is it that the Hollywood law does not strike me as a bit strange?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
"Baldwin Park
# Nobody is allowed to ride a bicycle in a swimming pool. "

we rode skateboards in pools...our friends rode bikes..never got busted,but did catch hell a few times for "ruining" the pool coping......

BP is my hometown....
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
I dont remember roosters in Ontario,but I do remember all the cows there....damm that place stunk
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
SF -- "Persons classified as "ugly" may not walk down any street."

Holy smokes I walked the streets of San Francisco just this last July. Dang I wonder what the penalty would have been had I been caught.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Norco is/was the worst for cow stink.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
You can pull up most states by changing XXXXX for your state name:


http://www.ahajokes.com/XXXXX_jokes.html
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Im telling you,we dont like ugly people in CA...clashes with the beautiful scenery
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
A short story...
Police in Oakland, California spent two hours attempting to subdue a gunman who had barricaded himself inside his home. After firing ten teargas canisters, officers discovered that the man was standing beside them, shouting out to give himself up.

Police in Los Angeles had good luck with a robbery suspect who just couldn't control himself during a line-up. When detectives asked each man in the line-up to repeat the words, "Give me all your money or I'll shoot", the man shouted, "That's not what I said!"

In Modesto, CA, Steven Richard King was arrested for trying to hold up a bank of America branch without a weapon. King used a thumb and a finger to simulate a gun but unfortunately he failed to keep his hand in his pocket.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
D -- that's why they kicked me out.

LMFAO, Super !

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
It is illegal to mistreat rats in Denver, Colorado. Better known as the Zzrokk protection act.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
A short story...
Police in Oakland, California spent two hours attempting to subdue a gunman who had barricaded himself inside his home. After firing ten teargas canisters, officers discovered that the man was standing beside them, shouting out to give himself up.

Police in Los Angeles had good luck with a robbery suspect who just couldn't control himself during a line-up. When detectives asked each man in the line-up to repeat the words, "Give me all your money or I'll shoot", the man shouted, "That's not what I said!"

In Modesto, CA, Steven Richard King was arrested for trying to hold up a bank of America branch without a weapon. King used a thumb and a finger to simulate a gun but unfortunately he failed to keep his hand in his pocket.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
".....Better known as the Zzrokk protection act....."
HEY!!!!

I guess that my Mom and I are the new Ma Barker Gang in Denver. Not only do I drive my black car on Sundays but Mom, loans her vacuum out to the next door neighbor all of the time!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-01-22:
Another hijacked review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Moving on...

What part of 'chef salad' didn't the OP understand? Most places offer a 'garden salad' for those wanting no, or less, meat.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
DB, better a hijacked review that has been closed as far as the salad goes then dying through some cheesy O'bama "YT" on the forum side!
BURN!!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Amen!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Doc, I think that the "main beef" with the OP was them omitting that darn boiled egg! It ain't a beef tongue salad without it!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
One of our synagogue visitors was asking if the kosher deli nearby served tongue. I'll make the referral.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
I had beef tongue once in a burrito of all things, I may have it again...Someday.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Hey Doc, were headed back to the Holy Land this Spring for our second trip. We want to see some of the stuff we missed a couple of years ago on our first trip like Petra Jordan, the Red Sea and some other places. Hope the Gaza/Hamas thing cools down by then!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
super - Go anyway. I'm willing to bet that you would never know there was something going on. Well you'd see more checkpoints and military traffic from Tel Aviv to Ashkelon and Ashdod. Israel really needs the tourist bucks now...thanks for going!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Doc, the wife really wants to go to Hebron this time but I doubt that will happen. She was able to buy some nice Hebron glass stuff in Bethlehem but it's not the same as going to the glass shops in Hebron.

What is really a shame is how bad business is inside the walled area of Jerusalem. The merchants in the Christian and Jewish sectors are hurting really bad right now and a large number of them are just not making a living anymore.

I can promise you this much she will max out the credit cards again knowing her.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
Now that you mention it, Hebron would not be a good place to go now. Shame. The stuff your wife would like to buy would cost 3-4x more on Ben Yehuda Street or in the shops in Tel Aviv. Seen the B'hai Gardens in Haifa? Not been to Petra. But the stuff and Beit She'an is cool too.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
We spent two days in Haifa. We enjoyed the sites, Mt. Carmel/B'hai Gardens etc... Some of the best European cuisine was found right on that main drag leading up to the base of the B'hai Gardens. From Haifa we went onto the seaside towns of akka, Naharyiia etc. What a beautiful country. If we could just get the idiots from Hamas to stop lobbing missiles into it now!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
You're breaking my heart, super. The costal towns are awesome...Dor, Zichron Jakov, etc. Hire a guide, it's worth it. He can safely take you off the beaten path to some great food and sights. I'm fluent in Hebrew (some Arabic) and know my way around. But it's easy to make a wrong turn and end up in Ramallah, Jenin, or Afula. They seem not to like us there...Intifada or no.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-01-22:
We have contacted our last guide. He is a Christian Arab which is a rare combination. He speaks Hebrew and Arabic fluently which came in real handy in Nazareth and a few other locations. He had to leave us at the border when we went into Jordan but had a good friend of his ready to pick us up on the Jordan side. No sense re-inventing the wheel, we will probably hook up with him again.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.