[X]
Feedburner count

3
Helpful
Votes

Montecito Inn Complaint - Felt Like Third World Hotel

Review by Capnphil on 2009-06-14
SANTA BARBARA, CALIFORNIA -- You must be kidding.... no A/C.... room on 3d floor remained 80+ degrees (you have a fan, I was brusquely told); also, after paying $169 for this 3d world room, I was told I could have an AC room for only 495! And, no desk. A crummy little round table, virtually no flat space anywhere to put anything. I'm 61 and this place was decorated like my grandmother's home. 11pm, still 80 degrees. The bathroom sink does not drain. I would never come back to this place. I don't get it. Some of the staff are very nice, some aren't. Reminds me of where we live, near Orlando. When you are a visitor the assumption is you are stupid. What difference does it make, another stupid one will show up tomorrow in lovely Santa Barbara.

My opinion is that the people who own this hotel are pretty insensitive and have obviously never slept in Room 300 of their own establishment. Thumbs Down!
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-09-16
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-14:
Trust me, no air conditioning does not make this a "third-world" hotel. If the hotel advertised that there would be air conditioning in your room, then there should have been air conditioning, otherwise, air conditioning is a luxury not a right.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-06-14:
sounds like you were trying to save money. i know for a fact, there are other places to stay there, and they do have air conditioning.

also, ac's can break down any time.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-06-14:
A/C a luxury in a hotel? A/C should be a given.. A customer shouldn't have to check to make sure they have it before checking into a four star hotel..that was the kind of advertising done in the 60's, "We have a/c! and magical fingers vibrating beds!".

Capn, make sure to post your review on tripadvisor.com too...people should know that a 4 star hotel that averages $254 per night doesn't come with the basic ammenities.

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-14:
Best answer Boki. A/C in a four star room is not a luxury. Even the most basic rooms I have stayed in (for a much less expensive price) have had A/C. Mad, what does an air conditioner breaking down have to do with this review? There was no A/C at all.... broken or otherwise!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-14:
I would never stay at the Montecito Inn just because they are about 50' from the 101 Freeway. It's a pretty nice place but rooms with no air and all the freeway noise would make it a no go in my book. The Montecito Inn used to cater to the rich Hollywood, Beverly Hills crowd looking to escape L.A. for a weekend. The homes in Montecito are some of the most expensive in California.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-14:
Fifty feet from the 101 freeway? That right there is a red flag! The noise would be torture for anyone who wants to sleep... especially if they have to keep the windows open to cool down the room.
Posted by lessthanzero on 2009-06-14:
Montecito get's some wonderful ocean breezes and A/C generally is not
needed. This is a very beautiful community that strives to maintain their "uniqueness". There are many "national" hotel chains all along highway 101 you could have selected, but I surmise you wanted to experience "Montecito" at it's best.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-06-14:
super, that's a very good point. In the reviews I've read for this place, people complained about the traffic noise when they opened their windows because there was no a/c.

Its a gorgeous old hotel from the pictures...sad that's it seems to be going downhill.

Some people really love the old charm, but installing a/c would allow people to choose whether to use it or to use the overhead fans, open the window and sink back into the past (traffice noises excepted).
Posted by lessthanzero on 2009-06-14:
Montecito get's some wonderful ocean breezes and A/C generally is not
needed. This is a very beautiful community that strives to maintain their "uniqueness". There are many "national" hotel chains all along highway 101 you could have selected, but I surmise you wanted to experience "Montecito" at it's best.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-14:
The owners at the Montecito Inn really stepped up to the plate during the last two fires that raged thru the area. Last year during the Montecito fire when over 200 homes burned they provided room to the displaced families. And during the recent Tea fire they again provided rooms at a very steep discount to displaced families.

Not all of the Santa Barbara area hotels/motels offered such compassion so I give them a big A+ for stepping up to the plate.

During the last fire the Tea fire 30,000+ people had to leave their homes, that's' about 1/3rd of the entire population of Santa Barbara.
Posted by Marli on 2009-09-16:
I had the pleasure of staying at the Montecito Inn. The pricing was not bad and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very homey and I love the nostalgia of this place. The cafe had excellent food. The bathroom was a little small but that is how things were built in the 1920's. I would definitely stay there again. A piece of history for sure.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.