[X]
Feedburner count

4
Helpful
Votes

Cracker Barrel Country Store Informative - No Longer Serving 100% Maple Syrup

Review by 84488 on 2009-02-08
I agree with the other reviewer, from Chatanooga, TN, about the sneakiness of Cracker Barrel's switch to a syrup "blend".

The flavor wasn't the same and it won't get by me!

It's been a tradition for us, for almost 10 years, when on vacation, to have our breakfasts at Cracker Barrels all around the country. It's always been such a treat! But we won't be having breakfasts at Cracker Barrel anymore.

Their excuse to me - some "supplier" problem. I wasn't convinced.
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-06-22
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-08:
W O W . You are giving up breakfast at Cracker Barrel because they changed the syrup? And I thought I had problems..

NH
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-08:
lol@D.Crash
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-02-08:
I'm glad you referenced the review from another member from Chattanooga because I thought I had read this complaint before. I'm not knowledgable on the difference in flavor of "Pure vs Natural" maple syrup but obviously it is a problem for those who are. Contact Corporate, unless they are are the ones who gave you the excuse, and perhaps they will consider changing it back to the original or give you an explanation as to why they changed it to begin with.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-08:
Good advise, Nohandle. Maple syrup is so much better and costs "better" too.

This poster could also consider taking his own syrup in with him.
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-02-08:
I don't know if I'd haul my own syrup jug in the restaurant Boki. LOL. If enough customers are displeased perhaps corporate will take notice or at least inform customers at the local restaurant level the syrup is no longer pure maple before they order.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-08:
I might take sweetener packets with me in case they don't have it where I am going because they will fit easily into my pocket. A jug of syrup cannot be transported so easily. I agree with Nohandle. If enough people notify corporate maybe they will listen and make the change back to the pure maple syrup.
I wouldn't give up eating someplace that you like simply because they stopped carrying one condiment. Give something else on the menu a try. You might be pleasantly surprised.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-08:
LOL I would! I got no shame. I don't much care for Cracker Barrel but if I loved them like this guy I'd shove a bottle of maple syrup in my purse and use it if it was the only thing keeping me from my good vacation breakfast. Contacting corporate is definitely a good idea tho....
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-08:
The maple syrup I buy is about the size of my hand. My purse is about the size of the state of Alaska....
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-08:
LOL Boki. I don't carry a purse, but I have my eye on a nice Louis Vuitton. The thing is, I cannot find a pair of mens shoes to match. ;) A man cannot leave the house without properly accessorizing. :)
Posted by Principissa on 2009-02-08:
We had breakfast at Denny's last week when we were without power, I kid you not I took every packet from the sugar boat and shoved them in my coat pocket. I gots not shame at all. I took all the napkins too. Cheaper than going out and buying much needed tp!!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-08:
hahahaha@John!

Princi, as a victim of several hurricanes, I COMPLETELY understand!
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-02-08:
LOL John. I probably have a pair of shoes your size and not to worry, there will certainly be a handbag to match. A designer original in case you're interested and want the latest thing. I certainly wouldn't want you to be embarrased in public.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-08:
LOL Nohandle! I definitely do not want to be a fasion faux paux. :)
Posted by Starlord on 2009-02-09:
I carry packets of Splenda just in case I wish to order ice tea or unsweetened lemonade. Now, It has been some time since I have been back east, so the only way I can get White Castle burgers is frozen in the supermarkets. Just doesn't taste right. The last couple of times I have been back east, I have found that White Castles are no longer affordable, and they are in convenience markets and gas stations. Uncle Billy is turning over in his grave. They used to have the best spicy brown mustard,they bought in gallon jars from Sysco. Now, they give you packets of French's fancy yellow mustard. Blllleeeecchhhhhhh!If I plan on going to a WC, believe me I will have a bottle of Gulden's with me. I worked for White Castle after I got out of high school, and it is nowhere near the same since Uncle Billy passed on.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-09:
Starlord, from what I've been told (and I don't know for myself since I've never had Whitecastle burgers), Krystal burgers are very similar. If you have a Krystal near you or when you're back east if you see one, maybe give it a try.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-09:
The cracker barrels in OKC have gone down hill. At one time they had absolutely the best pancakes complimented by the 100% maple syrup but today they ain't much better than the flapjacks at McDonalds. I hate it when good restaurants get too big for their britches. Good review! (VH)
Posted by leopard on 2009-02-11:
I like my fake Louis Vuittons. Everyone asks if they're real.
Posted by dallie523 on 2009-06-22:
I do work in a Cracker Barrel first of let me say I am very sorry if anyone feels cheated by the switch. I am not sure of all the details but this is what was told to me as to why this has happened, I am keeping in mind that you may not even care why. So I heard something about farming crops being affected this year by what I do not know, I was told because of this we had to switch to the blend or run out of maple provided by the supplier. I am sure some of you are saying who cares get a new source but you see how you feel about the blend what if the source was changed after all this years who know how the maple may be than. I trust cracker barrel knows what they are doing. And if you LOVED the maple before why would you now want to punish the poor maple farmers who made it for you after all these years. Maybe I am wrong... just sounds abit cold to turn your backs on a old friend just because of a new shirt!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.