Mercantila.com Complaint - Fraudulent Company Strikes Again
I purchased a Lea Bunk bed from Mercantila one month and about five days ago and paid over $1200 for this bed, listed as Lea Industries Deer Run Bunk Bed my order number. The company advertised that the bed included free shipping, inside delivery, set up and trash removal. I have been calling them since last week probably about ten times because the shipping co reported they did not list this order as a set up order and could only deliver to my home with no set-up.
Now I get a call today from Mercantila that there set up is only free for 30 minutes and it will take 3 to 3 1/2 hours to set up the bed. They want me to pay $20.00 every half and hour for the set up. They also reported that this advertisement for free set up had been discontinued. However, if you go the web site bunkbeds-store.com you will see that it is still being advertised the same way, which is false advertisement. I explained to the Supervisor Angela Crosier at 415-268-4700 that when you have set up included in an order you must specify that the maximum time for set up is a 1/2 hour.
I ordered a Lea Dear Run Bunk Bed Twin/full with a trundle with an additional twin bed that pulls out like a drawer. Now tell me what bunk bed like this do you know takes 1/2 hour for set up. It is clearly false advertisement and I also plan to take this to the Attorney Generals Office. I asked to cancel the order and they are now telling me that I have to wait for them to receive the bed before I can get my money. The bed is with the shipping company and I can't contact Mercantila Corporate Office because no one has the phone number.
They give you these numbers 1800-718-1710 and 1-415-268-4700 but these numbers belong to a company that handles there call center and returns. Don't even think about ordering from this company they are horrible!!!!
Company Response on 11/24/2009:
My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.
Regarding your order, I'm truly sorry that your requests for information went unanswered. Hopefully you've received your items by now, but I encourage you to reply back to firstname.lastname@example.org and provide some more details about your experience so we can figure out what went wrong with your order and prevent it from happening to other customers.
I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.
More Reviews on Mercantila.com: