[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Almost All Companies That Now Claim A Free Trial Complaint - Beware Of Free Trial Offers

Review by goooosette on 2009-05-26
FARMINGTON, MISSOURI -- There are numerous products advertised now that claim it is a free trial, but NO it is not. You pay the shipping and they send the product and in 30 day you will be billed a large amount on your credit card. You are unaware of this because it it only stated that you will be billed for the shipping, and if you don't check your credit card statement regularly then it could really mount up quickly.

And if that were not bad enough they tack on that you have signed up for other products. This should be considered a scam and these companies should be penalized for this sort of practice.

It's just not safe to order products that are new and out on the market because of these scammers!!!!!!! JUST BE CAREFUL.
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-05-26
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-26:
Not a scam. At least 99% of them aren't. People fail to read the terms of the 'free' trial. Then agree that they have read those terms before clicking the order button. They also fail to notice that the 30 days begin on ordering, not when the product is shipped.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2009-05-26:
EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-05-26:
tn, great statement
Posted by Ponie on 2009-05-26:
I wouldn't order anything from one of these outfits on a bet. I agree with PB that the majority of them are on the up and up and it's all in there in the 'fine print'--but it's the 1% I'd be lucky(?) enough to buy from. I also won't order from the ones who tout: But order now and we'll double your order, just pay shipping and handling. The item advertised may be $9.95, but the S&H is $12.95! Guess my bottom line is, I just don't order anything advertised on TV. In time the products make their way to CVS, Rite Aid, Wallgreens, etc.
Posted by old fart on 2009-05-26:
That's the truth Ponie... chances are that in a few months most of these products will be found at your local flea market at a tenth of the price...
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-05-26:
Ponie, I don't recall ever seeing one of the TV ads you speak of actually stating what the S&H charges would be, even an estimate. Order at your own risk and suffer the consequences. I agree PB this is not a scam but if someone has to get a magnifying glass out to read the fine print from some of these outfits, that tells me they are trying to pull something over on the consumer. Thanks for the reminder OP.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2009-05-26:
As I have said before, use a refillable debit card and only put the original amount requested to process the initial order. The company can no longer hit you with additional fees unless you refill that card. Once you know that the company is reputable, tranfer it to your regular credit card. You can buy a debit card in any Walgreens or CVS store.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-05-26:
NH, I have to admit--I cheated. It was a very long time ago. I had no interest in the product advertised--think it was those things you poke into a flower pot and Eureka! no more watering, but I'm not positive. There were two per order. I asked the gal taking my supposed order what shipping charges would be. She said she didn't know. I replied I wouldn't order until I knew what it would cost. She put me on hold for quite a long time and returned with a price higher than the products. I told her in that case, I just want to order one set. She replied that they're unable to ship only one box of two items. Told her I'm disappointed and won't be ordering. :) I've noticed some products, (not the 'we'll double your order' ones) are showing S&H charges along with a mail address where I suppose you can order the stuff by mail and not have to submit a debit/credit card number. In any case, as OF stated, most of these things are available at flea markets or garage sales after a bit.
One item I've purchased which was originally advertised on TV is that 'foldable' strainer. I got it at one of the drug stores. I find it works quite well and does save the space they advertised.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-05-26:
While I can defend the small print in most cases, I DO think a lot of these companies are scam artists. They sell weight loss and skin miracle products..the elusive fountain of youth, and then stick it to the customer with "shipping and handling" or VIP programs buried in the fine print.

We haven't had many complaints here, but there are many complaints online of As Seen on TV products that have buy-one-get-one-free items, that use "just pay shipping and handling" as the hook. Then the shipping and handling turns out to be 3 times what the product was worth in the first place. Bad business.

I mentally cross any type of "just pay shipping and handling" offer off my list every time they come on tv.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-05-26:
Actually Ponie, those glass bulbs got pretty good reviews online. I always look for stuff like that at Walgreen's when I stop by...they have them there. *edited by me, I did not get my Peticure from Walgreen's, I actually ordered it online after much research. They do have a cheaper version there, though.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-05-26:
I don't have pets but have often wondered about them, Boki. Do they actually perform as stated? I have friends who have three cats and every now and then they mention the cost of grooming.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-26:
Best answer, PB. These companies skate a very fine line between being legit and a scam and we have to make sure we read, and re-read every line before agreeing. I learned my lesson the hard way, too.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-05-26:
I love my Peticure! I should do a review on it sometime.

For me, what it helps with sooo much, is my cowardice. I'm so scared I'll clip right into the meat, that I'll put clipping their toenails for ages, until they are far too long.

With Peticure, you don't have the problem. You just dremel the nail off in layers.

Especially with my Crested, who has almost all black toenails, this is really helpful. It takes them some getting used to the machine itself, and after that, its great!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-05-26:
I completely glossed over the question about cats and the Peticure. I wouldn't get within 10 feet of one of my cats with it..LOL But like I said, I'm a coward.

There are people that do use them on cat nails, it just ain't gonna be me! :D

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.