1
Helpful
Votes

Solar World Complaint - Solicits Then Hangs Up On Me When I Say No

Review by Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-20
This review will be short, sweet, and to the point.

I got a phone call today from someone claiming to be from "Solar World" calling to inform me about their new solar-powered hot water heaters that have the capability to save money on a power bill.

It would be something that I may be interested in purchasing in the future, but currently the budget is tight.

When I was in the process of refusing by telling the woman that I live in a rental property (which is the truth), she simply hung up on me.

How rude. I guess this is one more company to add on my list to avoid.
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-03-22
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Maybe you should sue the company
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
I think littleyaya has a good point.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-03-20:
you are a renter, why would she waste her time on saying good bye? i am sure they work by commission.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Solar-powered hot water heaters. New meaning to sun bathing.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-03-20:
That's not right! Call the FCC and BBB, then sue them in small claims court.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-20:
I think that I'm just going to file a complaint with the Do Not Call Registry.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Good idea SC. Sue the DNCR if the phone rings though.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-20:
Do you honestly think I am going to sue someone because I was simply hung up on?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Yeah, I kind of figured you would. Am I wrong? I think it would be the first time, but it's possible I guess. lol
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-20:
Well I am not out any money, I was just a bit upset that I got hung up on so I posted the review. It really only cost me 15 seconds of my time, however now that rude hang up may cost them business.

If they request it, I can give them the name of the person that called so they know who to blame.
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-03-21:
I have to vote with the others here. Sue them sue the FCC,BBB,DNCR and heck sue the phone company for allowing them to call your number in the first place. The phone company dropped the ball by allowing the call to go through they should have blocked it from ever getting to you
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-03-22:
Whenever I got calls like that and told them I wasn't the homeowner or that I rented, I usually get hung up on...SOMETIMES, they will say, "Thank you" then hang up.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-22:
Yes, that would have been nicer.
Posted by Chris721 on 2009-03-22:
I am usually happy when they hang up on me. It saves me from having to be rude and hanging up on them. I hate being rude. Telemarketing is a tough job with constant rejection. I can't imagine how horrible some people must be to these callers. If the telemarketers want to hang up to move on to the next and possibly more promising call...that's fine with me.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.