PayPal Email Scam Informative - Beware Of Email Scam Regarding Your PayPal Account!!!

Review by D. on 2009-02-22
I've just received the following Email. I have reported it to PayPal...it is an obvious phishing scam. If you receive this, please go to www.paypal.com (type it in DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK IN THE EMAIL!!!)...Click on "Security Center" and you will see the option to report phishing and Email scams to: Spoof@paypal.com. Do not copy and paste the Email, it has to be forwarded.

Tip: When you are on the legit PayPal website, you will see the address bar turn GREEN....if you are on a fake PayPal website, the address bar will be white.

Below is a copy of the Email:

Important UpdateFriday, February 20, 2009 10:20 AM
From: "PayPal"
To: "PayPal"

Dear PayPal user,

PayPal is constantly seeking to improve the service that it offers to its customers. Every time you log on to our online service, we check to ensure that your current browser and computer settings will give the required level of performance and security.

Our SSL shows that the browsers you used the last time you accessed your online account has been flagged as unsecured browser which may leak your online security details to a third party. In this case we cannot guarantee optimal performance and security. Please reconfirm and reset your security details on our secure database. Simply click the confirm button below and enter your details

Accounts that won’t follow will have limited access

Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response.
Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-05-16
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-22:
Thanks for the warning. People need to remember that no legitimate company will send you an e-mail asking you to confirm your user id, account number or password. Another tip - if the e-mail is full of grammatical and spelling errors, it probably isn't legitimate.
Posted by ticia232 on 2009-02-22:
Also Paypal will always use your first and last name in any email that they send to you. So if you get one saying Dear Paypal User then it is a scam.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-22:
I'll keep an eye out, thanks! VH
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-22:
I wish you had posted this yesterday....
Posted by D. on 2009-02-22:
Sorry...I didn't check my mail until today!
Posted by qualityappliance on 2009-02-22:
Thanks for the warning. VH
Posted by Starlord on 2009-02-23:
This has been posted several times. These emails are 'phishing' emails and they are mining for your information so they can steal your identity. Ebay and PayPal will always use your registered account name. If you receive any email frome PayPal or ebay addressed as Basher said, ebay user or PayPal customer, it is a phishing trip. DO NOT OPEN THIS EMAIL!! Forward it without opening to either spoof@ebay.com or spoof@paypal.com. They have the technology to take care of these crooks. thank you again for bringing this to the attention of M3C members, Basher, it is important to be aware. If you receive any other suspicious email, forward it to spoof@companyname.com. They may or may not use this technology, but either way, it couldn't hurt.
Posted by D. on 2009-02-23:
Starlord...I always report those kind of Emails I get. I reported one to KeyBank, and I printed out the Email and took it to their manager, he told me where to forward it to. That was a scam that KeyBank was not aware of and in a few days, they had it reported to the newspaper warning their customers of the new scam.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-23:
You got a better response than I did, Basher. I reported one to paypal ages ago and got the old, "ho hum, thanks" form letter back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-23:
What happens with these emails are they get logged in by the thousands everyday. PayPal/eBay/banks all try to get a profile on the sender, the ISP being used etc then they make one best effort at getting it shut down.

If you go back to many of the links days after you got the email you will find the link is down. They seldom handle these one at a time, they batch them and go after them with the help of the ISP's and law enforcement.

The problems are many but many offshore ISP's host these guys 100% because they get paid a lot of money. Often it's a small ISP in Russia or somplace that has to be shut down by the bigger up line provider. It's a war out in cyber world with this stuff.
Posted by D. on 2009-02-23:
That's true Superbowl...that's why it's important that they use the "Forward" when they report it.

I went back to that Email where is said, "Click Here to update"...and I NEVER click on those...but I did with this one today because I wasn't going to update any info anyway...and the address bar turned bright red and a big warning came on the screen stating that website is a phishing site and you should not continue...but it gives you to option to continue or not...of course, I didn't...but it's good to know that if someone did fall for it...they get that warning.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-23:
superbowl, very interesting answer! I thought they just had so many reports that they didn't care.

DB, that's good to know because some people would just automatically click on it (mama lol).
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-02-23:
Never click through. Type directly into the address bar to visit the site and confirm Email's message.
Phishers mimic many identities to gain personal info.
Some of the hot list entries are:
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-23:
good info, Slim.
Posted by manonight on 2009-05-16:
Thanks for the heads up on the email scam. I knew something was up when they sent the "scam" mail to one of my email addresses that I don't normally use for Paypal. I'm going to notify my customers about this.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.