2
Helpful
Votes

Ingles grocery store Complaint - To many mental handicap people working on the front end.

Review by activeb777 on 2009-05-17
SWANNANOA, NORTH CAROLINA -- I shop a lot at this store in Swannanoa NC just down the road from the corporate office which is the bad part. The problem is that for the service that you get the prices are too high. You see there baggers are also service clerks. Well most of the service clerks have mental handicaps except for a few. So if you need help finding a product good luck. I see a lot of people go through self check just so they don't have to deal with this and get the eggs crushed. For a company thats all about customer service they need to pay people better on the front end to get some better help. It gives a bad image to the company. This tall manager guy is also rude and gives the company a bad name.
Comments:19 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-05-18
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-05-17:
Very lousy choice of words. Several of the local stores hire "challenged" people. Inconvenient at times, but I admire them for doing so and giving these people a chance.
I think you are the one with the mental problems. Not Helpful at all
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-17:
Many of the mentally challenged (they are not handicapped) people I have encountered are the most helpful people I have met. There are two who work at my local grocery store and they may be a little slower at times, but they will fall over themselves to help. On the flip side, the non-challenged people routinely ignore requests for help and crush the eggs when they're bagging. Perhaps you should exercise a bit more tolerance.
Posted by spiderman2 on 2009-05-17:
You don't exactly come across as a brain surgeon either. The grammer and writing in this complaint aren't of a high caliber either.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-05-17:
activeb777, so what you are saying, you are discriminating against mentally challanged people?




sue em.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-17:
Wow. Just wow.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-05-17:
Indeed. Its hard to understand people sometimes.
Posted by sabletaz on 2009-05-17:
I feel bad for YOU.
Posted by Ben There on 2009-05-17:
So what we have learned from the two posts from North Carolina in the past day is that the stores there employ blacks selling purses at Dillards and challenged people working at Ingles.

No wonder my last flight there took so long. The plane had to go all the way back to 1958.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-17:
+1 Ben There.

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-17:
The wonders of being able to post anonymously on the web.

I cannot add anything to what the others have posted in response to this complaint. They've all said it best!
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-05-17:
Ok wow.. now as a fellow North Carolinian may I suggest something to you.... move to South Carolina you give the rest of us a bad name
Posted by Starlord on 2009-05-17:
The laundry called. Your robe and hood are ready. Also, your village called and they want their idiot back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-17:
Hmmmm, thought I was back in 1964 for a minute.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-17:
When I worked at the airline, a lot of the employees were blind and they did their job better than some of the employees who could see. I became great friends with a few of them. There's an employee at the Walgreens I go to who has a mental disability. He's a very sweet man and is still able to perform his job. Don't look down on people with disabilities. It only makes you look bad
Posted by Crown Jules on 2009-05-17:
Really? I mean...really? Wow.

Keep the reviews coming, activeb, I want a way to be able to differentiate between decent people and, well, you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-18:
There is a disabled man who works at my local Target as a cashier. He may be a tad bit slower than some others, but he is always pleasant and kind. I purposely choose his line and engage him in small talk. His appearance is a little off-putting and a lot of folks seem to avoid his line. RUDE, as far as I am concerned!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-18:
I always wonder how these tacky people that look down on others that are different from them would react if they had a child of their own that was 'mentally handicapped.'

Businesses that do what this Ingles is doing, are setting the example for others. Stop being in such a rush and learn a little tolerance. Your life isn't going to end b/c you had to wait an extra 5 minutes for an item to be found or to get help.

I'd say all those people you see going through self checkout to avoid "them," are the ones that need help.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-05-18:
This sounds like it has nothing to do with pay scale and in fact, I find their hiring policies to project a good image. If you don't have the patience to be waited on by someone less fortunate then you, then shop somewhere else and stop asking for the dismiss online of probably decent people who finally are getting a chance to be part of a helpful working force in their community. Since shallow, arrogant nor ignorant are choices, I'll simply vote this unhelpful then.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-18:
There but for the Grace of God go I.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.