11
Helpful
Votes

Geek Squad Rip Offs Complaint - Don't let the GEEKS near your computer

Review by Piss-d off at the Geeks on 2009-06-16
I was excited buying my first laptop. But I was in the middle of moving so I never took my laptop for an online test run.
But I found something odd, because it came installed with Vista Home 64 editon - however Vista windows switcher NEVER worked. No matter how many programs I opened, that toggle switch never worked. But the laptop was amazingly fast.
So I finally moved get settled, find a wireless company and connect to the internet.
BAM - BAM - BAM - one problem after another. Once my laptop auto registered itself it was never the same.
After having the computer for ONLY 1 MO. the HARD DRIVE CRASHES AND I HAD TO REFORMAT.
When I called Asus (my laptop) they said it's a Best Buy computer and I would be better off wiping it clean and reformatting. So I did - Lost all data I had.
Now here's the rub. Normally when you buy a computer with Windows and you start it up Windows will take you through a start up process partitioning, etc. This process was totally eliminated because on the box IN BIG FRIGGIN LETTERS!!! - THIS LAPTOP HAS BEEN CONFIGURED BY THE GEEK SQUAD.
Well, you can probably guess what happened next! I go online to the Geek Squad and tell them what happened and they say (swear on my mother's grave) it's a software problem that is not covered by warranty. I say B--l S--t! The box specifically says "configured by you! I didn't ask you to setup my computer. He said to bring it it. But I didn't, cause my next door neighbor is a computer expert and he helped solve the problem for me.
Geek Squad pre-programms certain information which has been known to damage software.
So there you have it! GEEK SQUAD SUCKS!
P.S. Once I reformatted my hard drive - Vista is up and running and is beautiful.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-07-26
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-16:
Piss-d off at the Geeks, you found out the hard way, Don't let the GEEKS near your computer. They will take a good PC and make a doorstop out of it. It's all about money with them and never making anything they work on work right again. (VH)
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-06-16:
So if Best Buy/Geek Squad takes all of their computers out of the box, messes up the Windows installations, and then reseals the box, in my opinion that doesn't make them new computers anymore. I'm glad I didn't buy my computers from them now.

Voted helpful. Geek Squad gives geeks a bad name.
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-16:
I dont think BestBuy/Geek Squad would take out a brand new PC and change things around. Ive bought a full size laptop and a netbook and theres no sign that BestBuy were changing things around.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-06-16:
Then it sounds like that the OP was sold a computer that was previously returned.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-06-16:
I don't trust geek squad either

and fyi - "So I did - Lost all data I had"

a couple of things to help you out in case that ever happens again

1) consider getting a spare HD / external drive and downloading Knoppix (it's a free download)

2) burn knoppix to a CD and keep safe (it's basically an Operating System on a CD that should be able to boot the computer)

3) Oh, you will probably have to go into BIOS to tell the computer "boot from CD" (sorry i forgot bout that part)

4) If the Computer crashes again, boot up with the Knoppix cd and transfer all the data you want to save to the external.


we use to use it at work to rescue data from computers when the OS was broken.
Posted by Gallantron on 2009-07-02:
I am A very good Computer programer and I never trust The Geek squad for this very reason.
Posted by Jaybound on 2009-07-26:
To the OP, you may want to learn a little bit more about computers before you rant on about a "negative" experience. First of all, if your hard drive crashed, re-formating is not going to solve your problem. You will actually need to replace the hard drive and re install the operating system.

Secondly, when you by a brand new computer from a manufacturer, the operating system in already installed. The setup process that you are guided through is nothing more than that, just a setup process things like naming the user account and other settings. The geek squad isn't messing with the installation of the operating system unless you are getting your computer specifically checked in for an operating system installation. So when it said on the box that the computer was configured by geek squad, that means that they did the initial manufacturer setup for you and may have possibly optimized the system or performed other services.

Thirdly, you may want to be sure to read your warranty, no warranty that I know of is going to cover operating system problems due to the fact that most damage to the operating system is user inflicted. So please learn a few things, read a few books about PCs. Also read about what your warranty covers before you buy it, don't just listen to the salesman.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-26:
Jay, you're swimming a fast current upstream. You have thousands of pissed of Geek Squid / BB complaints to follow up on. Best of luck to you!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.