United State Of Fitness Complaint - Rip Off

Review by la57 on 2009-05-18
DELRAY BEACH, FLORIDA -- I joined United State of Fitness in Delray Beach for a 3 month contract for $516.00/mo. I paid for my three months, signed a cancellation form but they charged my AMX in April for another $516.00. I have called repeatedly the owner but she always makes some excuse. I checked with the BBB after the fact and they have an "F" rating with 16 complaints, 10 of which are contract ones. They also have gyms under the same name in Boynton Beach and Greenacres.

Beware they are scammers!!
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-05-20
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-05-18:
Did you attempt to dispute the latest charge with AMEX?
Posted by la57 on 2009-05-19:
Yes, I sent all the documentation in I just haven't gotten a response yet. I just think it is very poor business tactics that the owner will not just credit me or even return phone calls and try to rectify this situation.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-05-19:
Is this a local establishment? I've never heard of them...but that's nothing new. Odd that you checked the BBB rating after the fact but didn't do so before you forked over $516 for just three months' service. Seems high to me. That's why I use the gym at our Community Center--only $12.81/mo. Of course, if you want a personal trainer that's extra which may have been incuded in your case.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
$516? Holy moly! I pay ten bucks a month at Planet Fitness.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-05-19:
I want to sign up at your place, Ken. :)
Posted by la57 on 2009-05-20:
The $516.00/mo was for the gym membership and 12 personal training which the owner also tried to say she had a problem with. I paid for 36 and only used 26!!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-05-20:
Hopefully your credit card will see the error and correct it. In the meanwhile, you might try sending the gym a certified letter to let them know you mean business.
Posted by la57 on 2009-05-20:
I could but I don't think she would care. I have filed complaints with the BBB, Attorney General and Consumer Affairs.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.