1
Helpful
Votes

Wachovia Complaint - Ridiculous Overdraft And Overdraft Protection Fees! Awful Bank!!

Review by mrsbickhart on 2009-03-31
JACKSONVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I only opened my account because I had just moved to Jacksonville NC and needed a account to pay for bills. I haven't used the account since January 09, when I used my card to pay for something I really don't remember what but anyway I overdrew my account by $2.16 however I had $6.00 in my savings. I was told when I signed up if I overdrew my checking, and had enough in my savings it would just be automatically transferred over. What they DIDN'T tell me is they would charge me $10 to do so. So now I have to pay them $35 freaking bucks just because I overdrew my account 2 buck.. RIDICULOUS. They could have at least let me know I overdrew my account!! Or say that there wasn't enough in my Savings to cover the overdraft protection fee.. I would have GLADLY gave them their two fricking dollars. There customer service just said oh well there is nothing I can do. I have never in my life heard of a overdraft protection FEE, usually its there so you don't have to pay unnecessary money right? and $35 for overdraft fee is RIDICULOUS. These people are so money hungry its not even funny. There workers are all brain washed.. They can call me all the time to ask about service and crap but can't let me know about my overdrawn account?? Crazy..

I am running away as fast as I can and never looking back.. ever. Worst bank I have ever dealt with, EVER. No wonder they were bought out.. NEVER USE THIS BANK YOU WILL REGRET IT!
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-03-31
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-31:
I love how a great majority of banking complaints arise when people are irresponsible with their money.

I'm sorry to say but any major bank is going to charge you upwards of $30 for overdraft. And i'm sure your banking agreements informed you of the $10 charge for overdraft protection. Whether or not you read it is your problem. I'd much rather pay $10 than $30, but since you didn't have enough in savings to make up for the charge you put on your checking, you got nailed twice.

Find yourself a credit union, but don't expect to get away scot-free with overdrafting on them either.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-03-31:
"What they DIDN'T tell me ..."

you meant to say, 'becuase i did not read the account fees'.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-31:
So let's see, you don't balance your account, you caused an overdraft and you got a fee. Oh the humanity!
Posted by spiderman2 on 2009-03-31:
I really don't understand how or why so many people do not have a clue about how a checking account works.
Posted by Principissa on 2009-03-31:
I thought all that information that you didn't know about came inside the paperwork for your accounts. My bank gave me a brochure that had all that information inside it. Makes for quite a good read.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-03-31:
If you don't keep track of your spending and READ and UNDERSTAND the terms and conditions of the account, you will be writing a complaint about the next bank you do business with as well
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-03-31:
That's the great thing about my fiancee's credit union. When she overdrafts her checking account which she does often they automatically and without charge transfer the money from her savings account to her share draft account.

With so many better options available to handle your banking needs why in the world would anybody risk doing business with one of these poorly managed with their hands in the US treasury national banks. It just doesn't make sense.

Good review!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.