[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Bear Rock Cafe Complaint - Bear Rock Cafe Worst! Moldy Sandwich! Filthy Cafe!

Review by simplesid on 2009-03-24
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- WORST food and coffee experience EVER! Coffee and soup were dishwater. The mushroom soup had 1 stem piece of a mushroom in murky liquid in a dirty black plastic bowl. Husband's sandwich bread was moldy. We waited 20 minutes for manager to address and either replace or refund our $12.00+ dollars -- he never appeared from the back room. The tables looked to have not been cleaned yet that day. Garbage in trash bins piled high. Where are the health inspectors for these places in Florida? Just as we left, without replacement or reimbursement, we thought perhaps it was our problem. No, not true. Another couple was also disgruntled from their disgusting order and yet a third young couple upon entering the Bear Rock Cafe in Orlando took one look at the filth and turned right around and walked back to their car, the husband saying -- Ah, let's look for a better place!

We called afterwards, we emailed the corporate headquarters, to NO AVAIL! STAY AWAY, save your money, don't risk illness from this place! WORST EVER!
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-09-23
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-24:
how can they serve moldy bread? Thats nuts
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-24:
I hope you walked out without eating the food
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-24:
After all that and you still tried to eat that krap?
I think that there is more to this story.
Who in their right mind would put up with such unsanitary conditions unless they were starving?
You could have eaten a better meal at a soup kitchen.
IMO
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-24:
This reminds me of the time my ex and I went to the "New China Cafe" where we were living in Wa...we were the only ones in the restaurant, it was eerily dark, could hardly see around us... it took forever for our food to come out, and when it did everything had this mysterious green color to it and stunk so bad..we got up and walked out, no one said a word to us, I don't even think they noticed. I wanted to sneak around back to see if there were any skunk carcasses in the dumpster...but I never did. A couple weeks later we saw a "condemned" sign on the door.
Posted by ConsumerEqualizer on 2009-03-24:
Well why didn't you go in the kitchen after the manager with the bread and soup in hand and say "here - YOU eat this, or give our money back NOW?" That's what I would have done.
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-03-24:
Not too long ago in this area a health inspector walked into a Chinese restaurant during the noon buffet. Quite a heated discussion between the owner and the health inspector overheard by all diners and presto all were instructed to vacate the restaurant immediately and the doors were locked. No charge for the meal since it wasn't prepay, but had I had been eating there I would have been somewhat concerned for the next several days.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-24:
We were eating at a Chinese restaurant many moons ago, and the whole back wall of the place was glass, looking out to a well lit beautiful garden area with a lawn, surrounded by thick woods. It was close to closing time, and this woman came out into the garden area with a huge pot full of something and slung it across the lawn. The second after she left, about a dozen cats and 1 possum came out of the woods to chow down. We got the hell out of there before the next step of this process took place.
Posted by simplesid on 2010-09-23:
THIS PLACE IS NOW CLOSED! Yes! Apparently, we were not the only ones with complaints. Check complaints and reviews at different online mapping services and the reviews were terrible. AND, we drove by on way elsewhere to see the place SHUT DOWN!
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-09-23:
Old review, yes I know, but that's interesting to hear. When I lived in Florida they opened a brand new Bear Rock cafe in my area. I went in there to try and get a job with my culinary training background and my servesafe certification. They never even considered me! I guess I know it was a good thing I didn't work there.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-09-23:
though i'm still surprised that anyone would eat there in the first place if the place was trashed upon arrival...

sounds like maybe someone at least called the BOH?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.