[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Airline passengers Complaint - Airline passengers, or Babies?

Review by 93708 on 2009-06-19
Aren't you other airline employees tired of hearing whining and complaining passengers all day long? If I went to your job and acted the way you do at the ticket counters and the gates I'd probably be arrested. First of all, read the signs and quit expecting us to treat you like little kids. You can't find your way to the bathroom? Can't read a boarding pass? Stop acting like you're "entitled" to a certain seat on the plane. You don't own the plane, you just rent the seat for the duration of a flight; remember that!

You complained when food was served and now you complain that it is not served. Can't figure out how to go through security checkpoints? Do you want us to Mapquest it for you? You never read any signs at the airport then complain that, "nobody told me where to go." We'll tell you where to go! You come with a bad attitude when flights are on time and YOU'RE late. What did you want? Should we hold the plane for you? The most ridiculous question, "Can you call the gate and tell them we're on our way?" No! Run and good luck. You'd be the first to complain if we held the plane for someone else that was late. Also, stop taking everything you own for a weekend trip!

Yes sometimes we do have attitude. It's mainly from having to deal with some of you idiots who fly today. We are not babysitters, or psychiatrists. We didn't have an attitude when we started in this business so where do you think it came from? Use common sense and quit acting stupid. Bring your brain to the airport since you seem to bring everyting else. Our pay is downsized and so is our staff so we're not happy campers on the other side of that counter. Remember that when you ask for the 5th time in 15 minutes when you are going to board the flight. It's still at the same time they told you the first time! One more thing, contrary to what you may think, WE DO NOT CONTROL THE WEATHER!
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-07-03
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-19:
Good reminders when flying! Just be on time and everything will be alright, right KenPopcorn!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
Thanks for the post, it's nice to know that the sense that that person is an idiot, is truly mutual. The universe is in balance.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2009-06-19:
"Use common sense and quit acting stupid."

I believe, in many cases, it's not an ACT!
Posted by Principissa on 2009-06-19:
You know, I've flown twice in the past two years, I know not a lot, but I noticed that the earlier I was for my flight, the smoother it went.

The last time I flew out my flight departed at 8:40 A.M. I got to the airport at 5:00 A.M., checked in, checked my bag, and was through security within an hour.

I get angry as heck with the people who show up to the airport 30 minutes before the flight leaves and hold up the whole plane because they didn't feel like arriving the hour and a half early that the tickets specified.

I also can't stand the passengers that feel the need to sit all the way in the back of the plane only to stow their carry on luggage in the front of the cabin. I can't stand the passengers that expect the flight attendants to baby and mother them. There are other people on the plane besides you, you are not special.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
I remember when I was working at US Airways and a reservations agent transfered an irate passenger to me. There was a huge snowstorm in Denver and the entire city had shut down, including the airport. There were no flights arriving or departing on ANY airline. The passenger was so upset and blamed ME for the snowstorm. He said that I did in fact control the weather. So I asked him then if he could kindly refer to me as God. He didn't find that very funny.

I am so glad to not be working in that job anymore. Passengers seem to think they are the only ones flying and don't realize all the mandated rules and laws airlines and employees have to abide by.
Posted by memoryx57 on 2009-06-19:
A little compassion and understanding works both ways!! We've all read the horror stories on here about airlines and some are justified and some aren't..But unfortunately when you work for somebody else sometimes you just have to grin and bear it..Especially to the people that are paying your salary..

I'm sorry the agent may have just been ripped a new one by the passenger before me...I didn't do it..I"m sorry you're having a bad day...but maybe I've had a bad day too. Maybe I had a taxi driver that couldn't find his way out of a wet paper bag...maybe my kid barfed all over me just as I'm walking out the door...the point is, we don't know what the other person has had to endure..Best thing we can do, both passengers and airline employees is...just try to be nice..
It really works...I'll get off my soap box now..
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
memoryx, you nailed that one.

justthefaxx, you are indeed justapeach of an employee.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-06-19:
great review, well said and to the point, and correct!

very helpful.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
Thanks, kingJ
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
yes, well said, great review! bravo!
how not to provide good customer service to all "you idiots." yep yep, agreed. you deserve a star for this one.
Posted by bargod on 2009-06-19:
I'm sensing some sarcasm here...
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
If you look at this site as indicative of most airline complaints it would appear most complaints have little merit.
There is a disconnect with perceived service levels with legacy carriers and LCC's(low cost carriers). Few complain about LCC service levels because there is a low threshold of expectation. Conversely, people hang on to the notion of the glamor days of flying with respect to legacies.
Coach passengers often contribute little to a flights profitability vs cargo and first class.
Fedex and UPS fly old gas pig aircraft and are profitable, simple reason.... boxes don't complain.
When its cheaper to fly than drive or take Greyhound, you have to temper your expectations.



Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
VF, is that star new?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
bargod, you've got yourself a keen sense there.

anyone that flies even once in a while knows that airline employees do as little as possible and most can't even be bothered to smile.

a post like this confirms the many complaints we read on rude, non-helpful employees that simply could care less.

to refer to customers as "you idiots" sums it up well.
Posted by bargod on 2009-06-19:
I dealt with customers for many years as a bartender. You take the good with the bad. In the end even the "idiots" are the ones who pay your salary.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-19:
Ask the passengers that arrive late and want to be put on another carrier at the original carrier's expense what "non-helpful" means.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-06-19:
Good points, VH, do you feel better now?
Posted by Starlord on 2009-06-19:
King James, there is a good TV series called 'Airline,' which follows numerous contacts between Southwest Airlines empoyees and passengers who feel that they should be treated specially, and not like all the 'little people' as Leona Helmsley referred to people other than herself. prople who show up three sheets to the wind and argue tht they are no risk to other passengers or planes, guys who have luggage with cockroaches swarming out of it, people who arrive just as the plane is taxiing yo the runway, and feel it shoould turn around and come back to the gate to pick them up. Very informative series, and proves the OP right.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-06-19:
Starlord, that is a pretty good show.
Posted by barbie39 on 2009-06-22:
i agree with you; flight attendants i have heard often fly several routes in a single day; have had to take pay cuts ; and because of companies cheap policied bear the brunt of abuse ; my synpathied lie with you .
Posted by Eloise on 2009-07-03:
Wonderful Post!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.