[X]
Feedburner count

6
Helpful
Votes

Taki's Complaint - I've Had Better Meals From Those "Dollar A Scoop" Asian Food Joints!!!

Review by 15910 on 2009-02-20
YUKON, FLORIDA -- Asian cuisines are not all alike. You have Tai, Korean, Chinese and Japanese to name a few and my fav' is Japanese.

There are some restaurants out here called KOKORO and they make the best Japanese Style Beef Bowls. Seasoned strips of beef over a bed of steamed rice with whatever spices you like such as pickled ginger, hot pepper sauce and of course the soy sauce. I know that it sounds boring but it is so tasty with all of the spices coming together not to mention that it is a lot healthier that a #11 from Micky D's.

Now as far as Taki's goes, they have a much broader menu so that may explain part of my disappointment over the meal. Too many varieties of beef entree's?
I order the Beef Bowl to go and promptly get back to work and YES, I briefly checked my food before leaving! I get on the bus and all of a sudden I start smelling what reminded me of stale cabbage or something like that! No way was I going to open it back up on the bus and get jeers or possibly worse from some down on their luck fellow bus rider (I get enough of that at my pad) so I waited to get to work and open it up and to my surprise the "cook" wanted to go "Emeril" and impress me with his presentation of FRESH GARDEN GREENS with my meal!

What happened was during the time the Styrofoam container was wrapped in the plastic bag the spinach, the browning cauliflower and other leafy things were getting steamed! It was smelly as a co-worker stated.

I quickly picked that mess out and got down to eating. The rice was okay but the beef was cut into little bite sized squares with a hint of some too sweet Teriyoki Sauce(sp?)!!!!!

Yuck and to top it off the "extra ginger" was hardly extra. No mas!!!!!
Comments:47 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-02-22
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Good review, ZZ. I love nearly all Asian cuisine, and am somewhat partial to Filipino (my daughter is 1/2 Filipino) BTW, NO Balut for me, thanks.

My current favorite has to be Vietnamese Pho.

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Ms.M I love filipino food. We'll have to talk about that in IM's. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Sweet, John...I look forward to it!
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-02-20:
Did you catch a glimpse of the owner's Acura?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Slim, I think that was 'Tank's' car, no?
Posted by MRM on 2009-02-20:
John, not to be picky here but the proper term is PM(private messaging) not IM(instant messaging). There is a difference.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Zz, outstanding review as always. Thank you for the comparison to the Mickey D's #11, always helpful for a disaster reality check! Remember to keep the tarter out of those Beef Bowls.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
MRM, I think Instant Messaging is appropriate in this case.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-02-20:
I don't think a guy named tank can fit into an Acura Christine from what someone nthebiz told us once. I think we need another expert like that now to weigh in here. 1hung2lo?? Rick_Shaw???... Huck??
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Don't forget the Barcode!
Posted by MRM on 2009-02-20:
There is no instant messaging feature on M3C. A good example of instant messaging is on AOL and MSN. I think PM(private messaging) is the right term on M3C.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
FINE, MR. IamSoTechnicalMike. I give up.
Posted by old fart on 2009-02-20:
When you click on the M3C message to send it, the header says "instant message.."
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
OH who gives a rats behind?! Ms.M. and I are chatting, instantly (because we are quick like that) and in private.
Posted by MRM on 2009-02-20:
I think they should change it to private message because its not really instant messaging compared to AOL and MSN.
Posted by old fart on 2009-02-20:
Geez... I just thought I'd clear that up...:(
Posted by MRM on 2009-02-20:
But hey, thats just me!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
It is neither an instant message, or a private message. It is a My3Cents message. Does that clear it up?
Posted by MRM on 2009-02-20:
LOL... the M3C way.
Posted by old fart on 2009-02-20:
LOL...I guess that does John..!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
FYI: Homemade Enchiladas tonight! I forgot the sauce so I will have to wing it!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
ZZ, how do you wing enchilada sauce? Ketchup aint gonna cut it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
I have a little "Pace Picante Sauce" some ketchup and all of the needed spices. I haven't made this dish in a while. I will let it be known how it comes out when my studio audience comes by. *I'm joking*
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
"Pace Picante Sauce"? New York City?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
It's okay but the Ro-tel or 505 is what I like.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-20:
I wish we had these kind of food joints down here. It's pretty lame when a bad food review makes me crave a good noodle bowl.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-02-20:
You do Boki....it's those Chinese Buffets.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-20:
Indeed, we have a bunch of them..gah.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Those Udon Bowls aren't bad when you go to the right places.
If the meat is rubbery, it's thigh meat and if it's stringy, it's the breast. Either way, they would be overcooked.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-20:
Udon bowls, yes! What is want here is just an americanized version of a noodle shop. We had an authentic noodle shop here (amazingly) and I drug my very reluctant hubby in...it was a little TOO authentic. They had stuff like "tendon bowl" and "beef shank bowl" and people next to us were eating chicken feet.

It was literally so awful it was worth going just for the story we could tell later. I got some drink that was like a decayed peach in salted water..lol Good times!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Is your husband Andrew Zimmern or that guy on the travel channel? Yes, I have had pork shanks,ox tails and "chits" but I wasn't flanked by a CHICKEN FEET enthusiast! *??????*
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-20:
ROFL, he's not even that bald! I said I had to DRAG him, and I meant it.

Besides, (and I know this post will get removed) but Andrew Zimmer has a thing about eating various and sundry animal balls and ..well, nuff said.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-20:
Besides, I will eat some weird stuff, I've always been an adventurous eater but this noodle place even put me off.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
I know.....
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-02-20:
Boki...edit it to read testicles.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-02-20:
zz wings and enchilada sauce??? I don't think so.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Wings?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-02-20:
"FYI: Homemade Enchiladas tonight! I forgot the sauce so I will have to wing it!"
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
JKT wing it means attempt make the sauce yourself
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-02-20:
I know that. Can't ya take a joke!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-20:
Just making sure.:)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-02-20:
You should have asked for some Tartar sauce for your lunch...
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-02-21:
no prob
Posted by Starlord on 2009-02-22:
Roger on the balut. I watch Andrew Zimmern, too. I posted a scathing review on the No.1 Korean BBQ here in Lacey. I enjoy Asian foods, but even an Ethiopian would turn their nose up at this stuff.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-22:
I'll look for your review. Mama and I went to lunch at a chinese joint here years ago and there was something absolutely awful looking in her egg drop soup. After much examination we determined that it was a CHICKEN EMBRYO, complete with pinfeathers.

We called the waitress over and showed her..she spoke limited English and her only comment was "little bird!". She was so cheerful about it we just had to laugh. Maybe it was a bonus and we DID finish our meal...haha
Posted by old fart on 2009-02-22:
Boki... that chicken embryo was the result of an egg that would be considered "spoiled" or rotten... If you'd have tried to fry it, you'd have gotten one heck of a smell when you broke it in the pan...
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-22:
You have no clue how disgusting it was (or maybe you do) but it was GRAY....ugh

The waitress' comment just tickled us though, we couldn't help but laugh. And that restaurant closed its doors years ago, small wonder, eh?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.