AutoTrademark Complaint - Selling Lemons - Vehicle Purchased

Review by JasonB on 2009-04-03
The engine went out after 26 days and 1500 miles on a vehicle I purchased from AutoTrademark. The vehicle only had 60,000 miles. AutoTrademark took no responsibility and would not provide me any assistance with correcting the problem. I paid $8,000 cash for the vehicle.

Be aware that once they receive your money you are on your own!!!
Company Response on 05/08/2009:
Lemon laws only apply to New cars and used cars which are still under factory warranty, if you purchase a used vehicle which is not covered under factory warranty it is your responsiblity to purchase a extended warranty.
Comments:3 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-04-03
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-04-03:
What year vehicle was it?
Most states consider it an "as is" sale if the vehicle is a certain age unless the dealer gave you an explicit guarantee.
You should have taken it to mechanic to inspect it at before paying that kind of money.
Posted by saj80 on 2009-04-03:
When a dealer takes a used car in as trade, or purchases one from an auction, they usually don't know a lot about the condition of the vehicle outside of what is visible. As Robf stated, you had a right to have this vehicle inspected by a mechanic of your choice prior to purchase, and I would be very surprised if it wasn't purchased "as is".
Posted by JasonB on 2009-04-03:
The vehicle was a 2003 Land Rover with 60,000miles and the timing belt went out. There was a 30 day, 1000mile warrenty on it. Which was exceeded only by 500 miles. The issue is not the contract it is their response. Not even a landrover mechanic could have anticipated the timing belt going out on a vehicle with only 60,000 miles. The disastisfaction is the way AutoTrademark has handled this clearly unfortunate situation. We were told they 'would take care of us' and instead they tried to blame the mechanic, landrover, have made no offers to assist on a new vehicle or a new engine, the owner won't call me, and they won't put their position in writing. When you buy a vehicle from a dealer, even if it is AS-IS you should be able to expect a little more customer service especially for such an unfortunate situation. Bottom line we got promised a lot up front, they bragged about their inspection standard and customer service, but when it came time for help they were no where to be found!!!!!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.