[X]
Feedburner count

7
Helpful
Votes

City of Chicago Complaint - Chicago is Slumlord Capital of the World

Review by Pedro Garcia on 2009-02-03
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I've lived in Chicago my whole life and up to now was very proud of it. However the corruption and "Pay to Play" politics is becoming too much to bear. It's bad enough all the taxpayers have so suffer. But within the last year I watched one close friend pass away and another one go through living hell for about 2 years because of a slumlord called Forest City Enterprises. The City of Chicago just turned their back in both cases just blatantly allowing Forest City to violate city codes at will.

Not only that, with the help of two crooked judges and who knows how many crooked attorneys, one of my friends not only went through hell, he got stiffed out of a lot of money and then finally evicted by Forest City.

To go into all the details of this would be too long to explain.

But if you're a landlord in Chicago and you know people with clout, you can do as you please with no repercussions. Forest City is the leader of the pack but other landlords have gotten away with murder too. Simply pay off the alderman in your ward the police department and Congressmen in your district and a few judges and you're all set to trample on the lives of people.

Governor Blago got caught. But that's not even the tip of the iceberg. The FBI or Justice Department should investigate this whole city.

3 flats in Chicago are okay. But my recommendation is to avoid all large apartment complexes in this city. Your life may depend on it.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-02-04
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-03:
I just spent an hour the other day reading about Forest City in several cities. What a horrible mess.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-03:
Yeah, my organization (Citizens United Against Corporate Corruption) have been going after them for a long time. Unlike most other corporations who are just greedy, Forest City Enterprises is run by some extremely mean and vindictive people. Maybe sociopaths would be a better description.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-02-03:
Wow, most complaints like this are dismissed as isolated gripes. Yet already, two comments seem to legitimately back Pedro's accusations.
Not a good sign Forest City.
Posted by Disaster Worker on 2009-02-03:
Bob Slade, maybe your group should call themselves CRUD - Citizen Ridding Un-Desirable. Now I'll have to read what's going on with Forest City and read out your organization! That's really incredible.

Good post.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-02-03:
I would recommend suing the city of Chicago and Forest City Enterprises in a joint lawsuit. Get a good attorney. Good luck.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-02-03:
Can you say Cabrini-Green?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-03:
On google, check out "Forest City Enterprises Slumlords," "Complaints against Forest City Enterprises," and "Brooklyn No Land Grab" for further reviews of these SOBs.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-03:
Chicago political corruption is what legends and good movies are made of. What I find odd is the people of Chicago (and Illinois) keep voting these crooks into office then get upset when the crooks steal the goodies? You give a bunch of thieves and scoundrels the keys to the safe and guess what?

Excellent review and info.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-02-03:
When I lived in a suburb of Chicago I always made it very plain that I was in DuPage not Cook County. Just as I now say I live in a *suburb* north of Detroit. :) Detroit's ex-mayor got out of jail early this morning.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-04:
Superbowl, you are absolutely right about Chicago voters.
Apathy supreme. Downstaters just vote Republican.

In other cities citizens fight back when there's corruption in the government to some degree. In Chicago they just smile and take it, just like the Cubbie fans keep filling the stands at Wrigley after 100 years of losing.

However, there was no excuse for national voters to re-elect Dubya for a second term. Sheeeeesh.

Ponie: What's it like in the Detroit area in this regard?
I know Lions fans are not as easy to please as Cub fans, so that's a good sign maybe. :-)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.