[X]
Feedburner count

3
Helpful
Votes

Transcontinental Media Complaint - Blackberry Smartphone Prize Not Delivered As Promised

Review by designercats on 2009-06-06
TORONTO, CANADA -- Hi, just want to warn everyone so this doesn't happen to you. I was told I won a Blackberry smartphone (worth $550) by Canadian Living in a contest I had entered. Of course I was excited, what a fantastic prize to win!
I had to fill out a standard winners release form and answer a skill testing question. I was then told my prize would be delivered by courier. TransContinental Media had delivered my blackberry smartphone with GPS by their own private courier company. On the first delivery attempt no one was home. The courier then phoned the marketing manager at TransContinental and she told him just leave it on the porch because the winner had signed a waiver so it's not our problem. The courier reluctantly agreed to do this because he received authorization from the marketing manager and he left it on my doorstep. Its an unbelievable scenario in this day & age that anyone would just leave something of value sitting in a box on someones doorstep. I was not even aware of the delivery until I inquired over a week later as to the status of my prize. Anyhow, I never received the prize, and the company sent me the following email in response to my many inquiries.

THE RESPONSE EMAIL
I've confirmed with the courier company - Publisher's Express - that the package was delivered to XXX address in Markham on May 11th. The package was left on the doorstep because there was no one home at the time of delivery.

It is unfortunate that you claim to have never received the package; there were other winners in this contest who all received their prizes. I have since contacted Research in Motion (RIM - the maker of the BlackBerry) to see if they can trace the device by its serial number as Rogers Wireless can only conduct a trace if the device was activated and had a phone number assigned to it.

We have been using this courier company for years, without incident, and I can assure you that the BlackBerry was delivered to the address provided on your declaration form. I'm not exactly sure what happened, but it is well within the realm of possibility that the package was stolen. If RIM is able to track down the device by the serial number, I will let you know.

In the meantime, as per the declaration form (signed by you and dated May 7, 2009) "the Contest Sponsor shall not be responsible for any injury, accident or any loss or misfortune relating to any aspect of the prize or my use of it."


Regards,
Marketing Manager,
TransContinental Media
Comments:12 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-06-13
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-06:
Makes you wonder if anyone really got any of the prizes? To bad you can't get a winners list to confirm it. It could all be the truth but it does make you wonder about the company supposedly just leaving stuff on peoples front doors.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-06:
Ask them to provide you with the ESN of the device. You can then call RIM yourself to see of that ESN is active. They most likely wont tell you under what name, but you will at least know if someone else is using the device.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-06:
Too bad you signed the disclaimer without knowing what it actually meant. This is just a process to protect them from having to replace anything. They don't care who gets its, as long as they fulfilled their part which was to send it.
Posted by designercats on 2009-06-07:
I checked with the better business bureau anf funny thing they have an F rating.
And thanks for all the great advise. I'lll followup with the company.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-06-07:
Designer, let us know if anything happens, this is an interesting review. That F from the BBB says a lot!
Posted by designercats on 2009-06-08:
I received an email from Canadian Living Magazine. In response they say they are sorry I never received my Blackberry Smartphone and are giving me a free 1 year subscription. As well they are following up with RIM to see if anyone is using the phone. At least it's something! I'm not too happy with the entire situation though: I've also requested a winners list. I would advise anyone signing such a waiver to indicate in writing that a signature is required upon delivery on the document.
Posted by designercats on 2009-06-12:
Thank you for yor advise everyone. The issue has been resolved as transcontinental has provided me with a replacement blackberry. The whereabouts of the original blackberry is still a mystery. However I am delighted with finally receiving my phone. It pays to be persistant!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-06-12:
Cool beans! A new blackberry is worth the trouble...glad it worked out for you. Please mark this review "resolved".
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-12:
Great news, designercats!
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-12:
You probably have the BlackBerry Storm. I just bought a BlackBerry Pearl last month and it iz da shiznit!
Posted by designercats on 2009-06-12:
The issue has been resolved as transcontinental has provided me with a replacement blackberry. It pays to be persistant!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-13:
WOW! Nice to see a decent resolution.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.