[X]

11
Helpful
Votes

Billy's On The Square Informative - Billy's On The Square.... Serving Up Crap And Raking In Cash

Review by 83575 on 2009-03-02
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- It's good for the owners of this establishment that even in these troubled times, Okies will still line up clear to the door to hand over their poverty wages in this slop house.

The menu consists mainly of smallish burgers and plenty of chicken choices, along with hot and cold sammies, something they pass off as fried catfish, salads and soups. All over priced for the quality and quantity.

I guess the first indicator that things aren't quite right is the fact that it should be named - Billy's On The Traffic Circle, since that's where it sits, but I figure that the majority of the residents here are still trying to jab the square block into the round hole, so I see no need to confuse anyone in this Godless Country further.

They do serve up iced cold bottles of that fine Oklahoma near beer and have the TV's set to Sports Center. The problem is they want to rush everyone out of there as quick as they eat, to make room for the fools in line. They have a couple of people wandering around snatching your tray when the last bite crosses your lips. Heck, I can sit there and consume a 12 pack, on top of the 6 I had at breakfast, and still ace any stupid human tricks Johnny Law wants to see performed. But I need a dang minute!

With a working meth lab on nearly every corner, I can't see why Oklahoma hasn't given in to selling real beer. No wonder meth is so popular here. I almost think they are promoting it.

Across the street from Billy's, one can witness the effects of long term addiction in the antics of a street singer, in his own little world, rocking out in time for your nickels and your dimes.

I was going to pack a lunch this time around, but that would ruin the beauty of traveling to OK. A person can travel light here, as a daily change of clothes and regular bathing isn't expected.

Just bring a toothbrush, so as not to end up looking like a local.
Comments:45 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-07-20
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-03-03:
File this under drunken, rambling complaint.
Posted by Starlord on 2009-03-03:
Not helpful, should be deleted. This sounds like an equal opportunity bigot, one who hates everyone.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
What? I like all kinds of people. ESPECIALLY grown men in tights!
Posted by Disaster Worker on 2009-03-03:
Wow. What a post! Tulsa is one of the richest cities in OK, the town is gorgeous and clean; some of the best folks I've ever met were in Tulsa. He'd really hate Dallas, then!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Guess C20 didn't care for this place too much. Zz needs to check out the chicken.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Lord help me I love this review. Good job C2O! Indeed, Oklahoma's 3.2 beer is a joke. Non-intoxicating my hind end... anyway I feel for Tulsa... They got a big chip on their shoulder every since the OK of C landed the Thunder. But, hey they still got the 'City of Faith' and that failing river project along the smelliest river west of the Mississippi and let us not forget "Billy's On The Square". LMAO! (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
great post C2O!

Posted by Slimjim on 2009-03-03:
I see no reason this complaint should be removed. It's an opinion on this restaurant and vacationing in Tulsa in general. While blunt, hardly offensive unless you live in Tulsa, an even then in fact, our own local Okie liked it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
I agree Slim, it's an opinion and very cleverly written, too.
C20, I just have one question though...just how do you know there is working meth lab on nearly every corner? LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
(VH) Another glowing review about another one of OKLAHOMA'S fine dining establishments!
Meth'd out street performers, NEAR BEER and some kind of fish entree' (Carp?).
Crabs, I am so there and will spring for the first round of 3.2 Hamm's!!!!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-03-03:
If this post had been written by someone who was just passing through most people here would have been on it like white on rice. Nice to see how cliquish hypocrisy looks in print.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
ZZ,we need another food review...get on it
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Boki -- Well, sure, I'm doing my best to be part of the My3cent's Kewl Kid Klique but that doesn't mean I didn't absolutely LOVE this review. Sorry, but Tulsa needs to be taken down a peg or two. Those whining HS football cheating sons of non-land runners really get on my nerves. In fact in the past I've advocated having Tulsa evicted from the state and I mean physically like breaking off a piece of the tectonic plate they occupy and shipping it to Canada... which I've always suspected is the origin of most of them there Tulsan's. Again, did I say how much I LOVE this review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Boki, when I think of jumping on Obama, I can't decide whether to use white rice or brown.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
TNS, when I think of jumping on Susan, I usually decide on 'minute'.

Can I get an LOL for my man Sheriff?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Hmmmm..actually Boki, you make a good point, I think if we read reviews by folks just passing by with the same open mindedness that we read this review by C20, there would be a lot different responses. Thanks for making your point..I personally don't care about being part of the cliquish club but since I know C20 it was easy to figure out he was being quite humorous and not all that serious.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-03-03:
Crab..lol You are one person I was NOT talking about.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Anyone that doesn't want to be in our "shallow little kewl club" is suffering from a bad case of sour grapes and not enough fiber in their diet!
I am merely here to kick some @ss and drink some beer and I am all out of SCHLITZ!!!!!!

*just kidding*
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
He's just kidding about being all out of Schlitz.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
I tried to form my own clique, 'The Stew Nation', but I found that a clique of one is no clique. (no offense Chuck Masterson but imaginary friends don't count)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Stew if I remember correctly,Pirate wanted to be in the nation...

"bad case of sour grapes" LMAO @ ZZ!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-03-03:
Crab..lol! Seriously, I expect the same answers from you regardless of who/what is involved.
Posted by DumdHead on 2009-03-03:
My Grand Mother liked this place. OK near beer is an attempt to keep you from drinking. Prohibtion may have failed the first time but the second time they will get it right. Make it all taste so bad you can't drink it. The meth is a step up from the acid they used to sell.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-03-03:
You're right Steve. Pirate did want to be stew's (sort of slow) sidekick as he too found his clique of imaginary friend here weren't cutting it- no matter how much they paltalked and patted each other's back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Disaster Worker, I know a lot more about Big D than Tulsa, and I'm sad to think you'd rate Tulsa above that, or any other city in the great State of Texas. Go Cowboys!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Crabs, what's up with that giant roll of duct tape they call an arena? It's ugly enough to bring beauty to the rest of the city, that's for sure.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
Boki, I'm confused as to how you so quickly developed such a hostility towards me, since our time together on this site has been so short. Were you once here as another nic, or have you subscribed to the IM propaganda that circulates out of Saginaw?
Posted by old fart on 2009-03-03:
I presume you're referring to me...?? LMAO
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-03-03:
Actually if you read the post carefully, it's more of a compliment that a complaint and informative as well. If the people are waiting to get in to this place with the surroundings C2O described, it must be pretty good food.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-03:
jkt, it's not so much that Billy's has good food as it is that the joints around it have worse. Remember..... we're in Oklahoma here.

I may have to see what the Greyhound Bus Station has to offer....
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-03-03:
ok so they still have better shyt than the others around. LOL! Ya gotta eat!
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2009-03-04:
Funny review and well written. Now what do those waitresses look like?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-07-19:
Hmmmmmm...your one and only review and I wasn't a part of it? Well, I am NOW so you should now feel complete and you can go on and do your next review now.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
I tried a couple of times to post a review without success.
Remember? I'll have to stop at one. I must also apologize to the entire membership, for I have so much that will go unshared. So sad.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
C2O--It's okay. You can share with me. Even cry on my shoulder if you need to, LOL.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-07-19:
Not only are we being deprived of Pirate's awesome reviews, we are also being deprived of yours...so sad!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Thanks Kia! Let me see that shoulder because I'm about to shed some tears after seeing DB compare pirate and I as some kind of similar beings or something. Ouch!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Yep, C2O, I would find that offensive too, LOL. Here's a hanky too. I decided I don't want a wet shoulder!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Good call! I feel a flood coming, as that one hurt bad!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
"deprived of Pirate's awesome reviews"? Now I know I'm going to be sick... We could have gone a hundred years without seeing that comment. Of course if I ever need to paint my house with a $2.00, 2" paintbrush I know who to look up, LOL.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
SB, I'll get the bucket for you! Wow, a 2" paintbrush! That would keep me busy the rest of my life (and I hate painting).
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-07-19:
Ok, maybe you're right and maybe I DO owe an apology here...I don't do this very often...


Pirate, if you're reading this, I apologize if I have offended you in anyway.

Whew...felt odd for me to apologize for something, but I don't mind, if it makes Pirate feel better!


*LOL*
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Rolling off of him may make him feel better too. lol!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-07-19:
Why are you on him in the first place, Pirate doesn't swing that way!
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-07-20:
well.... i personally don't see it as "informative" since most of the information seems to be opinion and rant rather than fact

perhaps it could be changed to complaint.


and what is this "near beer"? is it Canoe beer? (close to water?)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.