[X]
Feedburner count

5
Helpful
Votes

Target-Wescom-Juniper Complaint - I Am Pissed Off-I Had It

Review by PIZ OFF on 2009-03-19
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I know I am not alone here and actually I recently read its becoming a trend. Banks and creditors lowering credit lines up to the outstanding balances and even under.

In the last two months I had 3 credit cards available credit lowered to the amount of my outstanding balances. Wescom CU-Target and Juniper. I was not maxed out, not late, paid over the minimum...so WHY?

My credit score was 710 now its at 640(last time checked). I have called to complain and its like a dead end. The reason...??? I would understand if I had late payments, collections, etc. I have been working on my credit score to improve for last seven years due to a bankruptcy and now this. If you also try to reason with Experian, Equifax or Transunion in regards a negative item on your report thats not yours its also like a dead end.

Bottom line is that consumers are always being screwed up no matter what.
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-03-28
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-19:
I mean this kindly, but what is someone who has a history of bankruptcy doing with balances on three credit cards? I'm thinking they looked at your history, your debt to income ratio and said, "Uh, no." Again, I am not judging you. I am just making a point. They wouldn't even LET my sister have a credit card until she was eight years past her bankruptcy and limited the amount she could have on each card. I'm looking at it like that, too.
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-03-19:
You have to build your credit back up after a bankruptcy. Just because someone ahs a bankruptcy doesn't mean they should not be allowed credit in the future. We do not know the reason the OP filed bankruptcy ie lost a job,wife, child or husband became ill with lots of medical bills. Everyone deserves a second chance. Pizz off good for you hang in there pay them down and your credit will rebound back up
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-19:
Again, I wasn't being critical of the OP, and no, not everyone deserves a second chance because people like me end up paying for it. Again, I reiterate, this person has a history of bankruptcy, is attempting to have a better history, but has three cards charged up and the balances have just been lowered to what is owed on them and she is angry about it. I am thinking it's just the cc company playing it safe, since we all know there are MANY people out there who charge recklessly and expect never to have to pay for any of it. One of my idiot co-workers voted for Obama because she didn't think she'd have to finish paying for her house, another because she figured she wouldn't have to pay off school loans. This country is in the toilet partially because banks were not careful about how much credit they gave to whom. In the past, credit recovery took years. Well, they are being careful now, and it sucks, but there it is. It doesn't matter to me if the OP was someone who lost a job and couldn't pay or just didn't feel like paying and filed for bankruptcy. The bottom line, her credit, because of her history, is now subject to scrutiny, as all of ours is. At one point, I had four cards with enough credit on them to buy houses...how does a teacher with a crappy salary merit having a $300,000+ in credit available to her, other than the fact I pay my bills. It's crazy. If the OP is going to be mad, she can join the crowd. I'm mad, too.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-19:
I agree with RG and sherdy. RG correctly observes that bankruptcy can arise from circumstances beyond a debtor's control (illness, job loss, death of spouse). While I agree that a bankruptcy should not preclude a 2nd chance, I think any 2nd chance should come with closer scrutiny by lenders, and reducing a formerly bankrupt consumer's line of credit during bad economic times is intelligent self-defense. However, the action should not reduce the person's credit score...so long as they have been current on all of their debts and have not maxed out their LOC.
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-03-19:
sherdy.. point well taken. After reading your response I would have to agree with you that there should be more scrutiny on someone with a bankruptcy, but I still believe that everyone is due a second chance. That is the reason a bankruptcy falls off your credit report after I believe 7 or 8 years. There are things that are out of your control at times. So now to what I really want to ask you sherdy... seriously she voted for Obama because she thought her house would be free? Wow not sure what to say on that one but then again alot of people voted for him for the same reason he promised everyone a free handout and they bought into it. And yes you and I get to pay for it all.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-19:
It should be made illegal for a company to do something that can significantly hurt a person's credit score through no fault of their own, like this.

Write to your congressman or state representative, and send it certified mail so you know that they are getting it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-19:
Yes, one of my co-workers believed this. I got up and walked away from her when she said it. My friend, whom I love dearly, ran up an ENORMOUS amount of debt. She filed bankruptcy. Within FOUR MONTHS, she had a brand new home, she drives a brand new car, and, from what I understand, she is asking my other friends for money to "help her out a little" and is about 30K in credit card debt again. She learned nothing except to do it again. I live in an old house, I drive an old car, I clip coupons. I save my money, I have two retirement plans, and if I lost my job tomorrow, I could pay for everything I have for a year without unemployment. I am well tired of being the Ant and everyone else getting to be the Grasshopper, of the old story. I'm sorry. I know this is off topic from the OP, but I am so mad. Bankruptcy and credit are really sore spots with me. I don't begrudge someone a mistake or an ill happenstance. Life happens. I do begrudge repeating the mistakes. The OP should be glad she was given three credit cards to charge on instead of being upset about having her limits reduced. It's happening all over the country, and while it makes me mad it messes with the Credit Rating, I am not sorry the banks are telling people no.
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-03-19:
Sherdy point well taken. Keep it up and I might just change my mind on that whole second chance thing. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-19:
"bats eyes at RG* I can be very persuasive!

Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-03-19:
Such the charmer you are your winning me over quickly girl.. After reading a post a little while ago I might be leaning closer to your side.. go figure who knew that would happen. Live and learn.. live and learn
Posted by PIZ OFF on 2009-03-20:
Well,well,well...there is always someone that cant just see "whats going on and be sympathetic " instead,judging because of a bankruptcy almost eight(8) years ago(the reason is personal). I have earned back my privilege to have open credit, yes ever since my BK I have financed two brand new vehicles(already paid off),have store credit,have credit cards and a loan. WHY? Because ever since filling BK I have not been late, I have paid over minimum. ALL my debts are current, no past dues. That's called restoring credit, and no one else is paying for it except for myself. Banks and creditors would be the first ones to deny you credit in you are still in a Sh*t H*le. MY POINT WAS THAT, after having a little over 700 FICO and ALL my debts current, banks and creditors have this new trend of lowering peoples credit limits to whatever outstanding balance is and even under. They are cranking up interest rates as well. Now as consumers, shouldn't all we unite against these giants abuse. One day you are their loyal customer and the next they treat you like scum. I would like to see whats your opinion once this happens to you.
I did not kill someone so I can deserve capital punishment...my 3 cent is, we a all being screwed up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
I have only one credit card and at this writing, it has not been messed with. Maybe it will be, I don't know. I agree with you, that lowering someone's limit messes with the credit rating-that's lunacy. I agree with that. All I do know is that CC companies are doing this to protect themselves, and they should-two separate issues.
Posted by envoy1 on 2009-03-25:
OH- I know how you feel. I sent my money through the bank on the 2nd, and they didn't post it until the 17th, 7 days AFTER the due date. The kicker? They had my check in their possession on the SIXTH, five days BEFORE the due date. I was charged a $39.00 late fee, even through my $30.00 was in their office well before the due date.
Posted by Nunya2009 on 2009-03-28:
WOW, your credit score was 710 AFTER a bankruptcy? GREAT job at the recovery! You must be at the tail end of your 7 years and the only way this will stop is if consumers fight back. I paid off my Target card, cut it up and mailed it back in a prepaid return envelope.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.