8
Helpful
Votes

AlertPay, Inc. Informative - Be Very Aware Of This

Review by Starlord on 2009-03-19
Crystal got an email offer of part-time work from a company called AlertPay, Inc, with an Albany, NY address. She showed it to me, and we both had a good laugh. Do these people think we live under a rock, and haven't heard about this scam?
The 'part-time work' consists of receiving checks in the mail, going to a check cashing service and cashing it. You deduct 10% of the amount of the check, and send the rest to AlertPay's client (nudge nudge wink wink) by way of Western Union. This scam has been in the news and has even made it onto Judge Judy's show. I went to the BBB website and there was no AlertPay listed in New York, but there was one in Kentucky. The BBB rated the company 'F' due to several factors. According to the BBB, the victim is sent a check for $1,920. They cash it at a check cashing place, and deposit their $192 in the bank. They then send the so-called client a Money Transfer through Western Union. Trouble is, the check cashing place finds out later the check is no good, so they come after the person who cashed it, demanding the original $1,920, plus fees and such.

If you receive an email from AlertPay, Inc. either file it in the circular file, or send it to your state's Attorney General.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-03-19
Posted by Buddy01 on 2009-03-19:
Good review. Unfortunately, these scams work because so many people want to believe. They should realize that it would be easier for these companies to send the checks direct to clients if it was legitimate.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2009-03-19:
Good review, starlord. Buddy is right, there are just untold numbers of suckers out there.

Do you think I might be able to cash in on them with this?

Participate in the "Make Me Rich" event. Look at the immediate benefits:

* No contract
* No early termination fee
* No automatic renewal
* No credit card needed
* 0.00% interest (fixed, will never increase)
* No monthly fees
* No overdraft charges
* No late fees
* No over the limit fees

See if you are qualified:
* Minimum credit score require 580
* Must not be accepting public assistance
* Must be a legal resident of the United States
* Minimum age 21

Don't be mis-led by other money making schemes. This is not a scam. All details are described here. There is no lengthy, fine print, legalese "Terms and Conditions". Your participation in this once in a life time event will entitle me to a larger bank account than I ever though possible. For this I offer a LIFETIME GUARANTEE of nothing. There is only one (1) requirement, a check or money order. Let me thank you in advance for you wise decision to aid a fellow human being.

Please send $19.95 in check or money order (no shipping and handling) to the following address:

PO Box 1234
Anytown, NY 11111

Again, Thank you.
I. M. Slick
CEO and sole beneficiary
Posted by Alain on 2009-03-19:
Good review. Despite all the warnings people continue to get scammed by these and other cons presented in e-mail, ads, TV infomercials, etc.
Posted by Principissa on 2009-03-19:
Great review star!! They had a story about this on the news here a while ago. I was saddened by the amount of people who fell for this, most of who were very well educated. All I can say is that if it sounds to good to be true, it is.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-19:
Interesting info Starlord. Thanks!
Posted by CrystalSword on 2009-03-19:

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.